Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

KaijuKrush

by Sparrow - Jam Entry

CONTROLS:
ARROW KEYS - WALKING
C - NORMAL ATTACK / SELECT
X - SPECIAL ATTACK / BACK

SPECIAL ATTACK HAS A COOLDOWN OF 8 SECONDS
AFTER COOLDOWN THE PLAYER WILL FLASH AND MAKE A BEEPING SOUND.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#142Audio(Jam)3.66
#157Theme(Jam)3.94
#188Graphics(Jam)4.08
#261Overall(Jam)3.53
#295Innovation(Jam)3.31
#328Fun(Jam)3.34
#351Mood(Jam)3.35

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:44am

Very Cute game i loved the art it made me want to play more
it would be good if it had more levels or more difficult levels but it was a very good game considering the amount of time you had :)

Cory Martin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Nice art! Is there only one level or am I missing something? :[

Sparrow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Thank you for the kind words! :)

There are 6 levels, 5 are locked from the start. To unlock new levels you have to beat the levels.

alexrus07 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Looks like a really fun game, but I can't seem to be able to unlock any later levels :( (I have beaten the first one, multiple times)

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Love the art

Sparrow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:26pm

I'll look into the unlocking problem.

Sparrow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Fixed the level problem, everything should be fine now.

radmars says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Neat little game! Love the main character. Things get real when those tanks start coming! Good sense of urgency and clear objective. Wish I had a cooldown timer on my special so i know when to use / save it! Nice job!

Laddo D says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:29pm

excellent art

Miltage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Great entry. This is minimalist pixel art done extremely well. The menu animation got a bit tedious after a short while, and having to re-select the same level to retry it made little sense.

UrbanHelsing says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Fun in the beginning but mostly button mashing

kaype says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:30pm

These graphics are really cute! The music is good too.
I like the screenshake (AKA the gamedev's secret weapon) but I did feel a lack of control while playing, which I don't know the cause of tbh. It's very challenging though, and it kinda gives off a SNES vibe for me.

Good work!

Also, what's with the options button? It doesn't seem to do anything.

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Really cool idea, very nice execution!

TagliatL says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Really cool, the game is more strategic than I first thought. The way you have to choose your attack is pretty interesting.

I'm a litle bit disappointed by the little variety of levels, they feel like the same.
Also sometimes the directionnal controls felt not reactive anough but anyway, I really loved playing this game, concept, music and arts are great!

5k0d says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Funny game, i like it. Nice music, good sound and good graphics. Thumbs up!

Big Cow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:36pm

I really liked this and played all 6 levels. Was a bit disappointing there was no end but hey. Its fun chewin through buildings. The graphics are just right and the game time is not too long or too hard. Theme tune was cool too. Good job!

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Loved the art style and music! An accurate description of how being cornered by the tanks made me feel is "OH GOD OH GOD EAT EAT EAT JESUS HALP!"

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Very nice graphics, some levels are a little boring like 2 and 3, but overall is great. I finish all six level and no message saying me how great i am!!! I love the menu music and the play music... and the little difference between them. Grat work!!!

P.T.A says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:14am

Good job! the art and sound are incredible =D a really fun game!

godjammit says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:33am

A cute and funny reversal of monsterdom. I like that the tanks destroy more houses than you do. Had some trouble with the mechanics/outrunning them though- wish there were more tools to use, I guess.

Ventura says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:59pm

It was fun, nice music, nice graphics, simple but good mechanics, it was easy to pass the levels, with some enemies more in the city I think should be more fun

Obvious_San says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Really cute and sweet little game :) Good job!

Benjamin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:34pm

nice graphic and mood. But the gaemplay is a bit straightforward. I love the attack animation ( teeth ! ) but the super attack could use more fx like particles.
Also on screen select the cursor shoud autoselect the next available level. I did lvl 1 3x times because of it :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:24pm

I liked the graphics and music! The overall mechanic of deciding when to use your special attack wasn't interesting to me until the last level, when it became challenging. Overall very nice polished game!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Really fun! Beat the last level with a sliver of health. Great game.

Saf says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:56pm

I loved the game, this is the kind of thing I was looking forward to play when I heard the theme!
Kinda reminded me of the last Superman movie, the good guys and bad guys did same damage to the city :P

BlackQuiltro says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Nice game! Like the art and music. Very light-hearted style in a good way
I think the concept is fun but it needed more levels or more challenge!
Good work!

Aske says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:03am

Really pretty. Dunno if i'm missing something, but I would like a restart button or a some sort of way to get back to the main menu :)

Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:16am

Very hella cute. Just incredibly adorable. Loved the chomp animation, wish there was a death animation.

