Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Cool Alien Dudes

by Daisuke909 - Compo Entry

Cool Alien Dudes is a defender-style game where you play as a couple of radical aliens going around causing trouble on Earth.

While I don't think it's worthy of content rating, it does contain some risqué humor, so there's your warning.

Arrow keys to move
Z to abduct
X to cloak and avoid detection
Spacebar to launch your special move

The goal is to abduct people to cause mayhem, and cause enough mayhem to meet the quota and go on to the next level.

The guys in yellow shirts will attempt to photograph you and raise suspicion. Reach 100% suspicion and it's game over.

There are 3 UFOs to choose from. Try them all!

Aliens count as monsters, right?

**NOTE**

Since it's an exe and not very frequently downloaded, chrome and windows will try very hard to keep you from downloading it. In Chrome, you'll have to tell it to keep the file by clicking on the little arrow next to the download and clicking keep. After that Windows 10 will insist that it's protecting you by not letting it run. Just hit more info and tell it to run anyway. I promise it's not a virus.

Thanks for putting up with all that and playing anyway!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#146Humor3.47
#245Fun3.36
#336Overall3.27
#419Mood3.06
#448Innovation3.03
#453Graphics3.12
#560Audio2.48
#650Theme3.09

Comments

Kahztein says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:06am

A funny little game, good job with it too!

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:37pm

hilarious entry

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:44pm

This is basically the same as my game, but you added more gameplay/mechanics (like cloaking), very similar to mine so I do like it :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Good game !

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Alien sound effects are cool, the dialogue is cool, the variation in ships is cool, all around pretty cool, dude.

architect404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:52pm

amusing game, think I enjoyed the story and art more than the gameplay. good effort!

DifferentName says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:52pm

I don't understand what the special does.

Deadpan-Gamez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:19pm

really cool game, they art and sound were awesome!

kidando says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Epic game over screen! hahahaha. Like this entry. Would have been great with some music. Congrats on submitting your game

Eingya says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:50am

The game succeeds in giving a sense of "power" (tiny enemies is one of the best and most under-utilized things in games). I would maybe suggest to start the game with a slower pace, as it is at first a bit confusing.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:53am

nice humorus game!!
worth a thy!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Aliens games yesss! I enjoyed this. Also did one :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Very fun game! I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/UXRiA5Goh28 ![LD Jam 33](http://www.jupiterhadley.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/ludum_dare_33-e1440504806540.jpg)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:05pm

I totally added a bunch of gook to the end of that msgs because I am used to posting on GameJolt using Markup. Sorry!

reiknight says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:59am

Epic entry

rudra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Hilarious game, nicely done. Good job:)

ZYXer says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:46am

Haha really funny game. Great game idea, cool story (obviously) and good sounds.

I love that you can choose different UFOs and upgrade your UFO.

Two things:
- I never used cloaking. I made it through the game without problems without it.
- People with non-QWERTY keyboards don't have the Z and X next to each other, so it's hard to switch between both actions (that might be the reason I never used cloaking)

boardtobits says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:02am

Cool idea. I liked that you were avoiding detection vs. fighting like usual games. I did find that a lot of levels I started with a yellow guy right under me, which was a bit frazzling, but overall a good game!

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:12am

Very funny! Great art and sfx! Some music would've been nice xp.
Mechanics were cool but didn't use altitude and cloak very much... Upgrades were cool too!
Anyway great game!

PS: Eggshaped UFO was the best!

Antokolos says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Funny game, thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]