Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster - Your Worst Is Our Best

by Ellian - Jam Entry

"Monster - Your Best Is Our Worst" is a Job Center simulator for demons.

Assign the various job offers to the best qualified demons, and try to postpone the demise of the Dark Lords - your very own employers - and get the best score!

~~~ The Window version offer more color variation for the demons ~~~

***

This game plays only with a mouse.

Click the various icons on the edge of the screen to access its content.

On the job page, click offer job to assign the job to the currently selected demon.
Each demon has 3 quality - but pay attention! Some might not be obvious. Read carefully and figure out what they're good at.
And don't forget to check the various Dark Lord's background information... Maybe there's something useful in there too?

***

Initially planned for the compo, this was made in 72 hours solo.
Don't forget to follow me on twitter @ThisIsEllian!

Music and sound design courtesy of the awesome @Zenuell.

***

EDIT:
Feel free to leave in the comment anything you'd want to see added to a full game made from this... ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#6Graphics(Jam)4.77
#37Overall(Jam)4.10
#47Theme(Jam)4.18
#54Audio(Jam)3.98
#59Innovation(Jam)3.89
#60Humor(Jam)3.97
#83Mood(Jam)3.90
#428Fun(Jam)3.19

Comments

kirilllosev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:08am

Very strong entry. I like it :)
Graphics, Sounds and Music <3
Also the concept is lovely.
Thanks for the game

Literal Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:00am

Cool! Graphics and music are really polished!

wavegunner232 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:02am

overall this is a great game simply amazing. Art, audio and the mood are all very refined and everything else just adds to the over all feel of the game

MapleQuest says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:42am

I'd say my only issue with the game, is that there's so much info to go through, and only a tiny space to do it. When you have a large screen, it can feel a bit frustrating sorting through all the tiny tabs when you know they could fit on the screen.

That said, I enjoyed it quite a bit! I was blown away by the graphics, the mood is chill, and the concept is really unique. I feel like I can see a bit of inspiration from Papers, Please. Documents are fun! :D

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:29am

The art is really awesome, and the sounds/music fit quite well. The concept is also pretty entertaining.

I wish the interface was a little easier to sort through. I had a hard time organizing the matches because you can only view one screen at a time and you have to keep clicking CV when changing monsters to see their description. It would have been easier if you could view two items at once (job and CV) or click through the monsters while the CV window stays up.

Tuism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:13am

I really like it. The graphics are exceptional, the little juicy touches are amazing, the music, the humour is spot on, it's all pretty great.

BUT.

The game's doesn't draw me in - it could be solved by tutorialising, or chunking down the game into more manageable bits to start, maybe. As it stands, what's there is an overwhelming pile of stuff to figure out and understand.

Why Papers Please was a great game was because (well besides that it's not a jam game, of course) it was TIMED, which limited the amount of stuff the player could focus on (by design), which means there isn't a ton of stuff. Your game gets around that by removing the time constraint, but then I just feel like it's a huge chore.

I look forward to seeing this evolve, it's really interesting :)

Patacorow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:50am

The art style is just... perfect!
We can always count on you to make one of the most beautiful games here!

Good luck!

randomhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:31am

Great concept well executed.

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Amazing art, music and sound and well polished.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Interesting unique concept with some of the best graphics I've come across so far this Ludum dare. Another strong entry.

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Awesome art and game concept. It's really polished too.

sepharoth213 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Amazing feel and world, this game has an immense amount of polish and it shows. I wish there was more effort put towards improving the game aspect: as it stands there is an insane amount of attention that is required to make good choices, and it's incredibly annoying to have to open the CV of each applicant after clicking their face, especially with the slow going animations between each one. That being said, it's only annoying because I am in a rush to get to the meat of the gameplay, which is compelling and fun. If the game started with 1 job and ramped up slower the game would have held my attention for much longer.

The game is gorgeous and well presented. Congrats on the entry!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:03pm

This is fantastic, bravo Ellian! Such mood, and worldbuilding! The random generation works so well! So much stuff for three days, bravo!

