Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Melody Muncher

by DDRKirby(ISQ) - Compo Entry

***POST COMPO VERSION IS OUT!***

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND you try the post-compo version as is has many major improvements, including:
- Fixed input delay issue that was messing up timing.
- Better default lag calibration -- timing should feel correct now!
- Improved visual lag calibration setting.
- New levels, and beginner mode! More than TWICE the content of the original!
- Pause/reset option! Press Escape during a song to pause the game.
- EXPERT MODE! Introduces a new mechanic, and devilishly hard remix stages.
- New scoring system, also saves scores between sessions!
- Options menu to tweak your experience!
- Unique animated pixel art backgrounds for each stage!



From the creator of Ripple Runner...
DDRKirby(ISQ) proudly presents: Melody Muncher!

A super-fun rhythm game! Play as Ms. Melody, the peaceful piranha plant, as gardeners, knights, and wizards try to uproot you. "YOU ARE THE MONSTER!" they cry, but all you want to do is have some peace in your flowerbed!

Did you like Ripple Runner? You'll like Melody Muncher too!

Warning: May appear simple at first glance. Difficulty will ramp up!

Features:
- Full 9-bit chiptune soundtrack composed within the 48hrs by me, DDRKirby(ISQ)!
- My most complete and polished Ludum Dare soundtrack ever!
- 6 different songs with their own rhythms to conquer!
- 3 different enemy types to handle!
- Lag calibration - make sure your audio delay is calibrated for good timing!
- Hand-drawn pixel art animations!
- Simple tutorial design - no forced handholding, just let's you go at it!

Soundtrack download link:
https://ddrkirbyisq.bandcamp.com/album/melody-muncher-deluxe-original-soundtrack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio4.88
Coolness56%
#6Overall4.32
#13Fun4.20
#48Mood3.92
#100Graphics4.00
#138Innovation3.59
#155Humor3.45
#263Theme3.70

Comments

miotatsu says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:16am

I love you

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Half an album worth of songs in 48 hours. That alone is impressive. Gameplay is incredibly solid though the timing felt kind of weird even without any lag. It's not my favorite game from you but coming from your high standards that's still an easy 5/5.

axoona says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Maybe it's just me but I think the timing should be improved a litte. otherwise it's great !

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Amazing game ! The gameplay is classic but with some good ideas and the music is incredible ! I can't believe you created it within the 48 hours.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:19pm

just amazing game!

rnlf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:51pm

All this music in such a short amount of time. I don't even get one actual song done in that time and you make like a hundred songs. And what songs they are! So cool.

Played all your games since Ripple Runner, and still you keep amazing me!

steve says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Great fun, awesome music, don't know how you made so much in such a short time!

adamwoolridge says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Aeesome!!!

GFM says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Wooow! Your songs are song amazing!!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:23am

Awesome as always! Your game is always one of my favorites every jam, keep up the great work!

el-pepi says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:36am

Amazing music! And great gameplay! very good job

candlesan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:01am

this game is amazing I love it so much I'm going back to play Ripple Runner!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Always look forward to yer rhythm games :D This one's nice 'nm simple but loads of content for the 48hr time and some excellent steps synced up to the tracks. That last track's crazy hard too :D

dancingmad says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Great game with excellent soundtrak and hardcore gameplay.
Unfortunately flash sometimes sometimes don't seem to synchronize inputs ...

greysphere says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:39am

This is fantastic. Really well done!

Acuity says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:38am

Amazing, as expected.

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:01am

And again one of my favourites is from you! Great game!!! I love your LDJAM entries!!!

Arche-san says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:17am

Smart rhythm game!
There is a good difficulty curve and the controls are very simple and progressive.
6 songs + game mechanics in 48h... It's very impressive for a compo entry. ^_^
Great job

Kep says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Phenomenal music! First 5/5 audio from me.
I totally suck at rhythm games and still enjoyed it. Great work!

P.T.A says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Nice graphics, AWESOME soundtrack!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:45pm

I was absolutely horrible at this game about after the second stage, but it was a very solid game and the music was great!

euske says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:11am

Playing this game made me smile big.

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:12am

Really good one! Music are awesom, art is great and I had a lot of fun, well done!

jackrugile says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:31am

You are a music machine. I was blown away by your game, as usual. Such beautiful music, you really use your time wisely!

Patacorow says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:58am

As usual outstanding work!

Monodream says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:30am

This is so great! I was hoping something epic for your entry and I am not disappointed! Very great job!

K.Chplr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:18am

Amazing soundtrack, to churn out so many tracks -so many good tracks- in so little times is impressive to me.

