Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Hell Wars XVIII: Soul Harvest

by quill18 - Compo Entry

Hell Wars XVIII: Soul Harvest
Created in 48 hours by Martin "quill18" Glaude

The End Times of the End Times are upon us. The ruler of hell has been slain, and now all the Demon Lords fight for control over the souls of the fallen.

As one of these great and terrible Demon Lords, you must collect as many souls as possible and use the power they contain to build defenses for your realm, for soon your rivals will come calling...

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

INSTRUCTIONS

Build chambers that match the colours of the lost souls!

The souls of the fallen will regularly appear from a portal -- build the correct soul chambers to contain them and draw power from them.

Every 30 seconds a Demon Lord will appear and try to steal your souls to damage your portal. Defend your soul chambers with turrets and improve them with boosters and upgrades.

You lose if your portal is brought to zero health.

You win if...well, why don't you try to unlock all of the upgrades?

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

CONTROLS
Move Camera: Click and Drag with Mouse, or use arrow keys.
Use toolbars or 1-9 and QWERTY to build Soul Chambers, Turrets, and Boosters.


NOTE: Unity 5.1 has a bug where if you run full screen in a non-native aspect ratio, the mouse will be "offset" some distance. Either make sure you have the correct aspect ratio or run the game in a window.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

CHEAT COMMANDS
CTRL-SHIFT-Z: Gain one million bucks!
SHIFT-D: Instantly spawn a Demon Lord. (This is the opposite of a cheat, I guess.)

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Created in 48 hours by Martin "quill18" Glaude
quill18@quill18.com
http://youtube.com/quill18 -- Gaming Previews, Reviews, and Let's Play
http://youtube.com/quill18creates -- Unity 3d Programming Tutorials
http://twitch.tv/quill18

A huge thanks to everyone who watched me livestream the entire creation of Hell Wars XVIII and a double extra special thank you to the subscribers and donators who continue to support the channel. I'll see you in hell!

P.S. Also super lotsa love to all my awesome and amazing moderators who kept the chat (mostly) sane during this weekend.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Names of Demon Lords and Lost Souls are from Twitch subscribers and supporters. As far as I know, they are mostly non-offensive, but be warned that something may have snuck through.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

UPDATES:
[2015-08-24]
- Removed .git repo from the source submission, shrinking the download size by 80%.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Fun4.15
#33Overall3.98
#43Humor3.93
#111Audio3.54
#203Mood3.40
#213Innovation3.42
#337Theme3.59
#582Graphics2.87
#1668Coolness39%

Comments

firetitan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:44am

"Hell Wars 18: Soul Harvest", a Ludum Dare Submission. This game was created by quill18. All craftsmanship is of the highest quality. It is filled with demons and souls. It depicts a demon leading the souls of the damned into limbo in the late summer of 2015. It menaces with the names of Twitch Subscribers. It is studded with homemade assets made of Unity.

anoutsider says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:49am

Watched as quill created this awesome game over the past 2 days and i am just blown away by how well it turned out, fun game and awesome sound effects.

ea1001827 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:02am

This game is great! Best one yet Quill. Keep up the good work!

markoburzan27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:10am

i LOve it

Chunck26 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:12am

I love the game! I watched you build it on twich while I was working on my own. You game me tons of great ideas and tips. It's great to watch someone who knows what they are doing and enjoys interacting with the community.

Soulzbro says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:56am

Tower defense may be my least favorite genre but "Hell Wars XVIII: Soul Harvest" is better than most and that's saying a lot for a game built in just 48 hrs. The game lures you into a false sense of security and makes you think that you have the upper hand on the Demon Lords for a good stretch of the game. Do not be fooled! I had a lot of fun with this game.

markoburzan27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:02am

awesome game I watched your stream and loved it.

Twiebs says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:10am

Incredibly deep and well polished tower defense game. There are some serious game mechanics employed here that are very impressive for a game jam. The audio is absolutely amazing and the game follows the theme very well. A lot of fun to play. Very balloons tower defense like.

ferdbold says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:12am

I spent WAY too much time on this. Crazy fun! It could be a bit harder though, after 10 minutes of play my portal still hadn't lost any health, and demon lords were being burned very fast.

Still, gameplay is rock solid, so that's what counts most!

mactinite says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:01am

A nice tower defense. So many upgrades.

Cynapse says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:06am

Would get demoted to middle management again. Great work, Quill!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:12am

Watched the stream, awesome game :3

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:34am

Super fun! Amazing depth. the graphics are kinda weak but it doesnt really matter

filiph says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:20am

Wow, how did you manage to build this much content in 48 hours?

Anyways: very fun game, with a nice twist on tower defence (with the soul chambers mechanic). Lots of options.

Works on Mac, btw.

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:12am

This one's gonna be up there

Donnerbalken says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:34am

Awesome game, built in just 48 hours on Lifestream! Loved to watch you and to enjoy the game.