ruerob says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Haha! This is a very well made game! What a wonderful graphic and music! The sounds are really nice, too. That smack when you sign a job contract. Great! Well done and a lot of fun!

DuzDuz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Very cool! I love it :)

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Music&Sound are really nice. Very clean entry. Art is beautiful. It becomes boring after second turn but still.. Good job!

cbstegeman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Yup, this was super fun and funny, and the graphics look awesome. My only thing is to second what wg_phancock said: it would be nice to be able to look at more information at one time. But really excellent in any case!

andreiichim says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:28am

Great game. I love it.
I almost didn't give it a try because I though there's too much text to read but that ended up being one of the most fun parts of the game.
I found it annoying that if I have the CV opened and I change the candidate I have to click the CV button again. I wish I could quickly go through CV's faster. I don't have all day :)
I reminds me a little bit of Papers, Please. In that gave you had the option of keeping more things opened on the desk. Here you have to keep toggling between CVs, job descriptions, and employers... It's hard to stay focused.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:43am

Excellent game overall. All the clues are there if you're willing to consider all the flavor text.

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:03am

Art and music is excellent, idea is really cool, just great, really great job.

bombjack says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:05am

Kind of Paper, Please! of demons. Fun game :)

randoman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Great entry. Window size is a little small... but everything else is perfect. Congratulations!

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:14pm

The gameplay is really overwhelming and hard to figure out. Also a bit too slow-paced (I get that you can set the pace yourself) because it took me so long to make a good connection, eventually actually not getting a good connection... Had a 100% one time though, but most of my sollutions only had less than 50%
Other than that the graphics are of absolutely outstanding quality, super fun take on the theme and the audio is really nice as well :)

McFunkypants says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:03pm

I love the polished "intro" credits! It makes such a good 1st impression.

Very original game style.

Wonderful art - such great pixel goodness, and a styling design aesthetic.

The sounds are perfect: never annoying.

The extra "juice" for things like 100% match! Affinity and the wax seals are so cool.

01101101 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Hard to find a category which doesn't deserve 5 stars ;)
I think everything has been said already, it's a really cool concept and it's perfectly executed. Congrats!

MrTwister says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Man, this is such a polished and fun entry! Congratulations!
I think sometimes there's no perfect match for each job offer, so I it's a bit up to your luck whether you have good candidates, which in the end affects your score.
Anyway, it's a really amazing entry and easily one of my favorites so far. Good job!

SeaDads says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Wow, really impressive stuff Ellian! Kudos! The juiciness in the menus makes them really satisfying to click around in :D

01010111 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:27am

What an awesome entry! It manages to feel very "papers please" without really lifting anything from it! I sometimes had no idea what I was doing, it felt like I was missing some key point of info. In a post-jam version I would look into fixing the mouse overlap stuff, sometimes I'd click near the left of the screen and the help screen would appear, and if my cursor overlapped a couple of options at the bottom it would sometimes choose the one in the back instead of the front. These are TINY gripes tho, amazing work!!!!

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:09pm

So much polish! Very well done!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:16am

jumping from CV to CV is a bit tedious, aside from this, the game is great and incredibly polished

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:10pm

I liked this a lot! I would say the difficulty curve could be probably lowered a bit on Day 1, but overall this is a very cool game. :)

GFM says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:42am

Wow! This game is so polished! Amazing entry!
I'm really impressed with that intro. It setup the expectations really high... and the game delivered!
The audio greatly enhanced the mood. All the different paper sfx are pretty cool!

I must admit, though, that it's quite slow... and a bad choice to play at 10 P.M. (and I was already sleepy...). XD

I was able to complete 2 days, handling one 100% match job in each day. I'll be sure to come back to this later!

Great job!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:21am

Once again a very strong entry, no doubt top 100! Great work!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Amazing work done here. Love everything about this!

Sparrow says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Well polished, awesome entry!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Beautiful graphics, awesome game. I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/L1fCW_I8xho

EwChap says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Great game. Loved the interface. Everything there was nice and clean.

el-pepi says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:02am

Very good looking and original game. There is a lot of depth to it.