The cooldown time after every action is very punishing, maybe a litte too much ? Or it is just me being bad at this game.

khahem says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:25am

Wow, great music, fun game.

I had to check to be sure it was a compo entry, impressive !

Sunflower says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Yay, rhythm game~!

The yay:
- as mentioned, it's a rhythm game
- with a cool audio
- and cute graphics/animations and such
- and different sorts of enemies

The nay:
- the recovery time seems a bit too long; I particularly suffered from it in the last track where I had to continuously input about 8 notes in a row or so; it definitely should be at least slightly shorter than the shortest "beat", or else the delay will accumulate...

Pretty cool entry overall! ^_^

Sunflower says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Oh, also, it could really use leave/retry button!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:40pm

@Sunflower: The delay is meant to be punishing. Otherwise, players could simply spam both left and right every eighth note and get a perfect score!

Thus, when you press the wrong direction or miss an enemy, there's a bit of recovery. However, if you hit the enemy correctly, there's no delay. :)

Wumbo says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Great game, as usual, though I would like to say that it is very easy to get into a I-can't-think-of-what-to-do loop and just keep messing up for like 15 seconds. Great job!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Nice game, I like the concept and the amount of content (made in 48h, hard to believe)

Saf says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:13pm

One of the best games I have played in the LD! Great job creating so many soundtracks and levels in lust 48 hours! Kudos!

Tselmek says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:38pm

This game is awesome! Here are the few flaws I cam across: it is really hard to play when there's a tiny bit of lag, the game stays in rythm but it seems that the inputs are not, the game should feel less punishing when you miss a step. Other wise, you did an amazing job, the graphics are nice, even though I wish there was a bit more picturation of the rythm in the background for example, and the tracks are top notch. I greatly encourage you to make this a full game with lots of tracks and worlds and different mechanics and why not a custom Music mode.. *cough* seriously though, you have an awesome base for what could be an awesome full game. Congrats!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:03pm

I was kinda proud of our rhythm game made in 3 days with four people... But when I see the work and level of quality you achieved in 48 freakin' hours I'm really amazed. Non solely you've a lot of tracks, but they are super cool :)

The gameplay is very solid and the timing reliable. Btw great "lag option" in the main menu, even tho I'm not sure how it works. The different enemies abilities you included are very clever and adds up a lot to the game. Nice design here. Also the level design is (once again) perfectly adapted. In my game I failed on this... If you wanna have a look at our rhythm, I'd be curious to have your opinion on the gameplay.

The graphics, without being super awesome, do their job perfectly, bringing both cuteness and clarity to the ensemble. The huge contrast on plant and enemies works nicely.

Two "bad" notes: I felt the sfx for the eating sound was too loud and invaded a bit much the music space. Plus, since it goes with the key pressing, it is often not exactly synchronized with the music and that tends to put me out of rhythm.
Also, I'm not sure what purpose serves the recovery after mistakes? It's okay to be punished (like -1, or 0 chain) when I fail on one enemy, but it's quite frustrating to fail for what's coming next, that extends the penalty! (it's just a deduction I made, sorry if it's not actually what's happening)

So let's see, awesome gameplay, concept, music, arts... Oh I forgot the theme which is of course, nailed x)

Congrats!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:09pm

To go with SunFlower I would prefer be punished with score malus for what I did (-1 for each bad timing, which prevent me from spamming) rather than being punished for what's coming. Just a design point of view I guess.

Denis347 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Epic soundtrack, fun gameplay, very good-looking graphics! Really awesome game.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Super fun. And great music!

Sparrow says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Awesome game, well done!

fullmontis says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:31pm

This is just outstanding! I love this game, it is simple but so much fun! The mechanics are simple, but it gets very challenging towards the end. I really like it. The music is the cherry on top of the game, it is fun and lovely to listen to!

Literal Games says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Incredible sound, but also a really nice build up to the final couple of levels. Great entry, fantastic polish for any entry, let alone the compo!

