Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

We Missed You!

by RHY3756547 - Compo Entry

It's your average day working in the postal service. What better time to go out on deliveries when everyone is at work?

With over 10 exciting deliveries and a few detours in a "HUUUGE" city, there's no telling what you'll experience while being basically the worst kind of monster humanity has to offer.

Make sure to drive as recklessly as possible, or the roads will become so safe that people will deliver their own packages!

If you manage to finish this "difficult" "challenge", post your score in the comments!

===== INSTRUCTIONS =====

**YOU NEED TO BACK INTO THE CAR BETWEEN DELIVERIES TO GET ANOTHER SLIP!**

Arrows: Move person/drive car
Z (PICO BUTTON 1): Start game
X (PICO BUTTON 2): Get in/out of car

Walk up to people's doorsteps to leave them a note. There are two types of vision you need to avoid:

- Car Vision: People will come out of their house if they see your car within their vision cone. These are large, usually come from the house and appear dark red when your car is not in them.

- Person Vision: Some people are waiting outside for you! Yikes! These people have BRIGHT RED vision cones all the time and will catch you if you are within them, car or not.

===== TOOLS =====

PICO-8: Game/sound/music engine; a fantasy console. Check it out here: http://www.lexaloffle.com/pico-8.php

and, that's like it. unless you count mockups in fireworks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#44Graphics4.21
#57Humor3.83
#73Overall3.82
#101Fun3.68
#171Audio3.38
#179Mood3.47
#283Innovation3.29
#614Theme3.15

Comments

haloguy397 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:13am

The audio was NOT even remotely close to listenable! I

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:50am

@haloguy297 If you're still alive to be able to read this, you'll be pleased to find out that there is a mute button on the pico-8 client. Really dishing out some sick burns there though, unless it was an HTML5 performance issue?

krasus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:30am

Really fun, I only wish the cars exploded! Great work. I like the fake console idea, nice and retro feeling.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:58am

Fun little game. Love how cute the graphics were with the job you had to do, the colours are great and the small pixel art worked so well. The text was also great and kept me playing to see what else would be said. Did get fired after my first day on the job though so think I need more practice. Did wish I could have reversed the car though cause there was times where I got stuck between trees

tuben999 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:25am

Really fun gameplay a bit hard controls at first, And damn i love the art!

Leopoldine says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:28am

Nice pixel art, I loved graphics and the theme.
Very fun. GG.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:38am

46100! Fantastic theme, and well done for doin' a PICO-8 game too! Hilarious game & right smack on theme as well :p

johnhackworth says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:45am

Looooooooove the music <3

adsilcott says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Loved the music. Very humorous concept. Like the gameplay making the receivers more difficult to get packages past them. Its very funny.

mortus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Now, that explains a lot of things! Didn't ever think of a stealth action game about getting to the door to leave the note.

Great job! It's funny and it's fun!

danialias says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Superb work! Very fun to play and enjoyable art. Squeezing Pico-8 to the limit!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Very nice :) (never heard of Pico8)

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:30pm

This was really fun. The car was a bit hard to drive but smashing into other vehicles was part of the charm.
The concept was spot on; truly you thought of a real monster to play as.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:35pm

This was really wonderful.

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Excellent art. Very tight game overall!

shawn42 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Love the mechanic and the humor. Great rating.

0x0961h says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:42pm

I like it. No, I LOVE it. One more reason to learn PICO8. :D

Jared Sartin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:02pm

WELL DONE!

1176Studios says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Super nice graphics!

Azlen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:11pm

This is one of the best games that I have seen made with pico8, the text at the top of the screen is hard to read though.

Suese says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Wow! That is excellent work. The music was great, art was great. Great use of limitations.

Though not on theme at all and a bit buggy.

Parappa says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Love to see the Pico8 being represented here. Nice little Retro City Rampage type game. Great stuff!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Cute. Decent audio, if a bit loud (compared to most games), though my speakers have a volume control so that's not a real problem. What I really want now is an 8x8 pixel GTA type game.

Movement and (especially) driving speed could be faster.

Also, I only saw a single vision cone throughout the game, when I had about 2 seconds left on the clock.. Bug? Or maybe I was just really, really slow and that part doesn't come into play until later missions?
I will try more later.

Really amazing graphics though! 5/5 there.
I might be sounding negative, but I'm actually giving some pretty good scores to this one.

Good job!

Perkovec says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:12pm

It's great and wonderful! Really great work)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Wow, another PICO-8 success story!

walaber says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:50am

pretty awesome! pretty big stretch regarding the theme, but the game is charming, fun, and gorgeous!

AlariSilver says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:53am

Hey, I remember you! You're that RHY[numbers] guy who was banned from that forum thingymajigy wotsit!

(Aaaanyway. Moving on.)