I just think there is too much information at once, feels too much like a boring job.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:42am

Solid game, strong pixel art and animations as well as music and sound. Only thing is the amount of effort required to navigate the interface; I wish the monsters would come in one after the other so I wouldn't have to manually select one to view next, then open and flip through the jobs one by one. I know that is influenced from Papers, Please, but as others have mentioned maybe introducing more mechanics further into the game will make it easier to draw players in.

Overall, a fantastic and polished job. Very well done.

Frump says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:33am

Would have been nice to be able to see the character and CV at the same time. Or even if the CV window stayed open when you changed applicants instead of having to re-open it. As it is I didn't feel much reward for my actions and I didn't remember the characters without having their names and faces side by side.

All together though great entry.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Fantastic entry! Love that bureaucratic paperwork mood!

derr says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Very strong in all areas! "Window" management is a bit tedious until you get used to it but once you have figured out your workflow it's a fun little game.

freaknarf says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:05am

Nice and funny game ! It feels good to be on the right side of the CV :)
I was somehow confused by the amount of labels and infos, but i managed to beat it using only CV and JOBS tabs in the end ; reading all the infos was fun and far less boring than I expected at first.
Nice visuals, i like this palette and artstyle. Good job :)

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:50pm

This is probably one of the best entries I have seen! The graphics are lovely and so is the music. The concept is great and reminds me much of Papers, please! only less stressful. Keeping the game in one room would have gotten boring but the randomization turns this otherwise lazy design into something spectacularly engaging! Especially with the fact some of the qualities were very vague so you had no clue if you were interpreting it right. It really made me feel like a detective! Amazingly well made!

radmars says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Nice idea and quality graphics! Everything feels slick and polished. I'd say it's a little hard to keep track of the tabs and all the info. It's also difficult to figure out what's going on and how the info given relates to the jobs.

Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Man, oh man is this some gorgeous pixel art. This game is stunningly well presented.
Unfortunately, I found the gameplay a bit lackluster. Choosing monsters based on their explicitly listed skills rarely feels like much more than fitting round pegs into round holes, and choosing monsters based on their hidden skills feels like guesswork with almost no proper explanation as to what to look for.
I also found a couple of UI quirks that really detracted from my experience. The first is that switching between character's CVs required one too many clicks. If a CV is already up when I switch between two potential employees, it would be convenient to have the new CV pop up automatically. My second issue is that the "offer job" button is very easy to miss. The color choice makes it look more like a watermark that only exists for visual style than a button which can be interacted with.
I really wish I could be more positive about your entry, as it has an incredible amount of charm, style, and personality, but it just feels like more thought needs to go into the mechanics before this can be a really worthwhile experience.

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Made it about 6 days in before all the dark lords died, whoops...

Very creative entry, but swapping between monsters and CVs got quite old when you have to click 3 times every time. The sound design and art are fantastic, I think you've done an amazing job pulling all together. Very strong entry, great work! :D

Sep 8, 2015 @ 3:35am

Great concept and development! Loved the graphics too. Really cool entry, good job!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Intriguing game! Reminds me a bit of Papers, Please.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 9:50pm

So much polish! I really like this entry, beautiful and amusing. Could be more challenging, but whatever!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Strong entry! I really like the art style! Adding some time constraint could improve the challenge. Good job ! ;)

NightShadow0 says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 9:14pm

This is so clever, i love it. Only suggestion would be to spread out the amount of information, it starts pretty overwhelming right off the bat. Great job!

Patomkin says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 9:20am

The only thing I could complain about is the teeny-tiny window :)

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:39am

Very good game with excellent graphics! Was a bit hard to figure out qualities, but was still great to play!

Sep 13, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Awesome!! Really polished and nice. My two complaints are: 1 The CV tab has to be reopened over and over, 2 There isn't much to keep me playing and engaged, gameplay needs some tweaks. That being said, although the systems were a bit tricky to figure out at first, there was a lot of depth to them. overall great!

vitorlanna says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:10am

The game is really nice! A lot of information to consider though, this is a game to be played slowly and with a lot of attention, constantly switching between different documents. The graphics and the music are great. Really polished!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]