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Gameplay is simple, but fun. Enemy variety adds to the game, music is outstanding.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Thanks for all of the comments and feedback so far! I'm already working on the post-compo version and will be addressing many of the concerns echoed here, including a different penalty for misses, more visualization (including background changes and animation), and of course many more songs! Stay tuned for the post-compo version release; or follow me on twitter for the announcement!

radmars says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:19am

Awesome! I always get excited when I see you've made a new game! Excellent music as usual. I think my only complaint is that the gameplay is pretty basic, I'd like to see more experimental uses of rhythm (I guess rhythm gunner was on the right track) rather than just another "hit this thing when it reaches this point" type of game. Count me among the rhythm game players who can't wait for expert mode too :P I like how the enemies were color-coded, and you did a really good job of teaching the mechanics and ramping up the difficulty, although the last level seemed like a big jump. Definitely want to see more of this. Great work!! :D

radmars says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:21am

Oh, and it would be awesome if this had controller support. Keyboard is kind of a crappy-feeling input device for rhythm games, and I have a feeling left+right doesn't necessarily work on all keyboards (though mine worked fine)

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:30am

I was pretty blown away - a full soundtrack for a compo entry is insane, considering it took me a good hour to write a couple of bars in pxTone. Are any of the soundtrack project files included? I'd love to learn from them for future events!

Overall, super fun and very well executed, but the graphics were just a little basic. I loved the additional mechanics (armour and wizards), but double armour knights gave me so much trouble! Incredible effort, Well done! :D

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:57am

@all: I've worked out what may be causing the subtle input lag issues that some of you may be experiencing. This should be fixed in the post-compo version when I upload it soon!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:19am

I'm a sucker for rhythm games like this. I love all the music. I love everything about this. I love you. <3

zatyka says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:58pm

That was impressive. Awesome music! I managed to get 4-5 stars on each track except the last one, which kicked my ass.

Despite calibrating the audio, the timing still seemed a bit off, but otherwise, I loved it. One of the best games I've played this LD!

Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Pssst - you have been featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jWkF7dp7EeE

sydream says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Just WOW. Solid entry, wonderful music and challenging enough mechanics. I must say that on the last two levels my brain went WTF .. :)

OldPeculier says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Brilliant. Definitely belongs in that class of games made by clearly skilled people able to bring a game to within shooting distance of "a real game" in a very short space of time. Terrific.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Very nice entry packed full with amazing content.

NightShadow0 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:01pm

I love how polished this is, impressive amount of depth for a two-button game. The tutorials were nicely done, though they could stand to have a delayed spawn time, i'd always miss one minion before being able to read the instructions; doesn't really matter in the long run, but it doesn't feel great. I also had a very hard time figuring out when two minions were coming at the same time or had a delay between them, but that's probably just my failing. Amazing soundtrack, that goes without saying really. Brilliant work!

GaTechGrad says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:07am

So it's just pressing left and right? Seems like it's really lacking for a rhythm / music game.

mustaine says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:33am

5 stars. Love it. Gimme the soundtrack.

someone says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Fantastic music. great job.
Unfortunately the lag on playing sound effects that flash has on linux made the munch sound quite distracting being almost a whole beat late.

wooltech says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Brilliant, polished game. A lot of variety for a two button rhythm game.

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:35pm

So geil!! Hammer!! Sorry i need to say it in swissgerman! :-) Absolut fantastic, I found my 5* Audio entry! Happy!

Resonious says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 11:52pm

Not the most interesting gameplay but insanely good music. Awesome overall because of that.

valid4life says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 11:56pm

The timing felt a little awkward on it all. Not too sure why when my lag was 0 but its all good! Great entry for the time.

jwin says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:50am

This was awesome! Very fun to play and way more content than I'd expect for compo game (or a jam game for that matter).

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:33am

Fantastic! Awesome music, 5 stars for audio. Great idea too. Rhythm games have always been my favorite. Well done! Awesome Job!

walsh9 says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:02am

Six stars for audio, this is amazing for 48 hours! Downloaded the soundtrack.

Nanolotl says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:16am

Amazing that you made a full rhythm game in only 48 hours. A fun one too. Great job.

hexagore says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:46am

Obviously 5 stars for audio. Just... obviously. I also love rhythm games so played this one all the way through. The graphics were minimalist but really effective, worked perfect. All in all an outstanding entry, definitely one of the best I've played from the compo.

David Yates says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:49pm

I love this kind of music! Great job, really polished game!

Dizzyman572 says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:55pm

This game was extremely fun! I loved your focus on audio as it obviously permeated every aspect of this game from the animations to the enemy compositions. Very well done game and shows exactly what can be done when audio is done at its finest. :)

Kizler says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Loved this... absolutely loved this!

crazya02 says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Wow! This is seriously addictive. The music is great, and the gameplay is easy to pick up yet hard to master. Simply incredible.

I'm curious, did you create the music or the levels first?

Lukbebalduke says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 2:00pm

intensive gameplay, incredible sound-mixing, one of the best games I have played so far in this ludumdare.
solid entry, congrats =)

bombjack says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:29pm

original new take on the music game genre! good job!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:12pm

@all: POST COMPO version is out!!!!!

