Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Knights And Knights

by nicso - Compo Entry

Control the monsters of the level to kill this completely unknown knight, which name isn't at all Arthur.

arrows to move, space to spawn a monster and for abilities.

Each monster has its own speciality activated with space.
The wolf can jump
The zombie can throw up
The boss can ... be a big awsome flying ghosty death knight with a mask.
(actually the boss can attack)


Don't let this little knight pass the gate.


I used construct, photoshop, pyxel edit, Bfxr, fl studio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#23Theme4.28
#40Graphics4.22
#57Audio3.74
#107Mood3.63
#112Innovation3.66
#142Overall3.65
#266Humor3.19
#348Fun3.19

Comments

Sam Twidale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:22am

Love the oversize grim reaper/death knight boss, and the knight in his pants was hilarious.

Logan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:57am

Man, who knew these monsters would have such a tough time fending off someone so killable as not-Arthur?
This is a really fun idea, and you pulled it off well.

It's just... really difficult to kill off so many not-Arthurs.

mortus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Great! I was thinking of something similar but in the end decided it won't be much fun. Well, I was wrong! Much more fun than my game in the end. :D

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:43pm

an interesting flip of an old classic. I felt that the game was either too hard or not explained very well. I couldn't figure out how to do any damage as the werewolf, and successfully landing an attack as a zombie felt impossible given that the knight had vastly superior range every time.

Dukio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Overall so good! It's hard, but I want more >:D

nozzergaming says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Awesome! Nice take on the theme! Also love the boss/player at the end!

Gaga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Really well done :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:07pm

The monster should spawn on screen.

Its really confusing how it is.

The use of abilities also feels a little bit off to me.

KeyboardCat says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Really nice ! Graphics remind me super ghouls n ghost.

Good work !

Kalkatos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:48am

Great use of the theme! 5 star Overall from me :)

Funny to be on the other side of things.

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:36am

Graphics, audio and atmosphere are fantastic!

Arche-san says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:34am

Interesting idea,
I love the ghouls'n ghost reference.
The hero is a little bit hard to reach and sometimes when the hero dies, i lost my monster because the camera moves to the previous hero's checkpoint and it's too far for my spawned monster.

Great job! :D

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:37am

Looks great, plays great, neat concept. Only complaint is that it is *really* hard. Great job!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Neat idea! I loved the original game when I was a child. Now it seems very difficult to beat the knight haha :D

NuSan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:42am

Very good idea, well made and prety arts ! The reference to Ghouls&Ghost is a bit too visible, but I love it anyway. Gameplay with the boss is too difficult, but he is badass! Keep up the good work!

psychonull says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:45pm

I loved the graphics, the sounds, the game overall. Great job!!

ehtd says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:11am

hard to control, but original idea

Mase says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:03am

As others have noted, the monster spawning is a bit confusing and can feel unresponsive. And, maybe the boss should be faster or have more HP.
Nice work though.

Special technique: Fly above Arthur's attack range, hit him when he jumps.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Great use of theme! Control and spawn point were slightly off but fun. Good job on the pixel art as well.

Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Nice arts and music. I really enjoy it.

Pusty says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:00pm

This game looks amazing! It also sounds amazing but in my opinion there a flows within the gameplay (or maybe I'm not getting it o.O)
- Why is the knight able to shoot through walls?
- Why are my monster are able to spawn in the water?
- Why can't the wolf jump over the stones?
- Why are my zombies dying when they throw up?
- Why is he able to shoot swords?

Really good entry anyways! :D

bombjack says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:55am

I really liked this entry. I'm always fan of inverting the classic gameplay. And this one is really done well.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]