Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Stowaway

by BuffaloPhil - Compo Entry

The Stowaway
_________________________________________________________________________

You have hatched on a starship returning to Earth. Hunt and eat the crew one by one to ensure your survival!

__________________________________________________________________________

Move with WASD

Look with Mouse

Approach and 'touch' (walk into) an astronaut to eat them. Try to stay out of eyeshot.

__________________________________________________________________________

Made with Unity. Try Firefox if Chrome is unable to load. Windows and Mac builds soon.

Be sure to visit www.dirigogames.com and check out "DEPTHS of FEAR" 1 and 2.

Have a great Ludum everyone!




Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#12Mood4.28
#21Overall4.11
#31Theme4.25
#33Graphics4.33
#43Audio3.84
#101Fun3.68
#258Innovation3.33
#702Humor2.16

Comments

haloguy397 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:46am

VERY well made! Would have been nice to have a bit of color to the graphics but overall VERY good!

Halleflux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:47am

I love this entry. I personally really like stealth games, and this one is just simple enough and polished very well.
Admittedly, I have always wanted to make a game like this, but I don't know how to do an FPS, and have had a hard time learning how. (A lot of it is the graphics.) =\

YerghaizVerot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:48am

Not too bad! Pretty unforgiving when you get seen, but a nice piece of work.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:49am

I love the atmosphere :)

Shawn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:50am

Great art!

TheRuseman says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:52am

Graphics were very nice, cool effects were used. A couple technical issues though, the mouse didnt map properly so I was forced to scroll multiple screens just to turn the direction I wanted.

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:53am

Absolutely fantastic. Fits the theme, the graphics are wonderful and the gameplay works great. My only real negative tick is that if you play it to completion the fuzz sound effect in the backdrop starts to grate. Only other thing I may want is a footstep for the humans to tell where they are around corners... Something I neglected to do as well in my stealthy entry.

Laddo D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:57am

really cool

ken says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:04am

Amazing Job! There is a lot of polish on this game. You did some nice shader work that made this game have a really unique look, The ambient music was nice, and it was really fun to play! Especially as you grew bigger.
I had to start over a couple times before I was able to beat it. The game isn't too long so it's not that bad but going through the beginning each time was a bit slow. Maybe having checkpoints could help with that? Also I encountered a bug where one of the crew members was firing through a wall (I could only see the laser shining through the wall) and I wasn't sure what was happening so I went up to the wall and I died.
Other than that it was very impressive and I really enjoyed it!

andyman404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:53am

Awesome game! I reminded me of the old Aliens Vs Predator games. I loved the black/white dot stylized graphics. Well done!

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:36am

Love it! I wanted to do something similar but I'm a hack.

yahooda says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:18am

The shaders (at least I think that was a shader effect) look really nice. This game definitely stands out in a good way.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:58am

Didn't finish it but was quite fun to play.

guoboism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:08am

Great Art. The 3D level! Personally pick!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:20am

Just a heads up, the web link is 404'd, though the embed works. And the Source link goes to a game page instead of source.

Super impressive mood, graphics (though I feel kind of like they're going to give me a seizure in fullscreen or something), music, and level design. The alien moving faster and jumping higher as the game goes works well.

I took out the last astronaut with a flying jump and it was close, on a dramatic catwalk. Unfortunately as a dumb alien, I ate all the astronauts and now no one is alive to fly the ship!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:33am

very, very cool. great style, great sound and gfx effects, and a cool and fun gameplay mechanic.

My only issue was that my cursor wasn't captured by the game window.

Mark Smith says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:34am

This game is sick! Love the style and the music really adds to the atmosphere. Well Done!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:57am

Nice entry with great visuals. Reminded of my old mac days with the black and white. Liked the take on the theme and the stealth aspect was well done. Was also a good touch to have the crew tally on bottom so you could know how you're progressing.

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Really great shader work, finally a chance to be the alien

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Best graphics I have seen so far, I really love the style. I find it maybe a bit too difficult (or maybe I'm bad at it) but it will push to play more! Well done!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:06pm

highly impressive visuals, and exceedingly polished gameplay.
It was a little difficult to actually *find* crew members, bordering on frustrating. It would be helpful to have some kind of audio/visual cue to help you know if you're getting closer to the crew.
It might also be interesting if, as the game progresses, the crew grows more aggressive and tries to hunt you down, helping to reduce some of the dead time spent wandering aimlessly.

SojaBird says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Wow this is super cool!
I like the style with the gray and red.

Very nicely done

Polyganz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Great job!

Meursault says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Fantastic art style. But i had some problems with the slow turning. That does not feel too good. But these visuals and the sound. Perfect.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:44am

Cool style. Reminded me of Anti-Chamber, but with more... Nostromo. The controls were pretty smooth too. Nice work!

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:55am

I love the sounds and the graphics. The controls are neat. The alien is a bit slow when you have to walk the first corridor for the fifth time but finding the first human gave me a ahAH moment. Sometimes there was firing sound and I couldn't see any rocket so it was a bit confusing. I also would have loved some way to tell you where is the closer target, a map, thermal vision, anything, because the ship is kinda big and it's not always easy to see white people on white walls.

