Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Yeti Destruction - Ski Resort

by snade - Compo Entry

-- Description
You're playing a very scary *cough* yeti. and you're out to destroy the ski resort. Hit as many trees and ski over as many people as you can.

Don't forget to make some sick jumps and go through gates

And dodge snowballs!

-- Controls
You can control the yeti with A/D or Arrow keys Left/Right



-- Other
There is also a post-ludumdare version available. This one contains music thats not made by myself, and therefore it didn't qualify the compo rules. Please don't use this version when rating. But its highly recommended to play this version as well!



Downloads and Links


Ratings

#205Humor3.30
#234Graphics3.55
#259Fun3.33
#262Overall3.40
#493Innovation2.95
#550Mood2.89
#553Theme3.26
#1668Coolness39%

Comments

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:31pm

To me it doesn't fully fit the theme, but I love skiing and it was awesome to have a ski game where you can just run over everything :) neat!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:34pm

- THAT menu HAHAHAHAH
- Classiest yeti.
- I...I didn't really got the hang of the mechanics.
- Fun :)

gene-z says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:48pm

a little bug, keep working

teknic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Playable without touching the controls. Best part is the random dead skiers in trees :)

Thormedor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:01pm

All in all qquite fun. Just get repetetive to fast. More variation would be nice or maybe the chance to actually be threatenend by something instead of just losing points.

SudoDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Very good, I feel i'm not a monster, I'm just speeding up the inevitable, they are skying. Death is inevitable!

mrjorts says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Nice game! The controls felt nice, but it would have been cool to have a button to speed up to help get away from snowballs. I liked that the skiers would just run into trees on their own :)

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:43pm

A cool thing! I'd like to be lower on the screen to dodge snowballs more effectively, but everything else is very cool. When jumping on the slopes I was always waiting he's gonna do some crazy flip mid-air. Liked the pine trees visuals, btw. Good job.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Really cute, fun game! I included it in part 6 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/keaznjOtLXA

rudra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Really fun game ! neatly done, good job !

Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:41am

A highly competent, if simple, game! The graphics were well done, and the score run was simple enough to be easily playable. It's very interesting that other skiers run into trees too, sometimes I felt like I was actually protecting them from themselves!

A few hints about what does and does not give you score would be nice, though. I was avoiding trees on my first one, until I accidentally knocked one down. Then I decided to try hitting a snowball, cause if trees are good... >_<

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Well, a Yeti in a suit is definitely a force to be reckoned with.

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:38am

Very simple and very funny!! The dynamics works great and it is a serious solid submission. Take some stars, bro!

tomdeal says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:20pm

cool theme. Why do I get points for running over trees? Also, these kids need a ski instructor! unless the yeti ate him, of course...

reiknight says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:14am

Funny entry

hgcummings says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Great graphics and very funny. I liked the Yeti's evil monocle. The ski resort punters were hilariously bad and often did a great job of wiping themselves out on trees, but it was very satisfying to take out a big group of them. Would be good to have some way of boosting your own speed from time to time (e.g. by a powerup, or as a result of a jump) as it felt just the tiniest bit sluggish.

Catmoo says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Haha awesome little game :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]