Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Orator

by PapyPilgrim - Jam Entry

Speak your mind. Convince people. Get Elected. Do as you please.


-------------------
IMPORTANT! READ ME!
-------------------
- This game makes you express opinions on sensible matters : patriotism, healthcare, kids education, race and religions...

------------------------
What Kind of game is it?
------------------------
A narrative game.
You are facing an audience, and need to impose your ideas. Start with a friendly chat in a bar, and end up rulling the country.

--------------
Known problems
--------------
- For some reason most of the sounds are not playing AT ALL in the release version. And those who are playing don't fade correctly and stop randomly. I will investigate that first thing in the morning, I believe it is the kind of bug i am allowed to fix after the deadline.
- Graphical glitches if you are too quick to click

-----------
Tools Used
-----------
Haxe and HaxeFlixel
Ash (Entity Component framework for haxe)
Freesounds.net - sounds (not running for the sound categorie)
Inkscape and Paint.net - graphics

-----------
Personal note
-----------
Sight... 11 compo entry in a row, and I break it with a Jam entry. Out of nowhere!
I only started to work on this game sunday, around noon, so except for the sounds (which are CC0, despite not even playing... Grrr) this is pretty much what I would have submitted in the Compo.
But still, a sad face for the broken streak => :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#417Innovation(Jam)3.14
#806Mood(Jam)2.73
#917Humor(Jam)1.89
#1000Graphics(Jam)1.95
#1012Theme(Jam)2.50
#1039Overall(Jam)2.50
#1100Fun(Jam)1.77
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

mantis says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:38am

A cool concept!

Aglavra says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Interesting concept, but the rules of combining icons are unclear. I end up with gray screen and don't know, what to do.

pixzleone says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Cool concept but i didn´t really understand what i was doing.
Other than that it seemed really cool!

TangyBananas says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 5:19pm

i didnt understand what was happening

Patacorow says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 6:24pm

I'm not sure what's going on in this game. I guess it's too smart for me!

Blobo says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 6:41pm

I have no clue what i'm doing.

ziege says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Honestly, I have absolutely no idea what was going on.

Sep 11, 2015 @ 7:08pm

- interesting concept
- i have no idea what I am doing
- i am basically clicking on icons randomly with no feedback
- can you explain better how to play?

igoramendola says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 11:02pm

I'm not sure if I'm telling exactly what they want to hear, but the concept is pretty cool :D

Beanalby says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 12:22am

I like the idea of a political manipulation game, but I can't tell what's going on at all.

eddynardo says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Hard to learn how it works but it was a clever idea.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]