K.Chplr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:12am

Good game ! The controls felt a bit unresponsive, BUT that's maybe because I had to test it with a trackpad instead of a mouse... I like the 3D-but-retro graphic style.

fullmontis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:29pm

This is amazing, seriously. I like the atmosphere and the graphics, and the gameplay is intuitive but fun. Thick atmosphere. It feels very polished overall. Only thing that may be fixed though is the difficulty, the game is quite unforgiving in the current state.

ratking says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Great atmosphere! I recommend fixing the mouse cursor to the camera, though.

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Feels quite polished for a 48h game, great job :)

jrhee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Amazing

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Awesome work with a cool concept, a great unique artstyle and a lot of atmosphere.

I can't seem to complete the game though. Every time, I kill a few crew members, and then I can't find anyone else except in the two big rooms with large circular columns in which there seem to be characters clipping through the walls nears the columns. I can't find a way to reach them, but they can see me and shoot me through the walls. :\

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:51am

I like the rendering effect. The mood reminded me of a mix between 2001: A Space Odyssey and Alien.

The only problem I had is that the mouse wasn't staying focused in the screen for me.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:37am

The world is mine! Nicely done, like obra dinn meets alien!

FistBumpGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:42am

Very nice game! Really liked the art and feel. One thing though - a few humans were stuck in the walls.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:03am

One of the best games of LD. Great mood and everything. Any chance you can post the full source? I feel like porting it to VR :P

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Excellent game, I can't believe you did it all by yourself!

LazyPenguin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:47pm

I really like the graphics and the use of color.

HThomson says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:51pm

This is really impressive for 48 hours, especially as it's in 3D, I find whenever I do anything in 3D it takes 3 times as long as it otherwise would.

Anyway, I liked the art style and ambient music, created a very unique mood, good job :)

AgentParsec says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:38pm

As others have mentioned, you need to make sure that the cursor lockmode is set to lock the pointer in the center of the screen, so that it prevents the mouse from reaching the edge of the screen and no longer scrolling. Otherwise, fantastic game. I might examine the source since I'd like to know how you did the lighting in it.

AgentParsec says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Er, the source isn't working? It's a tiny file, and keeps trying to save as 1.htm instead of 1.unity as the path indicates. Maybe zip up the source instead?

Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Psssst! You are in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BOdeYnQVeU0

LukeZaz says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Great game - just wish there was more to it!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Oh man the graphics are amazing and the music is fantastic! What a great and strange mood it creates!

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Very nice in the mood and dynamics sections. It has gotten my emotions which is cool. Also - very good AI and overall very well done, especially as for the 48h timeframe. Cheers!

rnlf says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:51am

Awesome visual style and gameplay. Just the mouse sensitivity is way too low and not changable :-(

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:28am

Nice visual!

arzi says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Very nice. The art style was well chosen and fit the atmosphere perfectly. It's a good stealth game although I got stuck in the ventilation shaft :(

RoundFork says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Awesome! We actually have extremely similar entries! I loved yours, please let me know what you think of mine :)

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Wow, amazing what you were able to accomplish within 48 hours! I really loved the graphics, which really helps it stand out from other games out there. Overall, very cool game.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Got shot through a wall :(
Can't hear the humans which is too bad.

Nice graphical style. Could've used some more touches of color, but just as detail like the blood, would be nice.

The player doesn't capture the mouse cursor which is kind of annoying, although the fact that you don't need to click anyway makes it a bit better.

Pretty tense game.

mahalis says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:04am

Cool! Impressive modeling and level design given the time constraint, and the main sneak-around-and-claw-people mechanic was a lot of fun. The post-processing effect was kind of odd, but it worked with the visual style. Nice job!

pi_pi3 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:02pm

I couldn't move. Is that normal? I'll only rate the graphics because of that.

pi_pi3 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:02pm

I couldn't move. Is that normal? I'll only rate the graphics because of that. Love the shader

dukope says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:18am

Very cool.

Techblogogy says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Great game, the idea is solid and execution was great. But, my mouse cursor didn't lock in the browser which made it a bit difficult to play

collaboration says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Dude, this is SUPER AWESOME! Just love it! Really amazing entry! 5/5

Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Really awesome entry! I included it in part 21 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/sSjPmVXpfX4

handkor says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 12:32am

Very well done game. I loved the graphic filter you used.
The ship is large and varied, good job modelling all that interior.

Ludipe says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Extremelly well made. Gameplay needs some tweaking (felt a bit too slow) but the art style is super awesome.

XufyCZ says ...
Oct 8, 2015 @ 5:36pm

The source link is broken... Can you repair it please...?
I would like to look through the code and the grahics stuff... Thanks

XufyCZ says ...
Oct 8, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Ok... sorry... the link is not broken, but you uploaded only the scene... Can you upload the whole project please...?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]