Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Motherflipin' T-Rex!

by mantis - Compo Entry

Hello, this is my solo, compo project.

You are the T-Rex. Soon you will be killed. But before that, take as many humans down with you as possible!

Controls: Arrows for movement, Spacebar to use Roar attack.

Kill as many enemies before time runs out, but watch out for tanks!

The Post Mortem is at http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/08/25/motherflippin-t-rex-post-mortem/

---

Big props for King of the Monsters (an arcade game) and Flail Rider (game from last LD). They have hugely influenced the design of this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#30Fun4.01
#72Humor3.74
#116Theme3.96
#116Overall3.71
#204Graphics3.64
#234Audio3.20
#235Mood3.33
#594Innovation2.79

Comments

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:44am

Now I'm dizzy :-)

Ysty says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Nice. Very frantic and fun.

Ybalrid says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Graphics are pretty. The game runs well, controlls works like a charm. Stomping on houses is fun. I love the mouth sound fx ^^"

Good entry! :D

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:06pm

No warning about the cursing in the game. Game also lags in the browser somewhat.

Nizl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:07pm

139280!

Wow this is super fun to play! I like everything about it!
Graphics are good, gameplay is fun, sounds are awesome (You did it like me!) and it has some kind of replay-ability.
Very good job Sir!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Love it! Great model for a trex, nice sounds, and it was so satisfying to squish people - it honestly felt like a 3d version of my own entry :D Great work!

cicanci says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Very cool and funny game, nice job with the T-Rex!

Boehrsi says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Awesome :D

Twiebs says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:17pm

LUDICROUS!

Resonious says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Thoroughly enjoyed that.

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:34pm

looks good

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Really fun to play

someone9999 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Great fun to be the T-Rex and destroy everything!

Getting a high combo was extremely satisfying, mostly due to the narration of the current combo type (Astonishing!, Ludicrous!, etc.).

Parappa says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Very satisfying, and love the sound fx.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Very atrakcyjne dzwieki :) Nice entry

Kaltic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Very, very fun. Love seeing everything fly around when you run into it.

Do wish the Roar attack was more frequent, but that is just me wanting to destroy everything!

snade says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:27pm

This was very good!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Very neat little game. A nice take on the old Rampage style of game. The graphics and sound were adorable. Good job!

Aiursrage2k says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:33pm

BEEP

Deadpan-Gamez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Unlimited POWER!

YerghaizVerot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Wow. This game is like sex: 60 seconds of extreme pleasure, and half a city destroyed in my wake :P For real though, this is awesome! Definitely leaves me wanting more!

uvwar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:39pm

As a fellow "Destroy the City" dev I approve!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Fast, frantic, and fun. I love it!

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:59pm

I would start this 100 times just to hear the intro sounds! Amazing work! Graphics are pretty , game is fun. Is that a cat meowin in the background?
Good work

garvon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:05pm

really fun, love to beep sound

cxsquared says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Really like the countdown sound. The graphics are really good and the game is really fun and simple. It would be nice to be able to avoid taking damage a little easier or more visible but good work.

snooze82 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Nice one :)

Jod says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:46pm

That was good fun! Loved the countdown. Genius.

Aurel Bílý says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Nice! Very satisfying, though I think it's hard to dodge bullets effectively. Needs a frantic soundtrack to go along with it, maybe? :)

Jeasonfire says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:55pm

The sound effects are hilarious, the gameplay is responsive and the game is just overall really fun. I had fun! Did I mention fun?

pixzleone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Roar! :)

Chadivision says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:06pm

This was really fun. The graphics and overall mood of the game were very good. I also really liked the explosion sound.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:21pm

I like the look of the t-rex. Running about and smashing stuff is always enjoyable. Good work.

matthewd673 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Really fun and I loved the art but the sound effects were pretty annoying to be honest. Still, great game.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Intense! If you updated the music (or something) that would make it so awesome. Flashing lights too :P

Vaida says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:39pm

I lost it at the countdown; definitely one of the funniest games I've come across so far! I really like how the t-rex and the trees look, the art style is simple but it is pleasing to look at. Nice work! :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:06pm

"You are the T-Rex. Soon you will be killed." :'( ... First I got upset, then I clicked a "SMASH" button and ran around stepping on stick people.
Gave myself vertigo 10/10 would get dizzy again.
(P.S. the sounds are hilarious) :) Great job.