Nikolajboll says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:26am

quilltastisk :D very fun :D love the sounds :D

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:11am

Great game, the soul zooka doesn't fire demon lords who are stealing souls which makes the late game very difficult.

garvon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:17am

It was really fun. I lasted over 20 minutes.

Rongon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:32am

Interesting game, audio is superb. If you don't win in audio category, then don't know who will.
Very playable and a lot of content for 48h competition.
Watched the beginning of Ludum Dare at your twitch channel, keep up the great work.

Hippieshaman says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:47pm

The source provided does not have the subscriber names array populated.

Ventura says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:00pm

I watched developing it in twitch at the end, It was very exciting. I think the code looked very good organized and the game was complex to do, good done! :D

Ventura says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:03pm

I think it would be intersting to watch some LD games in your youtube channel too. :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:03pm

This is a great tower d, I'll probably be playing this a lot! Also very inspiring, I was amazed at how much you were able to accomplish in the 48 hours, it was pretty incredible watching you on the stream.

mathias234 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Great game, If you didnt tell me i would never guess that this was made in 48 hours :)

Multitudes22 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Such an amazing game. I think it's your best one yet!

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:06pm

A great game as always Quill. Linux version works fine on my machine.

jk5000 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:36pm

I knew that limbo was evil. Great game.

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Expansive map, cool idea!

WizzardMaker says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Great Game! The Soundeffects are just gorgeous. Great Humor!

RoboNebula says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Very nice, quill. Audio could've been better.

unnamed1334 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Cool game. The sound effects were defiantly the best part. The game did start to get repetitive near the end but I quickly enough that it didn't matter. The only thing that felt missing was a sell button.

liquidmedia says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:02am

Great Game. I Watched the stream of the creation, and The only Game I have downloaded the zip for.

D3giler says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:09am

Extremely Fun, well done quill18, the sound effects,especially the quirky humorous ones really made the game xD

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:48am

good game and good idea nice job man!

goost says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:49am

Finally, a Tower Defence Game which I like! But the sound effects are killing me, great!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:30am

Watched you make this off and on throughout the 48 hours. Lots of fun. I stored 782 souls and lasted 35 waves.

mzmiric5 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:31am

Classic Quill18 game, really fun, easy to get lost in. I watched Quill make it on his stream during my breaks, always a great resources. The only negative is that the sounds sometimes get annoying, so the mute button comes in handy :)

Divitos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:49am

Very fun game!

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:20am

Didn't fit the theme that well but otherwise a very solid game.

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:21am

Doesn't fit theme particularly well, but not bad gameplay and pretty decent voice effects.

DragonGino says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:10am

build your own hell and defend it.the game it self is really good balance between the amount of souls comming and powerfull demons.and sounds voiced by the man it self. what could you ask more.

Lee1121 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:57am

Great game Quill :)

Kakureta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Awesome game! It was fun and kept me playing for a while. The graphics are basic but cool and the sounds are funny!
I had a lot of fun.

General says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:32pm

I noticed your screenshot 2 days ago and made a mental notice to play your game. Glad to see a defense game! Quite unusual that I can't upgrade a single tower, as in most TD games, but this system works nicely.

Here're my video reviews: http://youtu.be/AkOdas_qL9A
Your game is at 13:22

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Very humoristic kind of game, I always enjoy playing your games. It was nice to see a 2D game for a change.

tweedle says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:50am

Wave 41! really fun play thru, nicely done! some schmancy art and this would have been 5 stars -T

fraanns says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Great game as always quill

Mythalore says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Very nice overall good audio decent art and fun gameplay, not much sense of threat though.

dusho says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:34am

watched the steam a bit, you were really trying hard to fit in subscribers into game
the background graphics doesn't fit other art, you could have hand draw something as well
still.. fun game, good work as usual

WanderTeam says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Very funny game. Its incredible that is possible male this type of game in very short time.
The theme are perfect for this ludum.

jofra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:59pm

the firing sound is the best one i have heard so far ahah awesome. Very nice game.
Gj!

Literal Games says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Nice, surprisingly well balanced, so managed to get to the "end" but not without being worried I might lose. Lots of fun!

tomdeal says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Cool game! The graphics could use a bit more work, but the gameplay is good

Anti says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:26pm

A very good game. Very fun and addicting! Did have some weird UI problems on linux with a 16:10 resolution but I think that is more of a Unity problem. All in all, a very good submission!

kidando says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 12:05pm

There's depth in this game. Not bad for a compo entry. I didn't play very much, but imagine if you had multiplayer where you could sabotage your opponents efforts (as opposed ai devil) :). Great job on submitting your entry

los.pixelados says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Awesome as always. And even more content than last time.
The sounds are so funny.
GG quill18 :)

Cheers.
Morco (Los Pixelados team)

Sparrow says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Awesome work! Had fun and played this for quite a while. Almost made it to the last upgrade.

Ibai Aizpurua says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 2:09pm

I really love the sound effects. At the beggining I didn't know what was going on... 30 minutes later... I still didn't know what was going on, but it was fun!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]