At first we thought it was super hard, but that's because we forgot about the special attack. The music was cute.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:19am

Very polished. Really cute consistent style. Animations were fun and contributed well to the visual flair. Interesting mechanic. Also I loved that you had all your menus intact. It felt like a complete game, which is awesome for 72 hours. Congrats!

HappyHour says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:04am

Finally got a chance to sit down and try this out. The spritework is very charming. I dig the simplicity and I would love to see this expanded with more levels. :D

Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:35am

That was fun! Couldn't make it past the last level!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:59am

Made it all the way through. That was fun! Maybe an indicator when you can use your special would be nice. But you kinda get a feel for when it's ready after a while.

Tuism says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:45am

Very charming and cute, cool idea, I'm a colour matching fan... which brings me to...

1. What's the point of the game? All the buildings seem to have equal health, so it's just a matter of finding the route of the least buildings to destroy to move on? There should be a point to the colour of buildings.
2. An attack button seems really pointless. You should attack a building just by moving into it. A lot of time is wasted because you're standing still attacking nothing. That's frustrating, and not in a "challenging" way.
3. Controls again - why ask people to click to start the game when you never use the mouse again? :/
4. Dunno if you have a special available, was never explained or indicated.

Has potential. Needs more interestingness. Good luck!

Sparrow says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:40am

Thank you all for the kind comments and critique and I will consider everything said for a post-compo version.

@Everyonewonderingaboutthespecialpower Besides telling to press 'X' for special attack I didn't properly explain the mechanics of the special in the game. When you can use the special again the character blinks and makes a beeping noise, this happens after a cooldown of 8 seconds. ^_^

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Nice game, pixel art works nice :) Controls could be betters I think and also I cannot select the last level :(

Good jobs by the way!

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Sweet little game, overall seems very polished with everything working as it should. Would have been nice to see a few harder levels, but this is LD so more than one level is impressive! :D Finished all 6 levels, but there was no cake :(

Art looks great and the music has a catchy jingle. Nice work!

Look forward to seeing where you take this post-compo :)

Shaun LeBron says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:41am

Really cute game. subtleties I liked were the little chomp graphic and change in music for the level selection screen.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Pretty nice!

zatyka says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:11am

Very polished. Visuals and audio really came together nicely. My only complaint is that the levels were more button-mashing than challenging.

Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:33am

really nice one. Liked the music, sound and graphics - feels like a complete package.

OldPeculier says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:14am

This feels like a wasted opportunity. The premise is cool, the art is great, and the first level anticipates some gameplay. But the uniform rows of houses in the following levels (I played just two more) destroy any sense of choice. I go down, I chomp. Where's the skill? Where's the game? It's too bad, because the presentation is great and it feels like a game is right on the tip of this game's tongue—but it doesn't spit it out.

Druid says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:53pm

This game is TOO DAMN SHORT! :D I want more :) Simple but good gameplay, cute graphics, nice audio. This game make it pretty high! All 5 for you sir!

bombjack says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:46pm

hard game. nice art.

careless says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Great pixel art and music. Loved the idea and had some challenge to it.

Would be nice if you showed the special ability cool down. Not sure if you only get it once or not? I did spam it and used it a few times to beat the last level.

Really like these sort of simple but fun games, really well put together. Thanks for sharing :D

Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Cute graphics, neat game! I included it in part 26 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/3UFkqjoD81E

Demy says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Nice and complete game. Some clever game design could be useful, levels could be more feature-based, but the game is good right now anyway.

handkor says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Very cute and solid entry.

xvw says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Excellent game ! (And little bit hard !)

xvw says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Excellent game ! (And little bit hard !)
(And no, with X it is more easy)

crucknuk says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Cute game! :) the art style is simple and yet effective :)
it was not bad at all and it was worth the tour :)
i thought kaiju were too strong to be harmed, so it was fun to kinda run away :P
well done!

PixlWalkr says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Nice game, had fun playing it. I like the art and retro feel of it. The short BGM loop is good also!

axoona says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:16pm

fun little game, nice graphics, it has real potential
(suggestion: make the 4-6 levels seem less alike)

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:26pm

The graphics were charming and the audio was repetetive, yet awesome. I especially loved the remix on the level select screen. The monster could have stood to have some animation. The concept was simple but brilliant but I just wished there was a bit more strategy besides blindly bashing things. I liked it despite that, though!

igoramendola says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:37pm

It's adorable!! Great concept with gorgeous graphics and cool music ^^
I want more levels! grawr!! :B

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]