Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

UFO

by Polyganz - Compo Entry

You play as an UFO that crashed on planet earth and lost essential parts in the crash. The humans have stolen and hidden those components.

Are you alien enough to defeat them and return what is rightfully yours?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#45Fun3.92
#47Overall3.90
#123Innovation3.62
#223Humor3.27
#224Graphics3.58
#259Mood3.30
#455Audio2.74
#539Theme3.29

Comments

guoboism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:28am

So ufo rolls without energy to fly, that is really smart design:
add fun and depth of game play as well. All the model are neatly done. The whole game feels very polished!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:31pm

very good entry, gameplay works pretty neat.

PS: This remided me of Destroy All Humans, oh good times :)

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Best game I've played so far, great gameplay, graphics and sound!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:12pm

really cute. There's something really charming about having to flop around the level for a bit before actually being able to fly like a graceful UFO.
The steady introduction of new mechanics into the game is also really great. Keeps the game interesting as it goes, and prevents the early game from feeling overwhelming.

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:15pm

The way the UFO moves on the ground was really funny and the controlls are really good. I enjoyed a lot playing this game. A music would have been nice but that's okay ;)

OccamsRazor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Extremely good entry, I liked that you basically had to roll yourself along before you can fly. And nice idea on the one level to have to use the enemies attacks to break buildings, very clever!

The flying sound effect may have been a -bit- much though :P

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Never had so much fun rolling a ufo around. Really great job!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Cool look and feel. I couldn't seem to figure out how to land to get the second component though...

Shinmera says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:45pm

The OS X application won't launch for some reason.

increpare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:46pm

I really enjoyed this. The behaviour of the non-flying ufo made me laugh, the pew pew stuff worked quite nicely. Great :)

Chris M says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Stylish and compelling!

Fun tutorial levels, but my favourite was the last level, locating the power ups, following the road to the city, discovering a trap, using their own bullets against them, it was a great experience :)

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Really fun game :)

ajopart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Waow. In only 48 hours, by one person ?! Amazing

OFF says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Simple and fun.
It lacks of indication about clicking on object.
The level design is sometimes messy... but you can't attack anything and that's cool.
And i love the fact that you have to make th UFO roll. Hilarious!

TFR says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:55pm

It's very fun to destroy the city! And the gameplay mechanics are very well built. One of the best I've played so far. Congratulations!

CADmiy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:50am

It was fun to play, it has good graphics, it is really well done!
Rolling the fliyng saucer has never been more funny!-)

Polyganz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:00am

@Shinmera: the OSX version has been fixed. Protip: you can click on stuff to beam it up but only when flying.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:17am

Enjoyable, controlling the ship and shooting work well, the game progresses in a good pace so you don't get all of the mechanics dumped on you in the start. The only thing to complain about is maybe the tad annoying repetitive sounds. Solid effort all around!

BOBANY says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:59am

That was fantastic! The ufo rolling was hilarious, the mechanics are awesome. I feel the levels were too large and could be smaller and more focused. Maybe a camera zoom?

adsilcott says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Very fun game! I love the way the ufo bounces around until you get flight. I also really like the visual style.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Lol, the way the UFO moves on the ground is hilarious! I also appreciated the nice and clean artstyle. Gets pretty hectic in the last stage!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Whoa this is really neat. We had a similar idea except I sort of went with a more war of the worlds thing. I am very fond of the alien invasion theme. I was able to get into some weird states falling into oblivion and starting over but other wise I had a lot of fun.

chuckeles says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Nice game, with good gameplay and solid mechanics. The flying sound was bad for my ears though :D.

glimaleite says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:42pm

So f&*(!@ good man. I loved the scale of things. The last level felt so epic. Congratulations, really great job!

charliecarlo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:02pm

This is awesome! I love how the ship moves around before flight is fixed, it's hilarious. I'd like to see a version of this with more polished graphics and puzzles. Good work.

Birke says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Really fun game! I think the funniest part was the UFO rolling around but the rest of the game has a great feel to it as well. The sound when moving while flying gets quite annoying and it is difficult to see if you will get hit by bullets from the tanks because of the orthographic perspective but it worked pretty well nonetheless

iapc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Fun game, cool combination of platformer and flying game. The tanks cheat quite badly though...

Kai20 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Great game with great graphics but i dont like the pink ufo but overall it looks great and it feels great

fullmontis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:59pm

I like the game but there are a few things that I found annoying. For example, I didn't know I had to click on something when flying to abduct it, I found it by chance. Also, the levels are very big and I had more than once to go around the level without knowing if I was going anywhere at all.