WizzardMaker says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Great game!

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:22pm

I AM REPTAR HEAR ME ROAR!!! GREAT GAME!!! I especially loved the animations on the T-Rex, and charging through the city was tons of fun! 10/10

StrideWide says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Love the voice acting. Would have liked some pickups in this game, to extend each turn a bit.

AlexLamarche says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Very loud, awesome and fun!!!! The audio killed my ears.

RoboNebula says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:02pm

It's fun to stomp around the village and destroy everything. The low poly simplistic art style is nice, but the houses could use some more work.

KPapaGeorge says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:12pm

The controls are very smooth.
The graphics are very impressive for a game made in 48 hours.

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Very smooth dino-action. Good job :)

martijn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:19pm

One of the best game I have played so far.

The 2d sprites don't really mesh well with the 3d world but other than that it is absolutely hilarious.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Awesome destruction! I like the "sound effects" too!

Birke says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Art and sound was good and the mechanics worked well. Controls felt a bit floaty and tank shots should have been a bit slower so you had a chance to dodge them or may have a charge time before the shot is fired so you could dodge it

guru-guru says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Fun fun fun!!! 94360 was my high score.

Arskiainen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:03pm

So feedbackky! I like the flat shading.

Joe Brock says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Really good game, man! With the frame rate was a bit better, but otherwise an awesome game!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Nice and simple graphics first of all and quite a fun idea overall. Fits the theme well too. The roar attack was quite satisfying in combination with all the blood splatter!
The T-Rex reminded me quite a bit of Rex from Toy Story, it's got great charm!

Complaints: The game moved a bit too fast I felt, it got a tiny bit dizzying. The constant sound effects got a bit grating too and might've contributed to the dizzy feeling.

On another note: The game our team made is somewhat similar, it's also about a giant monster eating people in a 3D environment. Check it out! :D

TLansdale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Game is exactly what is promised. Lots of fun, good job!

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:43pm

MAXIMUM DESTRUCTION. Nice game

Integershift says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:48pm

That was actually a lot of fun! The sound effects were amazing really enjoyable game.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:09am

That was Motherflipin' AWESOME!

fatSquirrel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:56am

There I sat in my Adult size T-Rex costume, wondering what to do with myself. Thank goodness I came across your accurate T-Rex simulator. I had a great time of roaring with my digital brother as we destroyed the puny humans.

hdong says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:29am

Fun Game!

airfrog says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:35am

This is definitely a lot of fun

CaptainKraft says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:43am

Awesome! This is what I want; just let me loose to go smash everything. ULTRA KILL!

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:55am

This is the best I have played so far, I love the sound effects and just sheer madness!

fmdud says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:56am

Awesome.

Leuthil says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:25am

Beep, beep, beep, beeeeeeep. Haha great game :) Love the visual feedback and the voice overs. Game played well and was fun!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:50am

I SMASH!

TeamOA says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:09am

I loved it! So great! The so bad it's good audio and art is wonderful, plays really well, a little hard to understand at the start but it's quick and easy. Loved this game so much! My high score was 86320!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:24am

love the beeps and the "insane" voice overs!!! good art too

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:39am

I remember seeing a GIF of this while in development. Happy how this came all together. Lots of fun.

4KbShort says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:46am

Fun and simple. Matches the theme well. Enjoyed the near-retro 3D look whether intentional or not. Extra star for the sound effects because they're too cute to be bad. Great work!

team_ftlol says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:48am

Nice work! The T-Rex looks great, and the chunky landscape works. I like the oversized splats for the pedestrians. It feels like T-Rex's controls used to be floaty, but you fixed them, which is a weird feeling.

It would help to have an indication when T-Rex takes a hit. I played a couple of times before I realized the yellow streams were coming from tanks on the ground, not something in the sky.

Elenesski says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:49am

wow, that was fun :) loved it

MapleQuest says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:50am

Short, but really satisfying. Love the countdown timer audio for some reason!

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:00am

That was a great romp. :D The animation was smooth, the sounds were fantastic, and it did what I imagine you wanted it to: made me feel like a badass T-Rex tearing shit up. :D Side note: I scored ~113k.

folex70 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:13am

very good!

