Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

How cookies ruined my life.

by Suese - Compo Entry

How cookies ruined my life.

Please use headphones.
Note: I fixed a few show-stopping bugs post-compo as is allowed.

Arrow keys - Move
Space - Attack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#17Humor4.22
#33Theme4.24
#40Graphics4.22
#52Audio3.79
#64Mood3.82
#69Overall3.83
#73Fun3.78
#457Innovation3.00

Comments

Mattress says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:25am

The humor is real! 10/10 - IGN!

Korso says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:26am

Love the graphics -and the music- -and the presentation-. I miss a tutorial or a controls screen. I don't know if I have completed it, but the I kill some guys, They don't come anymore.

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:27am

This blew me away. The polish is incredible for a compo entry, and the concept is really funny. I was actually laughing out loud at this.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:34am

Wow this game is fantastic. Very smooth gameplay. Its very impressive that it was made in 48 hours!

Modoc73 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:36am

Awesome graphics! Simple game play. A little buggy but not too bad. Well Done!

keyle says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:36am

Me no Monster!

steve says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:38am

Loved it, it froze a couple of times when I was trying to play it though, but restarting eventually solved it

FerraWare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:51am

Excellent game! Can't believe this was done by one person

Pros:
-Excellent graphics, music and gameplay
-Really polished
-Cookie Monster :P

Cons:
-Music gets repetitive

sydan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:51am

This made me laugh out loud :)

guoboism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:05am

Nice game, in such short time!

Kaltic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:29am

The input stopped working after the second person and I just started sliding around forever. Other than that this game was absolutely amazing!

JoeProgram says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:43am

Gotta love a game where the combo goes from a dagger stab to a roundhouse kick! I got to the point where four guys came in when my character froze. Up till then, combat felt really good, and premise is nicely dark and hilarious.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:43am

Cookie Monster fight club.. laughed hard when he round housed

dosmaen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:44am

I had fun shooting barf everywhere and knocking down the TV.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:44am

I like the part where he ate the cookies and turned into a monster :P

EwChap says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:44am

Wow, just wow. I always knew there was something off about that guy, but knifing kids in the bathroom, yeesh. Love it.

dosmaen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:49am

ME NO MONSTER!!! *stabs* great job with the lighting and animation. also was hilarious.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:49am

This use of the them was fantastic haha. Really funny. Played well too.

Blackymagick says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:52am

I love this

saucygames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:52am

10/10 would eat cookie again

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:11am

Funny as hell.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:23am

This is great, especially the animation. Three complaints, though:

1. It's hard to tell if there's going to be an ending if I survive long enough or not. A word about that in the description or an in-game "I don't think this is ever going to end!" would be helpful.

2. I killed the last person in a group the same time they killed me, and the game didn't know quite what to do.

3. When the person comes in after the first murder, they knock first. Who knocks on the door of a public bathroom!? (I'm being nit-picky, but it took me out of the moment.)

nicotuason says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:26am

I'm from the STREETS yo! Haha great intro and awesome music. Plays great, perfect short game!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:14am

Cool concept and is funny but in the end the screen just when black then I continued to hear sounds but couldn't see anything

pavel_insight says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:01pm

:))

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:21pm

10/10 Cookies! <3

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Really cool graphics and music! The story was funny and the fights had a good feeling!

Insality says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:28pm

wow, amazing entry!
Great job and brilliant graphics/audio. A great polish game
Humor+ ;)
good job!

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:30pm

A bit laggy at times but mostly stable. The premise and graphics are amazing. For 48 hours its really good.

cudabear says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:43pm

This reminds me of the Family Guy bit where the Cookie Monster is doing cookies in the bathroom, haha. Excellent graphics, audio, and very polished. Mechanically, something is to be desired here, I feel like I could just keep spamming and never die. I also got my collision stuck somehow so all I had to do was run into people. Regardless, an awesome, funny game. Well done.

ajopart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Great one !!

PEBKAC says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Very nicely done in the time given.

Nate says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:57pm

The art is superb!

snooze82 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:50pm

STAP! ME NO MONSTER :) nice one!

