Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Strider

by CiderPunk - Compo Entry

It's not really a game, sorry!
the plan was to add tanks and helicoptors and different weapons and explosions and gun cool down and a score, but there wasn;t enough time and the game wasn't coming together as I'd hoped :(

Controls:
A or left cursor to stop moving
D or right cursor to go faster
Mouse to aim
Left mouse to fire

What I learned:
Don't try to learn IK rigging and keyframing during a JAM
Don't try to do animated 3D
Don't do 3D
Don't make a game that relies on sound to convey atmosphere when all you have is bfxr
Keep it simple

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#269Humor3.18
#388Audio2.90
#533Graphics2.95
#789Mood2.38
#799Fun2.48
#838Theme2.57
#877Overall2.50
#890Innovation2.00
#1578Coolness41%

Comments

g_o says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:14am

Though not really a game this thing is freaking funny!! "Awww my eye!"
"[sobs] Mofo!"
Hahaha was worth it!
Good job and also very valuable lessons, making 3D and animated 3D for compo is indeed hard.

Andrew says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:46pm

The soldier sprites and sounds were very good. I hoped to be able to stomp them down with my giant mech-legs.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:47am

I liked that robot model, but gameplay is too simple. Too bad you ran out of time!

SamH says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:04am

Reminds me of Walker on the Amiga. Impressive that you managed to do some modeling and rigging and animating and coding, so don’t feel bad about not finishing, and focus on the lessons learned, that’s the spirit!

radmars says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:37pm

ha! Game or not I had a good laugh! (those soldiers dieing man... haha) The robot and the character sprites are both awesome, keep it up for next time! (T.T 3d is hard man...)

Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Don't judge yourself so harshly ) You made pretty fun prototype, that's for sure! )

Strike says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Even if it's pretty pointless because the game is not complete, it is so fun to feel so powerful and slaughter all these innocent people. Wait, did I just say that ? XD

I really wish you can finish this game one day.

pixzleone says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 9:18am

Nice sounds

Sep 9, 2015 @ 9:38am

great start. Given all the things you had to learn during the jam, you got really far. Would be great if you finished it, post - jam (maybe go for 3D as suggested in your list.

Sep 9, 2015 @ 11:55am

It's a very ambitious attempt, doing a 3D game in the compo is a tough challenge. Loved the voices, and hey, now you know how to do IK and keyframing! So it sounds like you've learnt a lot from the competition even if the game isn't quite where you'd wanted it.

Sep 9, 2015 @ 1:33pm

I had a bug where my legs never appeared, but still a nice effort for the theme!

Sep 9, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Hey, you didn't finish, so what? It's still fun to shoot them (and listen to them yell "My spleen!"). Obviously the complaint here is that you didn't finish making it a game because you were too ambitious. The good side is that what you did finish is very well done, particularly since you were learning something new while doing it. We're not brave enough to try 3D models during a jam yet.

Norgg says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Don't give up on 3D! Even in jams it's doable and makes a nice change. I'd say keep the animations dirt simple though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]