Kep says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:44am

Silly, arcade-style fun. Very satisfying feel. Love the t-rex model.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:57am

We loved your game and featured it in our top 5 favorites here: http://blog.synsugarstudio.com/my-top-5-favorite-games-of-ld33-so-far/

duskpn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:20am

Great game! Simple, pretty and a lot of fun!

walaber says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:25am

fun! really nice feel to the smashing :)

mklee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:40am

Fun times stomping around. Graphics have a charming blockiness. Controls are nice and smooth, wish the roar would have regenerated a bit faster. Sounds are super harsh, wish they were more organic/natural. Still good job!

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:17am

Nice game. Quite fun to play

tanjent says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:40am

Great anger management tool :) I found out that as long as you move in the perimeter of the arena you tend to not get hit by the tank shots but as soon as I went into the centre I was ded.

Rongon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:17am

Dinosaur games are always cool to play :D
Great and fun game. You even have combos and special powers, which is great.

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:46am

Now that was a game that made me dizzy. love this!

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:38am

Very fun! I didn't know a T-rex could accelerate so quickly! Always love a good wreck everything game. :)

reckhou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:55am

Simple yet fun.

aeai says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:57am

This was really good. The t-rex controls are really solid, i like the movement animation. The sfx is amazing! Hi-score: 74745

conrad123 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:16am

Best game I've played here so far.

shelleyl says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:34am

Cool T-Rex and super satisfying destroying and crushing everything :D

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:35am

60770 on first try

Raspadsistema says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:04am

Awesome, looks pretty, immersive and fast gameplay no time wasted on BS. I only wish dyno wasn't so vurnerable and easy to kill.

TimWright says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:40am

Very nice.

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:47am

Everything about this game is literally perfect. Animations, sound effects, gameplay, controls, everything. Excellent job.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:23pm

haha ... this starting sound ... xD Amazing. Really funny game. Good job.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:37pm

HOLY SHIT!

phantommat says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Excellent work. My only regret is that I left some gaps in the carnage.

cudabear says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Haha wow, this game is amazingly fun! Perhaps I played a bit too long. It's just so fun to cause so much destruction!

ratking says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Great entry - want more levels, and more playtime :-)

Mekuri says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:36pm

A bit too fast for me, but great fun nonetheless. I don't know if I did good, but I managed a score of a bit over 65000.
I liked the homemade sounds, made sense in this kind of game.

fubenalvo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:38pm

I don't know how can I got scores, but stomping'z goood :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:52pm

wow wow wow wow wow... I am a t-rex??? WOW! INSANITY!

faemir says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:58pm

This is so much fun!

I liked the sense of humour, and the graphics and audio were pretty top-notch as well. The game was instantly understandable and enjoyable to play.

block97 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Lots of fun! The visual/sound effects and the announcer make wrecking everything a whole lot of fun! Controls well, and has a very charming, enjoyable style.

Chrisp196 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Fantastic game, really enjoyed it. Congratulations on this one.

hrd_games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:38pm

So much cathartic fun and chaos! Nice art style too

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Was fun to play and liked the look of the city and dinosaur. Audio was the weak link for me, didn't like the sound effects.

Coruja says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:44pm

very funny!

gty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Oh god I had such fun playing! Good one!

euske says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:00pm

This is what a video game is supposed to be.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Awesome game XD!

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Fantastic. What a game. My ears kind of hurt though.

theshadowteam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:06pm

a fun game! Congrats!

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Oh wow, thank you all for commenting, I really didn't expect this game to be such warmly embraced <3

Gigaraptor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Never before have I wanted the archers to stay still as much as this game. Great job.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Super fun to run around and squash people! Could do with some levels or something to have something to aim for

dregamr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:23pm

75375 points!! :P
Really fun!!
I have been waiting for the release of this game since the first gif. Good work!!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Bep Beep Beeep Beeeeep!
Very joyfull :3

Datamosh says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:47pm

This is the most destructive game I played so far in Ludum Dare 33: P

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Hilarious Name! Dino game as well makes me happy. Wanted to go for a rampage like game myself!

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:12pm

You know it's a good game when you're gleefully laughing while you're playing it. The sound effects really sold it. Well done!

freaknarf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Hahaha that was fun... I always enjoy mouth made sfx and crushing cities...

StabAlarash says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:28pm

TRextermination !!!

