Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

bloody tentacles

by zuurr - Jam Entry

this is my tech demo i mean game "bloody tentacles"

you are an eyeball and/or jellyfish monster and need to kill people who fly in helicopters and then get to the exit. as you kill more things your tentacles get bloodier.

also dodge the spikes that are on the walls in the later levels.


controls / how to play:

the controls are at the bottom of the page and the rest is supposed to be somewhat discoverable in the game but i am not great at level design, so here it is anyway.

- you move around with wasd or arrow keys and can aim your tentacles by clicking where you want them to point at with your mouse.

- enemies will be damaged when they hit your tentacles.

- once you kill all the enemies the exit to the level will open and its position will be indicated

- there are 5 levels before you win.

- you are damaged by colliding with enemies or their missiles or spikes.

- if you die you come back as a slightly smaller version of yourself. when you complete a level you get full health, an extra life (up to a maximum of 2) and grow bigger again.






note on the post-jam version:

don't score me on it. really.

if it doesnt work for you, try the other one. it's been tested on more systems. particularly i dont have access to linux, but i know the released version works on it. this one, i'm less confident about.

most of the bugs and changes are minor and i probably wouldnt put it up if someone didnt call me out on them on irc.

this is the list of the bugs that i have fixed in the post-jam version.

- make bullets actually fire. this had caused the 'damage when nothing is there' bug. bullets were staying in place since they had 0 velocity and were hard to see). most enemies have rockets so this was not a big deal.

- make tentacle-enemy collision detection more accurate when on the right side of the screen (... don't ask).

- make exit particles come from you instead of to you (this is the only one that is not really a bug, but makes it more obvious you are not being shot once you beat the level).

- optimize how blood particles are handled, hopefully leading to fewer dropped frames.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#165Theme(Jam)3.92
#212Fun(Jam)3.51
#236Overall(Jam)3.58
#331Audio(Jam)3.24
#339Graphics(Jam)3.77
#361Innovation(Jam)3.23
#416Mood(Jam)3.28
#582Humor(Jam)2.68

Comments

Benjaminsen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Quite good. Very impressed with the HTML sound and music. Sadly did not work in Safari but played well in Chrome

thristhart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Very impressive visuals and tech! The gameplay was a little easy but fun at the core. Will definitely take some time to look through the source and learn from it!

Xanderzoo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:07am

I loved the graphics. I gave it an overall rating of 4.

Mark Smith says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:14am

Great game! I love the sound effects and music. The gameplay was pretty solid too. I got frustrated with the spikes but it reminded me of how unforgiving older games used to be which suits the art style. Great job!

pkenney says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:16am

Hey, this was pretty fun! It was a nice touch to have the spikes-only level introduce that element, and after that I was pretty good at not taking damage.

I beat it without dying on the first play-through, but juuuust barely, so it was spot on for difficulty.

If I would suggest one improvement, it's the camera's movement. The way it lags behind the player's movement means you can't see ahead of you, which I sorta solved by just constantly always using my tentacles, since that can adjust the camera as well. But it wasn't a big problem at all, since I could adjust it. Just meant I held mouse down the entire game.

The tentacles were very nice - the right mix of mysterious and usable. I didn't really notice the bloodiness while playing, though.

glerikud says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:10am

It's a fun game, I enjoyed it.

Lucho9 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:12am

oh my god, it s awesome, i love the character and how it moves

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:13am

Chrome Version 44.0.2403.155 (64-bit) on linux. Game doesn't launch. Just text screen. Oooh and I wanted to play this badly! :(

Halleflux says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:14am

Doesn't work with Chrome for me. Just doesn't show up =\

zuurr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:15am

Halleflux: are you on linux too?

zuurr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:25am

retrogradeorbit, Halleflux: does it just say loading? if so it is uh, possibly still loading. this can take some time since it is not hosted on great servers and i don't do anything clever with loading. it shouldnt take more than a minute though.

if you don't see loading then something errored before then? usually it should say "init failed D:" if it fails at that state.

either way if you happen to look here again (or if anybody else who it does not work for does), i would greatly appreciate getting the console log. you can bring this up by right clicking on the page, clicking inspect element, and going to the console tab.

i am a little bit verbose in my logging but there shouldnt be any errors, so if there are that is likely the problem. if you could paste said log into a pastebin or something i'd appreciate it.

