Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Pik & Pok

by TheGreenTie - Jam Entry

Stranded on a mysterious planet, cosmo-cadets Pik and Pok must erradicate the ferocious alienoids that want to hunt them down by doing what they do best: picking and throwing stuff! Can our heroes escape from the atrocious Planet Zor....?

Game playable up to TWO PLAYERS! Either team up with a partner to beat the game or compete over who can get the most points or who can survive the longest!

===========================
CONTROLS
===========================
Walk: Arrow Keys
Picking/Placing coins: Z
Throwing: X
===========================

Pik & Pok is a tribute to 1983's NES games' graphics, gameplay and thematics. This game was not made in order to appeal Ludum Dare's theme, this was just an idea I really wanted to make :)

Design, Code & Art: Rodrigo Gómez (@The_Green_Tie)
Music: Marc Guilleron (@Zylann)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#118Fun(Jam)3.69
#119Audio(Jam)3.71
#316Graphics(Jam)3.82
#413Overall(Jam)3.35
#452Mood(Jam)3.22
#625Innovation(Jam)2.88
#723Humor(Jam)2.40

Comments

Jelinib says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:27am

I'm getting a 404 on your Dropbox download link. Halp!

adsilcott says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:12pm

I'm getting a 404 on your Dropbox download link

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:15am

@Jelinib
@adsilcott
Fixed it.

Jelinib says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:12am

I'm getting a 404 on your itch.io link.

LOL, what is happening?!

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:48am

@Jelinib
It works for me at least, dunno why you can't open the link.

Jelinib says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:20pm

I'm stumped too. I tried accessing it while logged in, and while logged out.

Is it published publicly, or is it private? If it's private, it looks like there's a separate link for sharing it (at the top right). If it's public, then I've no other ideas...

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:10pm

@Jelinib
Ooh, I see what your problem was. I'm sure it's fixed by now. Thanks a lot for being persistent on my game, enjoy!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:58pm

You really nailed the old school feeling in art, sound, and gameplay. Well done! Really fun game. One little bug I encountered: one of the rock circle thingies spawned on top of me, causing me to get stuck in it.

xvw says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Too bad it does not stick to the theme!
Lovely tribute to NES!

block97 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:15pm

The game will crash if you throw a disc at your teammates.

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:19pm

@block97
Are you sure that was the reason? I've played it on both Type A and Type B with both characters and nothing happens.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:30pm

This game was pretty good. The mechanics were nice and simple, and the graphics was actually kind of cool with that screen warp effect. Overall, this was a really good game. :)

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Really cool old school game :) Could be great to have a score system to give more point when we kill lot's of monster in one hit! Congrats!

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:37pm

@metalchouchen
This was planned from the beginning but I tought we didn't have enough time to implement that. I'm glad you liked the game.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:43pm

simple, sweet, and super polished. Has a really nice bomber-man esque flavor with the grid based movement, but the combat felt unique to this game. I especially like that you're allowed to put coins down after you've picked them up instead of being locked into throwing them. I never found it necessary, but I thought it was cool to have the option to set up barricades by laying them down in strategic locations.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:44pm

It crashed :(

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:50pm

@Zephyr Raine
When/doing what?

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Great classic retro-style gameplay, reminded me a lot of bomberman. At one point I got stuck in a rock that spawned on top of me and I had to reset, but other than it was pretty smooth. Unfortunately you admittedly didn't even try on the theme, which kind of takes away from the entry as a whole.

Ryusui says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:52pm

I'll be honest: I have a weakness for games that use the faux-CRT look. Love the retro arcade gameplay. Seems to be a bit buggy, though - in 2-1, I had two coins spawn next to each other, neither of which would stop flickering so I could pick them up. :(

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Pretty nice. Reminded me a lot of Bomber Man. Although I failed to see how it related to the theme. Although I didn't play it through all the way because at level 2-2 I killed everything, but it didn't say I won.

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:06am

Very cool retro style, love the dead animation.
Nice entry!! (hard to play on my qwertz keyboard)

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:47am

@Jacob123
There was indeed an error on level 2-2, there were some enemies walking off stage so it looked like you killed everything but you actually didn't. Sorry for the inconvenience, the bug is all fixed now. Hopefully you'll try a second run.

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:38am

Fun game. Couldn't get past 2-1 though, I kept getting a bug where the coins just keep on blinking and can't be picked up. Loved the music. Good job! :D

Jelinib says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Glad I stuck around for this one. The graphics/style/feel are perfect!

A couple of bugs:
On level 2-2 (I think? The symmetrical one with two green tracks on either side) I threw a coin (it landed in the very upper left corner), I stood on it while it was blinking (it's just my nature to do stupid things LOL), and became trapped inside the coin when it came into existence. I could not pick up the coin, and the red monsters couldn't touch me either, haha.

Another time, I got killed and was respawning, but there happened to be an enemy standing right next to the spawn point at that moment. I could not move away (stuck?) and was killed on the spot.

Also as other people mentioned, sometimes the coins don't stop flickering. It seems to happen at random, even if I'm making sure not to go near them until they're ready to be picked up. Once in a while, I see a coin starting to blink into existence, but then it gives up and disappears into the nether like a coward. I think maybe coin bugs more likely to happen if I walk over them? Or maybe if monsters walk over them? I'm just guessing here. I could be way off. I have no idea why it happens.

Also after I get a game over, the menu screen appears offset to the left.

Minor bugs aside, I had fun playing your game, and the music was catchy too! I've really missed playing games on the ol' NES, and this helped to fill that void. Thank you!

