Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Curtain Call

by rogual - Compo Entry

You are John, an odd-job man at the theater. But when you show up for work on the evening of the Monster Play, the producer has a surprise for you!

Features:
- Real time. The play starts at 6:00, ready or not
- Talking
- Dressing up
- See your reviews at the end

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#89Humor3.67
#138Innovation3.59
#149Theme3.89
#160Mood3.53
#250Overall3.42
#266Audio3.15
#361Fun3.17
#365Graphics3.28

Comments

amras0000 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:41am

Had a good laugh throughout; the music gets a bit grating but hey.

dollarone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:01am

Wow, so much graphic. Awesome work, I struggle to get a single animation done. Cool interpretation of the theme. I liked the paper at the end, will have to go back and replay for better reviews ;)

YellowLime says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:03am

Great entry, nice in all aspects, especially innovation. Music was also nice. I'm curious to whether it was computer-generated, but anyway, great job!

rogual says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:29am

@YellowLime I did the music in Ableton in the last hour.

AlariSilver says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:39am

Awesome! Only two issues that I saw:

-Once when crossing between rooms, the rooms flickered.

-The stage manager isn't wearing his blacks!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:19am

"September Cancelled", hahaha.

The play was very slow but I suppose that was the idea. Very funny and neat idea with the realtime events.

Nice job with all the graphics and interactions in 48 hours!

kcaze says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:25am

I didn't actually find this to be very humorous and the dialogue got kind of boring. But I think this is a very interesting way of telling a story in a game, by actually having events happen in real time; this provided a significant more amount of interactivity than your average visual novel for example.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:10am

Nice, great graphics. The music was really nice too.

Gaga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:17am

They didn't like my performance...
(But I liked the game)

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:43am

this was pretty nice.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:33pm

This is super good, thanks!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:13pm

I am a terrible actor :(

TomBoogaart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:19pm

this is cool

LastLeaf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:19pm

hahaha great humor!

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:22pm

I liked the music, sometimes walking through areas is a bit janky

Gravity Games says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:25pm

I really liked the way that the real time was implemented, it added a cool layer of detail to the whole game. The music, while I liked it, got old after a while. Overall a good job, though I do think it would have been cool to have the music change for different areas. If you do a post compo version, could you make it so that the rest of the theater uses the existing music, and the stage music changes according to what happens during the play?

Sir Spiderlot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:31pm

A very interesting and innovative concept for sure. However, the music did get a little repetitive and annoying. Also I sometimes had trouble getting into rooms, as it kept flickering back and forth when in a doorway. Good entry!

pavel_insight says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Really like the concept of real time. Was it hard to implement?
P.S. Anton Chekhov, not Chekov. :)

rogual says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:53pm

@Gravity Games good idea re. music. I wanted to do a longer piece but ran out of time so ended up with 2 minutes of music repeated ad nausaeum. Several shorter pieces depending on area is a great idea and I didn't even think of it.

@pavel_insight thanks for the correction! Yeah the time stuff took a bit of thought but it wasn't too bad. I ended up writing things like NPC positions as a function of time, then abstracting over that with little go-here, do-this scripts, if that makes sense. Not having an engine to fight against definitely helped.

Manou says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Love the art style, mood and the realtime clock. Nice story.

bombjack says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:46pm

it reminds me of some adventure games of the 80s

bodsey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Haha awesome take on the theme. Great job!

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:32am

Great concept, the live time reminded me of Majora's Mask. Some more content would make the game a lot more fun though!

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Fun game!

toni343 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Unbelivabley awesome in every aspect

Lynx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:01am

This is an impressive level of action adventure game with a great narrative and right level of exploration, freedom, and humor! You are going to go far in game dev with work like this!!! Great to see a wonderful example of an older genre.

mantis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:49am

Cool game! Love adventure game entries :)

vikpek says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Quite funny! Didn't have any idea what I'm actually supposed to do... But I didn't wait unitl 6pm ... therefore I probably missed the show :)

Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:25am

Funny entry, was well done. Liked the different newspaper endings. I left the theater which turns out wasn't the right move and then I completed the play but kept appearing at random which also didn't go down well. Cleverly done entry with the real time aspect.

cambrian_era says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:58am

Loved it. Music and art worked great. While I'm sure there were silly things to discover, the play stuff worked really well.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]