SeaDads says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:43am

Not showing up on Chrome for me.. :(

zuurr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:14am

Should be fixed for some versions of chrome and older browsers now!

jphelps says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:27am

great job i was impressed

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:29am

Loved everything about it. Cool artwork, fun, and cool audio too. Can't wait to poke around the source code later

awsumpwner27 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:17am

My computer is terrible, but in spite of that, this game looks like it's doing heavy lifting, but somehow it runs at a playable rate on this thing.
Also, the background art is very nice.

khahem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:42am

Great monster, great tentacles, fun to play, and just the right difficulty. Good job !

GreaseMonkey says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:06am

Let's just get the worst bit out of the way: The music doesn't grow on you, it just gets up your nerves. It's coherent, but the samples (especially the bass) really should be changed. Rest of the sound was solid.

In a single sentence, this game is a very well-made cliche game-jam maze survival game. Ultimately the innovation is the sheer spam of tentacles everywhere which you can (but don't have to) guide with the mouse, which adds a star to the innovation score, bringing it up to 2.

The level design is good and you don't often find yourself getting stuck in all the dead ends trying to find the last enemy, but that can happen on the last level. It's actually a quite enjoyable game, if albeit not very memorable, and is actually a reasonable challenge. (The lives system makes it a lot easier to complete.)

And of course, the graphics are top-notch.

I don't care much about mood but with audio or without you are definitely a big scary monster, which also helps with the theme score.

Overall, 4 stars.

adsilcott says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:23am

Love the tentacle effects, and the game is so smooth and polished. Great stuff!

Halleflux says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:54am

I am glad that I came back to this entry. That is some REALLY cool stuff going on there. Did you use GPU acceleration, or are the the tentacles just particles/something similar?

zuurr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:05pm

halleflux: it's all done on the cpu. it is structured similarly to how you usually structure particle systems, yes -- basically a big transformation over float arrays. the relevant code is here: https://github.com/thomcc/ld33/blob/master/src/Main.js#L544-L572

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:21pm

That was hard. I wasn't sure I could do even harder level, but then I WAS THE MONSTER :)

PizzaPortal says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Really great :D I really liked the music and graphic effects.

ponk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:45pm

It's amazing ! Innovative and beautiful

dollarone says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:15am

Fantastic game. So far the game that have made me feel that I indeed am the monster. Great tentacles! I like the idea of your second life being a slightly lesser version!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:17am

nice entry. I had fun running around hitting all the spikes and getting shot. lol. I noticed a music loop at one point. I also liked my character getting smaller with each renewed life. :-)

ReactorScram says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:45am

Hard but I just barely won. The tentacle animation and graphics are very cool.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:04am

Really cool quality game :)

jackrugile says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:49am

Great fun, nice concept ;) It's really satisfying killing the enemies. Even your own death is satisfying with all the blood, haha.

It would be nice to have a tighter camera on the monster though. I went blind into a sections a lot of the time.

Also, there are times when it was difficult to see my character. I always knew where it was, but it still was hard to distinguish from the background because there are a lot of times when the bright light of your eye is covered by your tentacles. Maybe have the eye always in the foreground?

Nice work!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:21am

This game is amazing! Great gameplay, great feedbacks, great audio and great level design!

Awpteamoose says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:14am

I sometimes took damage without any enemies or spikes present, maybe I collided with dead enemies?
Still quite impressive for a one-man project.

allinlabs says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:28am

The level tiles and enemies are a little too repetitive, but the monster is freaking awesome and I love how it moves his bloody tentacles. A real nightmare vision. Well done!

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:08pm

The game failed to start once but then it worked. It's nice, the music is a bit repetitive and the grahics well done, I particularly like the tentacles rendering. On the gameplay part I find it weird to just shove my tentacles to the ennemies face. Maybe if you had to play with the tentacles momentum to add them speed it would be funnier.
Good job anyway ;D

Goutye says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:27pm

The tentacles <3 Well done, I enjoyed it until the end!

bytegrove says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Cool tentacle effect, nice work! I found the controls pretty unintuitive, maybe make it possible to control the tentacles with the arrow keys?
I like the menacing atmosphere in the game! :)

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Neat graphics, cool sound and fun gameplay!

eric777 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Very fun. Liked the music - reminded me of the original doom sound track a bit. I really liked the mechanic of flying with keys and attacking with mouse. Tentacle animation was great, made me feel like an angry squid.