TagliatL says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:38pm

My best score is :100 270

Very polished in the destruction feedbacks! It's really fun and the sounds are good too :D

Really good job

allinlabs says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Dinosaur + Destruction = a combination that can't fail. This is so much fun

Btw, why are the people flying at the end? Is everyone going to heaven because everyone is dead? :D

piopio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Who did never dreamed to be a giant monster and crush houses and tanks? I did, and it is great that I can make this dream true.

I liked the graphics (good'old "vectorial graphics" as we used to call them in XX Century), the sound, the effects and everything.

A thing that I liked a lot is that I don't care if it's impossible to win it is fun.

OFF says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Hilarious and fun. It lack of 3D small humans, or maybe make the entire game in draw like style.
The only problem is that is hard to read where the attack came from, and be a little bit strategic.
But it was really fun to play...

kaype says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:09pm

On the surface, Motherflipin' T-Rex! looks like your average made-with-Unity Ludum Dare shovelware. But underneath that, is one of the biggest revolutions the medium has ever seen. Funny, smart, deep, timeless. Read on to find out why this stands as one of the finest Ludum Dare games of all time, or indeed, one of the finest video games of all time.

You play as a T-Rex, a dinosaur which is very well known. The gameplay is simple; you need to destroy as many humans as possible including their land and property. It sounds simple, but between the deep physics engine, top of the line graphics, professionally designed sound effects, the gameplay is top-notch, making the likes of Metal Gear Solid pale in comparison.

This is the best entry yet. If you won't take my word for it then let the in-game sound effects do the talking.

Thank you for this creation, mantis.

Zammalad says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Very fun to play, found myself spending too much time on this entry because it was so much fun lol.

My first thought was that the graphics weren't great but the more I played the more they kind of worked and seemed to complement the game.

Didn't come across any bugs while playing so appears to be fairly well polished.

Very good effort.

randomhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Smashy smashy! Great fun :)

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Half minute hero T-Rex! Love the high speed and spoken sound effects, esp. the countdown. Cool.

jgthespy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Haha that was fun.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Silly fun and kind of addictive! Putting the roar cooldown indicator at the top might be helpful since I didn't notice it at first. Also the spinning right now could make some people dizzy. :P

I got a high score of 133435.

echokain says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Super fun. Love the home made sound effects. GJ.

lycanpoet says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:03pm

This game is awesome....complements to the chef.

KAGSme says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:07pm

This definitely feels good!

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Incredibly fun game. Loved it. HS: 189070!
I loved every aspect of this game, the animations, sounds, and rigs. Incredibly polished. Wonderful. Just needed more abilities.

zuurr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:42pm

every part of this game comes together so perfectly. i dont know what else to say.

its like a masterwork of charm.

MrTwister says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Nice entry! Had a blast!
Simple yet fun. Great job!

tweedle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:59pm

The sounds effects were funny! 85320 was the best I managed after a few plays, fun stuff! -T

BUNN1E5 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:35am

LOL XD. the sound effects were funny! XD

MicroMacro says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:44am

This... is fantastic! Though the sounds are kinda different, they add to the humor of the game, and the game plays phenominally and the controls are intuitive. Very nice. :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:48am

Dumb but fun! Hahah :D

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:19am

Like the dinosaurs!Really cool and funny!

sikosis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:19am

Wow. Now this is an excellent example of the jam. Fits the theme, great graphics and audio. Fun to place. Nice one.

Macecraft says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:04am

Really good fun for the few moments it lasts. It seemed a bit too easy but then again, I don't think these villagers were prepared for a giant T-Rex, even with all of their tanks ;>

P.T.A says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:07am

I immediately love this game, awesome low poly graphics, nice mechanics and very funny sounds, awesome!

tehPHEN says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:34am

Whoa! Audio was a tad loud for me. But the game was absolutely a blast! I felt like a Real Trexstomping on tanks :). Wish I figured out how to live longer.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:48am

Those sound effects are hilarious! Great fast-paced rampage game.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:47am

Wow, that was a hella lot of fun just smashing those humans. The sound effects also gave it a great comedic value. Very good stuff!

khahem says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:18am

Very fun, feels great, and excellent sound effects (beep beep beeeep :D).