The car handles well, the music's great, and the sprite work is really impressive. But I can't complete the first challenge in the emulator. I drive to the arrow... and nothing happens. Am I misinterpreting where I need to drive?

AlariSilver says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:58am

Oh, I'm an idiot: You have to get out of the car.

Sorry. Will replay (/)_-)

nicksantan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:09am

Very nice!

mklee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:36am

Woah this is a pretty awesome premise and clever use of the theme. Very stylish and a lot of fun variety with the different missions and setups on the map. Great job!

cyrixd says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:44am

Fantastic game, love the art and the brilliant use of theme.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:06am

Nice graphics! Didn't really understand what to do once i reached the arrow though

Tuism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:56am

Hey! Did you rename a gif into a jpg and that tricked it into animating on the screenshots??? Gotta try that :D

Ryusui says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:01am

44850. This whole game gives me such wonderful nostalgia for the Game Boy Color and Neo Geo Pocket Color. :3

I should check out this PICO-8 business myself in the future!

fullmontis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:33am

Tons of little details to like in this game! I especially like the bootup sequence, like if it loading a cartridge of a game.

The gameplay is a little simple, but still fun. The controls are hard for me, but I guess it is me not being used to this firpst person in third person controls :) I didn't mind the music though.

sydream says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:16am

I quite liked this game. Love the constraints given by the console-emulation and what you did with it. Art/Audio perfect for the media, very fun and quite addictive to play. Not sure if it aligns with theme perfectly, nevertheless I enjoyed playing this a lot :)

flatgub says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:46am

Absolutely amazing for a Pico-8 game!
Incredibly well done!

sgehlich says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:42am

I loved the detailed graphics, but the controls felt kinda weird. Good job though :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:56am

The theme is bang on! I'm probably biased because of recent headaches we've had with UPS, though.
Otherwise it was a really fun game. The text scrolled rather quickly, which was a shame because it was so much fun to read.

fullmontis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Heh, I just realized that the game runs on a virtual console, so yeah, the cartridge thing technically is not part of the game. I didn't know about this pico 8 console, looks fun. Makes the game even more impressive in my eyes, considered the limitations. Good job!

KodingNights says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:04pm

i loved being postman pat. I got fired though. :,(

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Managed to finish with a score of 74100, 9 seconds left on the clock.

Loved the interpretation of the theme, and the music really fit the energetic feel of the game. I'm surprised you fit so much content and graphics into a pico-8 cartridge like that - I'm impressed! The game itself is great fun, although I agree with some others that the ticker text is often a little hard to read.

Awesome entry, loved the humourous tone. Great work!

DarkwindMedia says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Nicely done! Love the style!

lukepilgrim says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:34pm

sweet art, cool music, fun game :)

madcapacity says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:54pm

This is a hilarious use of the theme!

Cory Martin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:16pm

It's cool. I like the world. The controls feel a bit sluggish, but I'm not sure whether that's a performance issue or not. Some of the collisions catch me by surprise.

Cory Martin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Oh and nice art!

Hectigo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Lots of fun! I like the retro aesthetic, and the interpretation of the theme is original. Sometimes it was a bit hard to see where you could drive/walk though.

Connors says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Hands down the funniest entry I've seen yet. It really does feel like the postman does this stuff on purpose sometimes. I don't know about randomly ramming into peoples' cars, though. xD

ponk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:18pm

It's fantastic ! Beautiful, fun and hilarious

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Love the art and the take on the theme.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:23am

Great take on the theme. Love the graphics and music. Amazing what you created in just a couple of days.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:02am

Wow, postmen are awful, awful people! Everything works so well together. Super creative use of the theme too!

Shackhal says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:13am

The game is well executed. Fun, interesting plot of the irresponsible postman, and the graphics are good. But the music is jarring. I only guess that is the PICO-8's fault.

Overall, is a very good game. Well done.

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Love the graphics, but the controls is kinda weird.

Sparrow says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Haha! Masterpiece! Extraordinary job fitting all this on the cartridge!

glerikud says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Cool game! Funny and it's very enjoyable to just drive around and hit everything. BTW I managed to get a bug, I somehow stuck a car between mine and a tree, and it started rolling around and kept giving me 50 points

cacciatc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:51pm

I thought the cones were cloth-lines at first. :) This is a great entry. I need to check out PIC08 too.

zatyka says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:48pm

That's a really impressive pico-8 game for sure. Very well executed.

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Wow, when I played it I thought it was a jamgame. But this is actually a compo game? That's unbelievable!

I did in fact like the music, it fit the game perfectly.

The game plays very smoothly, I just wished walking and driving had the same controls. And the hit box for the walking player seems a bit too large, couldn't fit through some spaces between trees, that the player should clearly fit through. Besides that, perfect. Still can't believe it was made in 48 hours!