Apart from this, the concept is really fun. It is cool to pick up your power one at a time.

Dejvo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:04pm

really nice game and really funny I did enjoy my time with it

Erlend Aakre says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Sweet game, definitely one of my favourites so far

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Nice concept and graphics

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Pretty nifty game. Visuals're simple enough, nice upgrade system and controls. The flight noise is horrible though :p

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:59pm

I really wanted to try out this game, but there seems to be a strange graphical bug when playing on Windows 7.

Screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/dpjydBE.png

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Okay, I just played the web version (no graphical bugs), and I must say, it was really amazing!

I actually don't mind the sounds of the UFO, because by the way it was moving on the ground, I could tell that the UFO was meant to be a bit wonky. I liked the style.

I somehow survived the barrage of tanks, there must have been at least 50 of them firing at once at some point. XD

Best game yet!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Like the idea you need to get the parts to function properly, like the graphics style. As mentioned the hover sound is annoying after a little while, and it's rather easy. But overall pretty decent.

louis.denizet says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Very good work, nice polish, enjoyed it ;)

BNeutral says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:20am

Loved it. The jumping UFO really got me. Got a few bugs on the web version, but overall it was great.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:02am

Very well done, I wish there was more depth to the story and missions. If you would like to develop it further you might want to retouch the graphics and add more detail to the world too. It was short but satisfying to destroy stuff.

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Ahah it's so funny to control the UFO by bouncing it. You should have created more levels around that, the flying(especially in the last level, it's huge and has tons of block blocking you) is not as fun.
I finished it and I loved it, my only complain is that the audio is annoying..

Tanton-H2X says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:23pm

awesome level design !esp the tutorial levels so fun and professional~ i think these times which before i could fly were memorable~~ the step to step's Gradual feeling is really Nice!☆゚

What impressed me the most is The Final Level's platform jump experience! really Very challenging! i remember i have tried to challenge more than 15times!ToT but i think that is why i was more happiness and more enjoyful the feeling which from when i finally flying in the sky~~ Nice controll feel and the charming animation! jusst like the genius method of these modle design ~~ also love these particleeffect and these soundeffect very much! they are suitable and cool enough!

Also, the experience is very nice when i explore where is my target in this level's map,i can see the Terrain and architecture are Magnificent and Reverie. but also i think, if the target is clear and not need got it by some tentative destory , will the theme may be more meaningful(i feel my aimless-destory was too much ToT)

Finally,the visual style are Neat and Fashion(the Pinkle UFO is really NIce!) , Love the continuation of your design's usual Minimalism style very much~~

All of it,PolyGunZ~~ you are really a talent deveolper!
hope you make more cool game next time~ ☆゚

wish you good luck~~

SeaDads says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:25am

The way the UFO moves before gaining flight... Hilarious! Great choice of graphical style, and really fun progression. Nice!

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Very nice concept!!! Good job!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Psssst! You are in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BOdeYnQVeU0

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:34am

Nice :)

FireTwin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Probably one of the most polished ludum dare games I've played. The graphics are simple but tidy and the gameplay is very fun. Once I got the flying component I felt like a boss! It's neat to be the evil aliens for once, although it's almost too easy once you have flying and a weapon. I was thinking you could probably make it a little harder by having the weapon collectable first, and then you have to kill some tanks before you get your flying component.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:08pm

LOL, I loved how the UFO just rolls around until you find a component to actually fly! Very innovative and creative. :)

walsh9 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:51am

I love this. Whether rolling or flying the controls in this game feel really solid. I think I broke the game once by hitting space to fly after I had fallen most of the way into a pit.

Aevek says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:56am

Had a lot of fun with this one, and the levels difficulty progression was spot on. Would love more of this game.

steve says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Best UFO movement ever :)

jwin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Awesome game, very fun to play! The simple, clean graphics look great as well!

My only complaint is that the flying sound effect is kinda screechy and got annoying fast.

wavertron says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:32pm

what @jwin said.

Crosstales says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Good game! The flying sounds we're a bit annoying, though. Keep it up!

HappyHour says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:28am

What an adorable little ufo! Rolling him around is way more entertaining than it should be. I dig the minimalistic visuals.

jackrugile says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:00am

A very satisfying world to explore and destroy stuff in, nice job!

Drunkteam says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:24am

Good idea and fun game!

Techblogogy says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Very fun and pretty game. Great job!

bombjack says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 11:40am

very fun game. The idea is original. I really liked the way the ufo moves on the floor :)

Arnage says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Fun and exceptionally well balanced difficulty progression for a 48 hour game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]