I had a bit of a framerate problem, including using the desktop version on fastest setting, I don't really know why (maybe because of OSX ?)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:33am

Awesome! I really like the T-Rex art style and animations. Would easily play a full game along these lines and this style. Very satisfying. Nice work.

Boberro says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:44am

Not sure if HELP screen was supposed to work, but on mac it doesn't show up, and it breaks the mouse click.

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:23am

@Boberro, sorry, I develop on OS X and I didn't actually check it after fixing the bug in other versions on release. It's fixed now :)

Inateno says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:05am

I'm not the only one who made sounds with mouth :D nice entry

01101101 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:14am

Fun and fast-paced, I liked it :)

Caracole says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:16am

Simple, fun and hilarious. Great job :)

Fenreliania says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:01am

Absolutely great! It's super fun to just romp around, the sound is satisfying (love the beeps!) and the graphics are charming. It's just really fun!

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:45am

Bit laggy but bearable enough 'cause od craziness :D

Sparrow says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Awesome, love destroying stuff as a dinosaur!

MrKOHCEPBAHT says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:37pm

I think this game good enough to be in top10 of compo.

applejam says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:11pm

The best I've played on ludum dare 33 so far. Would even buy this. I hope you go greenlight in steam.
Never had so much fun killing people.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Nice!

ajopart says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Mouhahahahhahahah ! Motherf*cking T-Rex !!

zuurr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:13pm

why cant i quit you mf rex

you are just too good

i keep coming back to stomp more

- a haiku by zuurr

(seriously though i have come back to play this game several times, and cant say that about any of the others so far...)

AlariSilver says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Very stress-relieving game :D

Tijn says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:52pm

There's no real story or writing to speak of. No music either. Pretty basic graphics. Just a single level.

But DAMN this is fun :D

5/5 will play again for sure!

TimBeaudet says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Got me laughing, and that usually takes effort, cookie for you. Was confused at first with the darkened buttons, felt like I shouldn't be able to click them. Also first few times I didn't see the health display but managed to catch on, somehow the hud was very functional and also hidden without hiding, if that makes sense. Good entry!

Mantlair says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Gr8! I started enjoying destroying stuff. Thanks to this theme!

Dizzly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Was laughing like an idiot!!! I love the 3 2 1 countdown! Nice man!

Ryusui says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:57pm

I love how things go flying as you smash them. Very nice and arcade-y. :3

derr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Very nice graphics and dino animation. The camera wobbling really makes you feel like you are MASSIVE.

jrhee says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:14pm

BOOM SMASH STOMP ROAAAAARRR HAHAHAHAHA

ahh good times

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Nice graphics. The roar doesn't work all the time. It's over incredibly fast. But fun mayhem, nonetheless.

eric777 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Great stuff! Loved all the "Ludicrous!" VO. Made me feel like I was playing UT as a t-rex :)

For some strange reason, it was several games before I noticed the big red heart meter in the bottom left. Must have been me.

Big feeling of carnage. Is it possible to clear the level? I tried several times, but maybe I just suck? If not, that would be my only gameplay suggestion - maybe too hard to clear.

Very well done!

StaNov says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Loved the graphics and the starting beep-beep-beeeep :) Great job! Some music would make it even better!

maccam says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:53pm

ahah it's super simple, and the main menu scared me x)
less is more! good job

Ptolo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:29pm

T-rex just wants to cut down on military exercises happening in suburbia (so many tanks!) Fun times were had even if I didn't find the roar button until too late :P

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Really fun arcade game! The noises made me laugh.

qgi says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Awesome! Great fun. Really like the art style!

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Sux

Darkflint says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Kill them all! ROOOOAAAARRR!!!

Joror says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:17pm

High Fun rumble! :D Nice sound effects. 26855 high score ;)

Jesse Freeman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:53pm

I don't even know what is going on but I'm a giant dinosaur and I'm smashing everything. Love it!

wooltech says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Great fun. Roar. Smash.

Game looks great too (although some of the buttons appear disabled when they are really clickable.)