TurtleP says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:18am

Great humor, graphics, and music! Reminds me of old beat 'em ups.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:36am

Great game :D I loved the graphics and art style as well. Incredibly polished, and hard to believe it was made in 2 days.

zatyka says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:51am

Funny, pretty, simple, and entertaining. It really came together nicely.

I'm assuming it's endless. I played it a few times, but always lost in round 5 or 6.

shimage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:42am

Awesome! It's comical and so cute. I like attacking feeling.

fullmontis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:44am

Nice! Funny and fun to play. Only thing I wish was if there were more than one attack, but for 48 hours this game feels very polished. Good job!

S0lll0s says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:34pm

5/5, this is perfect.

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:43pm

The polish is real on this one, nice job.

FrozenCow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Haha, I loved how you could recognize Cookie Monster by the way the sentences were build. Nicely polished too, gave me a good laugh.

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Fun game! haha

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Ha) Very funny game))
Hm.. May be bug - after ending I have got black screen and text cloud.

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Ahah this is hilarious!

GagaPete says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:51pm

I love it but the controls feel a bit wonky. After kicking the controls feel strange.

jsmars says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Nicely done!

HappyHour says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:55am

Roundhouse-kicking virtual children as cookie monster made my evening.

P.T.A says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:56am

good work!, simple and fun beat n' up with the cookie monster! nice soundtrack too!

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:03am

I knew someone would make this game, I had no idea it would be so epic. Nice work, and loved the jam!

nka says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:15am

He knows some kung fu lol. Awesome game.

xvw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:27am

Hilarious game ! Fun gfx, audio ! Very nice game, thanks a lot for that !

Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:55am

Me love game!

martymon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:13am

I would so do that too if kids interrupted me eating cookies in the toilet! Well done!

justinooncx says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:15am

Haha, Family Guy reference! Nice game overall!

spotco says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:39am

kek

ManuelGF says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:59am

Amazing. It made me laugh a lot. A second part, I beg you.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:51am

The fighting was more enjoyable than I expected it to be, although there could've been a bit more variety with the enemies. The fighting with the music and graphics gave it a sort of double dragon vibe.

randomhuman says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Rockin' soundtrack, great fun :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:16pm

So, Cookie killed kids and somehow still got hangs around with kids on Sesame Street? Gangsta!

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Hilarious, great use of the theme!

tMalicet says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:45pm

It's really straight forward! I love it!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:33pm

That's quite a good thing you've got there. Really enjoyed it.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:34am

Great art and mood. ME NO MONSTER

Sanju says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:59pm

C is for cookieeeees!!!!

redzero says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Awesome game!

Saf says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:34pm

The game became dark after a while.. I really felt sorry for the Monster :)
Great and polished game.. Solid Jam entry!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Funny and good gameplay too!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:09am

Good!

magenta says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Hilarious! Good graphics and atmosphere. Control feels a little on the clunky side, there's a teensy slight lag between key press and attack. On one occasion, the Cookie Monster sprite didn't render but I could still attack. Played on Chrome (Linux).

Suese says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:27am

That's what you get for using Linux I guess :p. Maybe try playing it on a fresh reboot. Definitely not an issue with the game.

Zeriver says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Hahaha, you nailed the theme!
I like graphics and humor, but gameplay might be a bit repetitive after a while.

derr says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Hahahaha! This reminds me of hours and hours playing Double Dragon with my friend when we were kids. Very funny game and well executed!

Larzan says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Hehe, coookieeeeees.
Great gfx, love it. The controls and hit boxes are a bit off sometimes, but good job, love the humor!

Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:18am

Really well done, short and extremely fun. I love the humor also, exactly my cup of tea.

Oh did I say, the graphics are amazing!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:05am

Great game!

careless says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Streets of Rage style cookie monster! What more could someone want in a game. Awesome :D

mar3k says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:58am

Cool game, fun as well only thing I didn't really like was that you have to be in precise Y position to hit someone and that I wasn't able to see my HP, but otherwise really nice looking and fun/funny game!

wademcgillis says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:41pm

YES. COOKIE.

I had a little bit of a problem with the controls but this was great.

Oct 18, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Funny, well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/VOSoNttI06o

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]