Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Conscience of a Crythrope

by pighead10 - Compo Entry

IMPORTANT:
Navigate menu screen using W, S or up and down arrow keys and 'enter'. Controls are listed under "Instructions"!

If you walk into a wall while attacking, you might clip through it. This is a known bug - if it happens, just restart with 'r'(no cheating).

================

Stealth based top down puzzle/action game.

You were accidentally infected and now turn into a monstrous CRYTHROPE every few steps! Try and obtain serum to temporarily cure yourself. 10 levels. Some might be difficult, so you can skip them by pressing '/' (forward slash). There may be multiple ways of completing a level.

===============

HINTS:
-Stop and think. The words "stealth" and "puzzle" are in the description! If you get stuck, stop and plan ahead!
-Timing is everything!
-Click the "gameplay" link for footage of how to complete every level if you lose all hope.

==============

It's written in SFML, but I won't have time to install a VM with linux on and port it to linux for at least a week. If anybody wants to do that using the source code, please feel free!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#118Innovation3.63
#164Overall3.60
#188Theme3.83
#210Fun3.41
#229Audio3.21
#439Graphics3.14
#456Humor2.72

Comments

amras0000 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:11am

I didn't feel compelled to go more than a few stages in. Idea is solid but I don't know that the level design complimented it.
Also might be helpful if the controls were displayed in the tutorial levels instead of only in the instructions screen.

Artylo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:57pm

This feels more of a puzzle game than anything else and that's not necessarily a bad thing.
The thing is in my opinion is that your gameplay was mostly collision based, with no actual thought needed.

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:58pm

I loved this game and probably wouldn't finish it if I didn't want to rate other ones, the gameplay was really nice and I loved all the concepts (not killing too many security guards etc), I found it really fun and the gameplay really compelling (combining the stealth, puzzles and combat all into one really made it a nice complete package), I think it was a really good take on the theme as some features of the game require you to value life, I did however thought that the simplistic art style (which can be really nice) could have been a little more polished, the audio was quite nice. Overall I loved this game but it could do with some polish in the areas I mentioned, well done.

razavidn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Best I've played so far, strong puzzle mechanics and innovated twist on a common puzzle theme.

Conk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:03pm

I was toying with a similar idea but went for something different in the end, it works really well. A few levels were a little tedious but a part from that, overall really nice!

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Nice puzzles :)

Indyo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Nice game! I like the idea and the level design. Some of them took me a few tries but it is doable.

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Good entry, but quite difficult :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:43pm

I like the level design, the gameplay is also well made.

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:51pm

nice

Korso says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:14pm

The concept is really great. A bit buggy in collision detection for me, but great game overall!

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:01pm

The Hulk puzzle game I never knew I wanted. Great mechanic, fun gameplay.

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Puzzle game that rock. Nice gameplay. has a great a twist. Congratulations

Rongefilet says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Very cool puzzle mechanics, lots of content too, excellent job here ! ^^

@SamPotasz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Neat idea. I'm interested to see how it feels if the transformations were all time based instead of movement-based.

Jezz0r says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Nice graphics and feel. I could tunnel through walls as I changed. I like that the levels made me think.

kaitokidi says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Nice, Hard game, but fun and nicely implemented, maybe the sprites could be more complex but the effects and everything looks pretty nice, and the feeling of the game in general is been nice, and it's been interesting and challenging to play.
In addition, great job with SFML, i made my game with sfml and c++ too.

Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:21am

Wow! what an interest mechanic! Great level design too! kep work on it, it's a incredible project!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]