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Hahahaha laughed a lot playing this!

fermenter says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:13am

You had me sold at the countdown noises. Great job!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:28am

CARNAGE! Nice work :)

martymon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:35am

I laughed at the custom sound effects! Controls were smooth and smashing stuff is always fun :D

MoreRPG Team says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:35pm

awesome feeling of destruction =)

Obvious_San says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Funny game : ) Graphics are neat, but the gameplay is not that complex or innovative.

jordinuco says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Pleep pleep pleep peeeeeee!!! XD

Fast and effective mechanics, and sound works as well as it could. Good job!

m43c0 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Hahahaha!! Very funny game. Loved the Rampage style gameplay and the overall chaos you make by simply running around!

Infernal says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:35pm

great job, it didn't need the cursing though.

Atridas says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Pip , pip,, piipppp piiiiiiiiiip!
Really funny!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:01pm

This is lovely, nice work!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:23pm

When I first played this game, I tought it was submitted to the jam category. Then I figured it was a 48 hour solo work and I must say that it's incredible. Graphics are neat, and the gameplay is really fun and funny. Great, great job Overall

(PS : BTW man, when you played our game at the ending of the deadline, the link to the game was broken and we solved the problem thanks to your warning. Don't hesitate to retry it ;) )

struffy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Bit of a potty mouthed Profanisaurus! But good fun.
Needs an Oculus version ;)

Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:20am

hahahaha hilarious. sounds were crazy

SKT says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:46pm

The "pip, pip, piiip" sound made my day ! Fun to play and very nice graphics. A little bit hard though, you should maybe add something to regain health. Very good job !

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Fast and funny. Pretty well done!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:32pm

That was fun!

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:24am

This game is perfect.

thedashdude says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:38am

Fun, one the better games I've played.

aaronsnoswell says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:51am

5/5 mate :) Well done! Only some music would have made this better :P

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:21am

Cool! Smooth camera would make this awesome.

Galvesmash says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:29am

SO MUCH FUN!

Teesquared says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:47am

Motherflipin fun. Simple game play that was done very well. It kept me playing. Good job.

K.Chplr says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:33am

Great game ! The way the humans are sent flying and the silly sound effects are fun. I noticed that when you're dead, all the humans start flying slowly upward, not sure if this a bug or intentional but it is funny.

FistBumpGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:18am

Nice game! Maybe a tad to frantic ;)

RoundFork says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Graphics were great! Loved the game very fun!

Fraust says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:41pm

That was pretty good. Games need more smashing...

valid4life says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Quite fun, nice graphics!
Gets a bit laggy on firefox though

darklightteam says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Haha, this one was fun. I mean, everyone love to destroy things and feel powerful. Although this kind of game was expected given the theme, it's really well executed. Congrats.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Great game, the sound effects were very funny but some music would add to the game I think. The controls were nice, great job!

walsh9 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:53am

For some reason this reminds me of the classic pc game 'battalion' (search for googelon). Of course this is much much faster paced. Really fun!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Charming!
Not so good with feedback on what's happening though. The first few times I died, I thought it was just a bug where the game restarted prematurely. I mean like, twice, until I realized I'd been going for tanks and just died.

Fast restarts when you die is great. "Getting" the game is really quick, and it keeps you replaying for a long time.

Nice graphics. Decent sound. And probably one of the greatest game titles submitted! Overall a really cool game. My best score -> 99400

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

mantis says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:51pm

@Birtus 'guys'? I am a single dude, this is a compo entry :)

Frump says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Awesome. Simple but a lot of fun.

iapc says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Great game overall. Made me think about the important questions in life: what's the purpose of life, is there life beyond death, how much mayhem would a T-rex cause in modern society.

NeanderG says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Really fun game. The beep voice over made me laugh :) The graphics where nice, but the colors could use some love.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:11am

I smash!!!

SlayerEXE says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:57am

3.. 2.. 1.. xDD The game starts out strong with their fx. Very funny and good-looking.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Roar! Lots of mayhem, I like it! I also like the voice sound effects, but the bfxr ones are a bit harsh. As to gameplay, it's a bit hard to see what's going on around you, so there's not much room for tactical manoeuvering and dodging. A camera standpoint farther up and back might help here, but would of course mean less immersion :(

BooleanByte says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:12pm

BEEP, BEEP, BEEP...
Awesome entry, realy like this.
My highscore is 101155

pighead10 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Scored 139415. Fun game!

pta2002 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Nice sound effects! BEEP. BEEP. BEEP. BEEEEEEEEP!