HappyHour says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:49am

The design of the player character is very cute. Digging the music; it's pretty catchy.

ghostonline says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:24am

Nicely done, very entertaining

Brightstar says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:37am

On stage 2-2 a disc went solid on top of me and I couldn't move. A monster killed me and then I got this error.
___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event2
for object obj_detector_pik:

Unable to find any instance for object index '0' name 'obj_pik'
at gml_Object_obj_detector_pik_Step_2
############################################################################################


But! I love everything about this game. The CRT effect is a nice touch. Makes me feel like I'm at the arcade. I'd like to play it with a friend sometime. Awesome music and sound effects. Love it.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:38am

Yeah, cool game, but it has no connection to the theme (as you said). I dont know how valid this is, but still a cool game.

Ethan Allwood says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:27pm

It crashes when i open it with error:


___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in Vertex Shader compilation
ShaderName: sh_CRT

D3DXCompile failed - result

at gml_Object_obj_CRT_Draw_64
############################################################################################

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:57am

Nice entry!

kiroukou says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 8:02am

There's no risk on the gameplay originality, and the use of the theme is quite poor, but I liked the game.
The controls are good, graphics neat and good sounds.

OadT says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 8:04am

Great entry! Cool graphics and music. The game feels quite polished already and makes fun

brombatti says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 9:01am

the game is very fun. I really like the nes nostalgia in here.

Cosmic5 says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 2:44am

nostalgia overload

jodizzle says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 6:03am

I really liked this game! The graphics and audio were of course amazing, and it is excellent both as a homage and on it's own.

There were a number of quirks, however, that may or may not have been intentional. Here are some things I noticed:

- The spawning/despawning of the discs seemed inconsistent: sometimes it would be short, sometimes it would be long; sometimes it seemed that standing on the discs while they were blinking caused issues; sometimes there would only be one disc per level, and once picked up and thrown it would start blinking as if to despawn and then it could be picked up again (I wasn't sure if this was intentional).
- The red dudes in World 3 would spend a lot of time hanging out off of the screen. It made dealing with them frustrating.
- An enemy could be killed by a disc that had been thrown even as it was preparing to despawn (I suspect this was intentional).

The biggest issue I ran into was performance problems. This may have just been my computer acting up (though I didn't notice any extreme memory leakage or something like that), but everytime I started a run, level 1-1 would go great, then by level 1-2 things would start slowing down at an increasing (slowly increasing, but increasing) rate. World 2 was super slow, and World 3 was just about impossible to play. I could restart and get the high speeds again, but the performance would always drag down. I didn't test this extensively, but I did test it enough to notice the pattern of the problem.

Gameplay was good and clever, but the implementation was a bit too easy (though I may have actually been aided by my performance issues in this department). I especially found the "train" enemies to be way too easy to kill. Attacking them head-on with a disc would insta-gib them, and attacking them perpendicularly would do just about the same. I think it would've been cool to find a reason to try and blockade enemies in by re-arranging discs, but the situation was never dire enough to make that an issue.

Again though, amazing game. Though you are supposed to have the source code available somewhere, right?

DalaiLlama says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 6:37am

I like the graphics, the characters are really cute. <3

Frozen Stick says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 6:53am

I dunno why but I can't see the rest of the level!But the music is nice.Help!

pixzleone says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 9:15am

Nice game :)

yuigoto says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:08am

Whoa, nice work! Totally feels like an 8-bit game that could've been released during the NES/Master System era, or even for GBC or the Game Gear.

The CRT-like fx is nice, the soundtrack is really nice too! The melodies are simple and catchy, and it's nice to have that "oh this is the soundtrack to world #1" when listening to a song. :P

Controls work pretty nicely too.

Doesn't stick to the theme, but it's a lovely game, really. :)

Cheers!

dunin says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:07am

love this type of game, and the multiplayer is really fun!

some bugs, like this one (when a coin appears on an alien and I try to pick it) "FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event2
for object obj_detector_pik:
Unable to find any instance for object index '0' name 'obj_pik'
at gml_Object_obj_detector_pik_Step_2"

And I think only one button to pick/throw will be enough, placing coin isn't essential...

Really good job we played it a lot and we will play it again!

oakus says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:20am

The game was pretty fun with nice graphics and fittig audio, but It suffers from some bugs with coins spawning into player and then blinking forever(which is not a showstopper) or monsters spawning into spawning coin and then getting stuck (also not a showstopper) or player getting stuck into spawning coin which is a showstopper and it ended the game for me in 2-2 stage. Otherwise it fun and I definitelly wanted to keep playing the game and complete it.
Also i could find any theme for so from my perspective it was unfitting for the theme.

Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:24am

Well, the current theme is awesome and stuff, but... ...duck that! You wanted to create THIS game and you created this one and I'm happy you did!
The NES era struck me while playing this. It's simply amazing. I kinda wish I could do something like this, I actually wish many indie devs could do something like this. I want to buy this game. This is awesome.

Creative Sectors: Kardfogú

Rothens says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:36am

I loved the CRT effect, but I think you have to make more resolutions.. Or at least for me, on my main screen, I only can see the top-left part of the game. But still a nice entry :)

Sparrow says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Great game, well done!

Sep 13, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Old school monitor filter is old school! :D

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Great graphics! I loved that the display has this curvature and those "lines" like a CRT monitor! Audio is awesome too!
Mechanics are fun! Though I think it's weird if you toss the disk thing and walk at the same direction you would get right under it, and if it'd hit an enemy, I could die too. Also I had a bug in level 2-1 where the disks wouldn't stop blinking so I couldn't pick them....
Anyway great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]