My top score after playing twice: 44000.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Nice aesthetic for a solid project. Pixel art is great. Thank you ++

Kahztein says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:56am

Nice game with a good throwback to retro arcades, well done!

aeveis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:47am

Nice! I got 56100. There was a point where I pushed a car into the wall and kept getting points for a while. The only thing was there were some things I had trouble telling if I could hit or not, like decks. Great job!

01010111 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:02am

It's so awesome that you were able to make this over a weekend! It plays really well, looks fantastic, and there's a ton of funny stuff! Awesome work!

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Loved the pixel art, it was fun ramming the car into things.

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:22am

I really liked the idea, the framerate was a little odd here. A checkpoint system would be nice. good job!

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:24am

Igonre the last comment, it was for another entry. I loved the pixel art on this one and the gameplay is really solid. good job!

spotco says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:43am

I actually really loved the music :P

jhrrsn says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Super awesome! I'm just getting started with Pico-8 & I'm very impressed with what you were able to produce.

yuigoto says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Whoa! Nice work with Pico! There are some great things coming for it! :P

Graphics were nicely done and the soundtrack completes the fun in a pleasing way, good job! :3

I kind got stuck as some kind of "bird" (wasn't out of the car, wasn't even the car), I wonder if it was a bug or I didn't pay attention :P (probably this last one).

Anyway, nice work with Pico! :D

Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:58pm

A fun postmonster simulator. Parking across 4 handicapped spaces... truly monstrous :P

GFM says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:23pm

It's amazing that you were able to do all that on PICO-8!

The song started nice and fun but it quickly got repetitive... But graphics were great!
The use of the theme was actually pretty great! I've experienced this kind of thing in the past... they can actually be evil creatures, if they want to. XD

Great game!

mustaine says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:30am

Love the style and take on the theme!

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:54am

Oh man, this is WAY impressive for a PICO-8 game. Wow! I had some performance problems though, specially running in fullscreen, and the movement is a bit finicky when getting through small gaps. I was getting stuck all the time. Even so, amazing graphics and very fun game. Great job!

My best score was 91840. It's no 6x flip but oh well :P

JoeProgram says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:57am

I've made terrible life choices! Why didn't I become a post office worker?!?

El Cabaro says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:09am

Another masterwork from my man RHYS. Really though, I've got you cataloged in my brain as "makes inventive games guy" and you delivered. I can only imagine this really pushes the limits of the PICO8 from the various examples I've seen of it. The idea of the postal service being a monster is pretty funny as well. NEWMAN!

Datamosh says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:27pm

GREAT PICO8-micro-GTA-style game!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:15pm

That was great! Only thing I can find that I don't like is that your car and your guy control differently. So every time I got out of the car I had to take a second to adjust. Clever use of the theme

Jani Nykänen says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Wonderful game! Someone said he didn't like music, but I actually enjoyed it.

Jezzamon says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:04pm

AWESOME! You really nailed this! I've got no suggestions to make. Also the audio was VERY listenable :P

Jezzamon says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Crud... I don't think there's any category I can't give this 5 stars for. Maybe a 4 for innovation, just to save some room for the games that might blow my mind?

Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:33am

some cool stuff here. Like, bumping cars and getting them stuck is hilarious. Graphics are nice. not sure i enjoy the controls so much.

dukope says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:46am

Great idea, great art, sweet music and sfx.

cambrian_era says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:43am

Oh man, this is one great looking and sounding PICO-8 game. Very cool.

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:55am

Was confused with the fact that the truck controls and the human controls were different. The truck in particular felt really slippery. I would have liked the option to be able to reverse, but I couldn't do it.

I think the game was enjoyable, and had this nice Crazy Taxi vibe to it. The story was really hard to follow since you were on a time limit. The graphics were nice, but the sound effects were really quiet compared to the background music.

LastLeaf says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:23am

Good idea and gameplay. Great fun. Controls are a bit difficult for me.

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Genuinely superb entry, I love the original-era GTA throwback / micro machines gameplay. The handling felt really micro machines actually. I'd have liked a higher framerate - I guess this is a limitation of the emulator system you are using rather than a coding matter? The art was superb, the dithered shadows particularly fetching. No audio at all for me (Safari)? That was a shame. Great entry!

Xanjos says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Pretty hilarious concept. Had a good laugh at some of the notes your character hands out. Only gripe is that there's no reverse function when you're in the van and the game actually seems a bit slow (especially for something as fast paced as this).

bombjack says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 10:29am

It was had to pilot the car. I liked the way you can bump in the cars. Nice work.

broknecho says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Tons of work in there for the Compo time frame! Pretty solid start. Well Done!

Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:34am

Grand Theft Auto: USPS

xvw says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Nice Work ! Pico looks amazing !

wademcgillis says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Took me a minute to get why it was related to the theme.

This is great! Wish I could reverse though :(

OldPeculier says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Love the graphics style and GTA gameplay. Superb!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]