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Very fun entry! The audio and graphics fit nicely, although I feel the roar attack regenerates a little slowly for the rate at which *I* died. The physics are awesome and fit perfectly. Nice job!

teknic says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:20pm

i played more than once :)

Hifire says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:29pm

This is awesome, great job!

DerekRumpler says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:33pm

This could be a fun little title on PC or console. Add a few more levels and I could see myself buying this for the right price point.

tinykidtoo says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:39pm

That was a lot of fun. I love the little people running for their lives it just reminds me of Godzilla.

Crosstales says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Short but fancy!

Sanju says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:33pm

It's always great to destroy a neighborhood :)

bloomingbuds says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Super, super,...super funny game! And low-poly style really looks good on the game!

carle13 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:44am

I really enjoyed the game, it has good graphics, sound and it's funny

HappyHour says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:42am

Chaotic, but hilariously satisfying. I always welcome more entries like these.

guoboism says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:24am

I love voice-sfx! Lots of fun!

Drunkteam says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:09am

The sounds are very funny! The game isn't very original, but it's fun.

grynca says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:26am

simple and fun

Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:30pm

A rather crazy, fast-paced game! It's obviously quite fun to be a dinosaur, going around destroying things, so it's a perfect formula. ;)

superfreak says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Great deal of fun :D Super smooth control system with nice artwork and gameplay.

HThomson says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Smashing things was pretty fun, loved the roar ability. Sound effects were a little annoying though so including a mute button would be a useful feature. But overall, great entry!

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Incredibly silly, if a little basic graphically. I love the sound effects, especially the Unreal style announcer. :P Well done!

Ixeno says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:18pm

One of the most fun entry! (:

dalbinblue says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Haha! That was good fun. The only odd things I noticed was that the roar attack didn't always work, and I couldn't figure out specifically why. I'm guessing it's on a timer, but there's nothing to indicate how long I have before I can use it, so it was a little frustrating on that part. Still it's a minor thing to otherwise hilarious fun.

Highscore: 86350

bombjack says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Very well executed entry. Not my king of game but I still had fun. good job.

arzi says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 11:56am

Being T-Rex is the bestest!

Almax27 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Great fun, love the simple visuals and the sound fx were spot on, awesome work!

dalbinblue says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Saw your note on my game; you are indeed correct, I completely missed the UI elements at the bottom.

FZeroRacer says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:20pm

This was a super fun game. Great premise, funny sound effects, solid programming. I think this has been my favorite game yet. Kudos.

AlexFili says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:40am

Easily one of the funniest (and brutal) games I've played on LD. The graphics are nice and the audio is pretty darned funny. I like the gameplay and the combo counter particularly makes it stand out from the crowd. Very well done indeed.

radmars says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 6:24pm

M-M-M-M-MONSTER KILL

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:49pm

The destructible buildings and environment make this pretty satisfying.
solid entry!

Sep 8, 2015 @ 3:58am

Tyrannosaurus got #rext. Loved it.

savethejets1 says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 2:21pm

That countdown sound effect is great!

Sep 9, 2015 @ 9:27pm

A bit laggy, but super fun! I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/isROeWsQRB8

Druid says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Small yet funny! :) I really enjoyed this entry :3 And 5 for audio :D

Sep 10, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Very cute graphics and sound, fun, quick and engaging gameplay. Well done!

REIN1 says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Fantastic! Funny voice!

Xanjos says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Really fun entry plus I like the charm of those recorded sound effects.

deepnight says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 9:41pm

It was damn fun, yet very simple to play :)
It would be great if you could survive a little more longer, or at least have a clear mean to avoid enemy bullets.

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:00am

Great fun! Very satisfying gameplay, especially when mixed with the sound effects. Good work!

reiknight says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:53pm

The audio is hilarious :P

Lianne Booton says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:21am

Pretty cool entry, great job! :)

MikeEnoch says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:41am

Excellent recreation of The Lost World: Jurassic Park ;)

yuigoto says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Hahahaha! It's always good to cause destruction and stomp on people, isn't it? :P

Nice work here! I love flat-shaded, so that will always have a +1 for me! :3 Gotta love those civilians goinh "aaaaah!" as they die! >:D

I can see this as a really fun and entertaining arcade game. :P I'd totally play this on an arcade also! XD

wademcgillis says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:44am

dinosaurs are friends, not monsters!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]