Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

You Have Been Found Guilty

by Tommyno222 - Jam Entry

Sentenced to death for deeds you haven't done, you are about to face the execution. While hanging on the gallows, going through your last moments, you will unleash a monster that was truly hidden in you. You have your last chance to escape the death.

CONTROLLS:
Use left or right arrow key to move, up key to jump and [F] key to attack
You are harder target when on higher ground (roof / tree)
Hitting your enemy from back will kill it instantly
Killing the enemies will also replenish part of your health

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#173Graphics(Jam)4.11
#177Theme(Jam)3.90
#351Mood(Jam)3.35
#451Audio(Jam)2.98
#548Overall(Jam)3.19
#748Fun(Jam)2.75
#795Humor(Jam)2.25
#950Innovation(Jam)2.35

Comments

rattower says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Nice pixel art. You can kinda cheat the game though, by just pressing right+up.

KodingNights says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Cool authentic pixel art

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Wonderful pixel art!

Datamosh says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Great intro and graphics! I would like to see more variety of enemies. :)

SvenFrankson says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Nice art, nice polish :)

dvdking says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:24pm

I find fighting mechanic kind of awkward to use. It is not convenient that you can not attack while moving.
So I also had to cheat the game by just running through levels.

architect404 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:28pm

really great art and a nice little bit of story. the gameplay isn't as strong and you can jump your way through an entire level avoiding everything, but still a very charming game. good effort!

snooze82 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Nice take on the theme - good art :)

peterthehe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Nice art. Controls could be improved but overall a stable, nicely-executed game.

superfluous says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:31pm

I love the pixel art. A little too easy to cheese your way through with up+right.

rudra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Awesome one. There are lots of things which I liked a lot here

* The story and the way to present the story
* The amount of polishness given to the game (Text fading up, etc etc)
* The smoothness in the gameplay
* The ending " I didn't want to be a Monster, until you made me one".

Well done, cheers !

Infininete says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Just ran right and kept jumping and beat the game easy. Definitely not hardest game :P I found the fighting mechanic needed some tweaking I liked it otherwise. Nice audio, graphics, fits the theme and the mood works perfectly well. Though possibly more enemy variations would've been beneficial (and of course making it so I can't just hold up and right to win!)

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:32pm

An excellent execution of the theme. Also, that's some fantastic pixel art, especially the lantern glow on the guards. It was a bit too easy to simply skip the guards to progress, but with that said, flying through the treetops was a great deal of fun.

The closing screen tied it all up nicely. Excellent work, especially for what was essentially a compo entry!

nozzergaming says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Loved the art, was a bit awkward to fight because you couldn't move when attacking, but overall loved the game.

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:42pm

I am guilty of thinking this was a great game

mortus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:45pm

A beautiful graphics, too bad it's kinda too easy. Music sounded weird sometimes too, but overall it has a nice feel.

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Beautiful ard and excelent mood! Only bad thing is length of story :) I wanted some more cool lycan action:D

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Great game and really good art

Rulrite says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Like some have already said, it is a little too easy to just jump your way through the levels. But I love the art, and the execution (ba-dum-tss) of the story.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Great visuals, but i just jumped around and reached the end of it D: fighting is kinda awkward

IMHO, it would be better if you took off the combat, made the oponents harder and turned it into a "bullet hell escape" or something like that.

Kai20 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Just press right arrow+ up arrow and you beat the Game very fast without killing anyone. nice pixelart and idea over all

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:05pm

A great take on the theme, the graphics were amazing the story was good and the audio gave a good sense of urgency.

However. The first time I played I started attacking people but after atacking about 5 people I started just running through and bet it without another death. Then the second time I killed everyone with little difficulty. I feel something as simple as say walls that you have to jump over and something that you can only go under might force you into more combat situations and create spaces where there is more difficulty in the combat.

Overall it was a solid and interesting jam game which lacked something gameplay wise. Well done on making an enjoyable experience.

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:41am

The art/animation is really nice. The floaty high-speed jumping made it way too easy to just speed through the level, though, especially since the combat is pretty tough and fairly rigid; it kind of encourages you to just run away. Maybe that's what you were going for, but if you wanted to make the combat more of a requirement I would lower the jumping speed by a fair amount, so it's just enough to get to a roof but not much more.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:40am

The art and theme is nice. but not sure if I'm not playing it right but I can never land a stealth kill( hit from behind), since the guard always turn when I get close. Also find it kinda restrictive that I can't hit and run.

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:38am

Great art style. I liked the intro scene more than the actual game. But that means you got something there to continue working

Ithildin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:28pm

The setting and intro were amazing, they set the mood perfectly, and I really liked the graphics. Gameplay, though, lacked a bit of a challenge. At some point I just decided to ignore the guys and switch between jumping and running.