Great job!

Ryusui says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:58pm

I love the look of the creepy tentacles. Only one thing bothers me: wouldn't it make more sense for the "end-of-level compass" dots to travel from the monster to the exit, rather than vice versa? I honestly thought something was shooting at me at first. ^_^;

superfreak says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:21pm

LOVE the controls - felt amazing to play. Great, fast-paced action with brilliant graphics and sound. <3 :3

fubenalvo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:22pm

I don't like the style, but very impressive the animation. The gameplay is not easy, but completeble. I enjoyed it :)

kaype says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:31am

Woaaaaaahhh, this art is amazing.
The audio is really loud and a bit repetitive, but the game itself is really fun. However you animated those tentacles beats me, I would've had a *really* hard time with that.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:16am

Ugly creature for a great game. Neat ++

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:52am

This is probably the most unusual monster I have played thus far. Whipping your hair back and forth to destroy enemies was pretty entertaining. The slingshot mechanic was neat even if it meant I would propel my vulnerable eyeball into a monster or spikes.

It was really nice that you could keep playing as a smaller monster so damage was not as punishing. The one thing I noticed that was really punishing was that dying on level 5 meant you had to replay all the levels again. I still replayed them and beat the last one anyway!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:58am

Oh, one more suggestion. If you work on this some more, try making the slingshot mechanic more pronounced, and giving the player some invincibility frames (changing the eye color or something to indicate this), so you could use the slingshot mechanic to bash through enemies you don't want to tentacle.

euske says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Nice graphics and overall mood! I also liked how you showed dots leading to the goal after you beat all the enemies. Good job.

Tijn says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Cool game, man! It runs very nice and looks great :) It's nice to throw those tentacles around :P Lots of content as well! Some of those levels are *huge* :o

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:28am

Good work, I really enjoyed the game!

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:04pm

The tentacle animation is a technical achievement. Great entry. Nice game play. 5 for innovation, fun, theme and graphics.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Art and audio were great. Funny concept. The missiles were a bit hard to dodge due to their speed and the narrow passages.

block97 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Very fun little game. didn't have a ton of variety, but that really didn't bring the game down too much.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:04am

Really fun little game! Add more levels and baddies and release it on Steam/itch! :D

El Cabaro says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:36am

Figured I'd come over and play your game. I saw this a while back and thought it was cool from the pictures, and I was proven correct. Real neat game.

I liked the graphics especially. I can't sing high praises of the little audio loop but y'know, it did its job. Cheers!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:41am

Pretty cool game had no issues controls were smooth just after dying the last time some of the text was cut off in the message screen. No biggy though game was good :-)

Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:07am

Awesome! Very fluid controls and I love the tentacles and the particles effects.

Shaun LeBron says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:20am

yup, this is really cool. fantastic work on the art

derr says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:41am

I love the idea of using swooping tentacles as weapons and I would have loved for them to be even longer.

rxi says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Fives stars for both the "Tentacles" and "Loudness" categories!

Loved the look of the tentacles, stringy and wild and a little weird, but it made perfect sense given I was this floating eye.. thing..

Lots of parts of the game simply felt "right", the weight to the movement, the little "dodges" of the helicopter drone things, the tentacles -- all lent itself to an enjoyable experience.

Nice work overall!

shawn42 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:29am

Amazing fun with high speed tentacle killing!

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 12:15pm

"Yeehaa I am a badass flying eyeball jellyfish of DOOOOOOM fear me flying drone wannabes for I shall smite thee into oblivion." I can see the box art now, circa 1993. I would have gone mad for this back then. Would love to see more environment art, but that pumping soundtrack makes it so immersive. The tentacles are superb

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 12:02am

Well that escalated quickly... Good artwork and physics on the tentacle beast, nice work on audio (although it was a bit on the loud side), good job overall!

bombjack says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:21am

the tentacle sometimes move strangely but the game is fun.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 11:15am

Dirty badass monster. I loved his sprite and the animation on tentacles.
Moreover Your game is fun!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]