Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Tube of Terror

by BortStudios - Compo Entry

Midnight has fallen on Manhattan. Your monster children are hungry. Will you be able to feed them? Destroy the subway before daybreak to do it!

Controls:
Tap A and D to run
Press W to attack
Left and right arrows switch lanes

There are three end game screens. Try to find them all!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#80Theme4.05
#136Audio3.48
#208Mood3.39
#230Humor3.26
#244Innovation3.36
#375Overall3.23
#381Fun3.14
#504Graphics3.00
#1578Coolness41%

Comments

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:03am

Really neat game! I like the graphics style haha

9.ar7k says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:25am

kinda hard to tell what you are doing. still really polished for a jam game ^^

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:34am

was really fun

kewleus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:35am

I like the art for the style of game this is, but I'm not a fan of constant button mashing to move.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:37am

Really nice in most places :) the end was very simple but funny :) over all I really liked it.

Vantaug says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:41am

Really cool game, liked the intro. Had some problems with the sizing of the game screen where I could only see the train, but when I refreshed the page it was fine.
But seriously, I really like the atmosphere. Great use of audio and graphics!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:12am

I only played once, not sure what I was controlling, but amazing build up and graphics. Funny ending with the close-up and the tear

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:34am

1st of all, awesome intro! Also, incredible satisfaction when destroying parts of the subway after spaming A and D. I love the theme, and the ludum dare-ish graphics too! I can only see a minor problem with the difficulty: it's frustrating to get crushed by a subway which you can't see coming, but it's nothing that can't be solved with a warning pop up or something similar.
Great game anyway, I'd like to see it grow!

danialias says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:11am

Intro, mood, theme and humor, top class! Probably with a bit different control system it would be even funnier. Still, a refreshing one. Good job!

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:16am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

refreshgames says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Very cool game, all the elements are there and the graphics are rather interestingly styled, nice!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:48pm

I liked the graphic style, paper art style always nailed it to me :)

a bit uncomprhensive but i gave it a try.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]