LeoM says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Nice once but the armed men are not terrifying enouth. (I do not jump at all me, just walk on the ground and kill them all ! ^^ )

xvw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Nice game. Cool graphics and intro. I liked a lot the ending.
I think it would have been better if we could have attacked while running. Plus if you finish the game without killing anyone, you are considered as a monster as well :/ A different ending would have been nice :)

Well done :)

Solifuge says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Solid artwork, and I liked that the music changed subtly when engaged in combat. Also didn't manage to stealth kill; they always faced me. Also, didn't really have to fight anyone, and wasn't ever hit by just running and jumping at top speed. Slower speed or faster enemy firing would accomplish the double-goal of giving people time to enjoy the scenery, while also making a cost to not attacking or attacking enemies; it becomes more of a meaningful choice, and meaningful choices are what's at the heart of games!

silentlamb says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Lovely graphics, mood and use of theme!

I got one issue with the game thought. Descripton says that hitting enemies from the back will kill them instantly. The problem is there's no way (known to me) to go near them without them being alerted. And when they alerted it's impossible to hit them because you can hit only if you're not running.

Keep it up!

Sanju says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Nice graphics. But I think the gameplay could be improved. I would say that the jump force is too high and I think that it would be OK letting the wolf attack when moving.

Awpteamoose says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Nothing I can say that hasn't been said already, I'm hoping you'll put a post-compo version with the wrinkles ironed out.

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Everything is great although it's a bit easy.

A_K_ says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Nice game, fits the theme perfectly. To be honest, the sound starting to be really annoying after few minutes in game. But overall - well done.

Joror says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Nicely done! I was a bit of a were-flyingsquirrel, but that was ok. ;)
Instakill from behind is a nice mechanic, but overall needed a bit more tweaking in the gameplay.

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Really good looking game, although the combat was a bit lame. The attacks are very short range and are pretty much worthless, since you can easily avoid getting hurt by jumping constantly.

MiniBobbo says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:24am

Great mood graphics and sound. Gameplay was a little repetitive though.

I liked the one hit kill from the back too. It is those kind of little things that show a high level of polish.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:38am

Great pixel art and cool premise. I definitely think this could be stretch into a full game, with a bit more control and level diversity. Nice job!

rnlf says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:58pm

The pixel art is super beautiful! The music is cool!

The game itself is a bit easy (just hold right+jump) and the physics feel a bit strange. There was also no need to kill anyone, yet the outro text said I was a monster :-(

But anyway, for the art style alone you deserve a good overall score!

GarethIW says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Lovely pixel art and fitting Audio.

freaknarf says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:38am

Very nice artstyle ! I loves the pixel art and introduction. The game by itself was a bit easy with this awesome jump :)

WizzardMaker says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:21am

Nice and good looking game!

GagaPete says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:47am

A bit too easy for my taste. But lovely graphics. The intro should be part of the game, feels a bit seperated from the game.
I'd like it more combined like you have to free yourself by pressing left and right, then you become the monster and then the level immediately begins. :)

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Short and sweet, and fun :) I liked that to recharge so quickly.

Fun how when you die your antagonists are suddenly carrying lanterns.

Grhyll says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:54pm

The art is nice!
Maybe the intro is a bit long (yes, I know I could skip it, but I wanted to see it), and the gameplay isn't very deep (I killed everybody, but I think it wasn't really harder than just running to the exit as others mentionned).
Nice anyway, well polished :)

chabuduo says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:15pm

I like the story telling! and the art is cool. I would personally prefer if it was a one hit kill!nice work

allinlabs says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:49am

Great graphics, and the introduction is so well made and has everything. But the jumpings are kind of ridiculous, I finished the game without killing anyone and without losing any life... which could be a good gameplay alternative, but really isn't.

kles4enko says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:23am

Bullets collisions might be better. Why they kill me if I run on the ground?))

Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:44pm

I like the art and the cut-scenes in the beginning, although the game itself was too easy.

Dejvo says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 6:57pm

nice idea. but i completed the game in like 10 seconds by holding the right and up arrow... otherwise pretty good game

nassi says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:26am

Don't know if it was a glitch but the first level repeated for me when I killed everyone I saw. After that I played through all of the levels without killing anyone and the ending made me wonder, if this was actually the intended way of beating it? If so, good job incorporating a not-so-obvious choice into the game!

The aesthetic is nice and polished, but the gameplay a tad finicky especially if you're trying to kill the people. Cool entry, good job!

bombjack says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 6:55pm

nice art. falling down after jumping is a bot slow. the gameplay is a little repetitive. good job anyway. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]