Please try it now if you haven't already! I've added and fixed so many things, it's ridiculous!

- Input lag issue is fixed!
- Audio lag calibration is better!
- Animated backgrounds!
- More stages! EXPERT MODE!
- High scores are saved across play sessions!
- Options menu!
- And even more!!!

LMT says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:34pm

That wsa cool and melodical. The music there is impressive for the timelimit.

Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:04pm

wow. Gives me a "One Finger Death Punch" meets "Rhythm Heaven" vibe and I'm very much into it. The music is exceptionally high quality, the corresponding enemy arrangements are enjoyable to play, the amount of levels is surprisingly large, and the overall level of detail and polish here is spectacular. Incredibly well done.

SoloDuoTeam says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:17pm

I am so happy I have encountered this game. I loved game as Cytus and I easily fell in love with this one. Have you a twitter account?

Arnage says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:10am

Most relevant comments have already been made, so I'll just add: great game :)

Tuism says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:00am

Holy crap this is awesome, is the music all yours??? That's amazing. Sir you are seriously talented.

The juice and the sounds are all fantastic, I really enjoyed it all.

The knight as a different attack pattern is really awesome. LOVE IT.

Fishing for constructive criticism, I think maybe the timing of the hits are a bit off? Not sure. I tend to pride myself on rhythm games, but this one feels off on the beats. Really not sure.

Draknek says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:38am

My only annoyance is that when you hit the button late, graphically it looks weird that the enemy isn't hit when you're reaching over/through them to hit that specific spot on the ground: the visuals clash with the gameplay.

Other than that though, good job!

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:46am

Amazing ! Congrats the concept is really cool :) I definitely have to try finish all this levels.

Madball says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Wow! I've seen some rhythm games, and this is a great addition. The idea is not too complicated, but it's fun and challenging. And I love animated backgrounds!

Seems like it's not your first rhythm game for LD. Consistency is good, but this game doesn't really fit the theme. You can just redraw all the sprites, and it'll be a completely different theme.

I found a bug in your post-LD version. Sometimes (I think when I pause and unpause with escape) the music stops for me, and I can't play any track at all. Even the lag calibration turns off. Well, I can play a level, but there is neither music nor enemies present. And if I munch, I get glued to the ground.

Also, it would be nice to have a downloadable version of the game. It takes too long to load.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 4:19pm

@Madball: Thanks! I looked into the bug you encountered with the audio stopping and it looks like it's probably due to the flash audio channels being exhausted for some reason. I've put in a flush in the menu scene so hopefully that shouldn't happen anymore.

Native builds should be coming soon as well.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 11:49am

well done one your compo entry! i really enjoyed it a lot! :)
really entertaining and refreshing!
congrats!

randoman says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 3:24pm

This is amazing. I wish I could give more than 5 stars to the audio of this game.

kerotan24 says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Really simple and so much fun, the songs are AWESOME.

m43c0 says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Best game ever played on any LD. And the music.. THE MUSIC!!!!

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:52am

Best. Music. In. LD.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:54am

This is astounding, 5/5 in every category! This wasn't the most profound experience I had during LD, but it was certainly the most polished, most complete, and most fun.

pixzleone says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 7:31am

Reeeallly coool!
The music is great, the simple graphics are great, and the gameplay is great!
I love that you put in the lag calibrator so I could adjust it manually.
Good job!

Sep 13, 2015 @ 7:55am

Awesome! was so addicting and polished :)

camlang says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:53am

Great game! I like the rhythmik game!

Demy says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:26am

Awesome game and great idea! I felt a little bit weird because I needed to predict music a little bit (flower has an animation before the actual hit and you need to press the button a little bit earlier).

chromebookbob says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:51am

Amazing music, the timing could be improved but overall great

Stending says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 11:29am

As a rythm game lover, this completly made my day. Fantastic, really!

Pierrec says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 11:46am

my favorite game of this ludum dare!
You should add a download version, sometime the web version slows down

Patomkin says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 11:53am

An amazingly executed rhythm game in compo! Fantastic!

Xanjos says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Absolutely fun and I love the fact that you also done the soundtrack yourself during those 48 hours as well (expert is ridiculously hard though). Kinda wish you could set scroll speeds to something higher than 1.8 (Since I usually play with a 2-3x scrolling speed in most rhythm games).

dunin says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:16pm

what an hard cool game!

Fanatrick says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Nice rhythm game. The graphics were just derivative works from other games, so you should really note this in the "Features" part. The music is amazing, but it's questionable to me if it was really made during the 48h period, just because it's so damn good :D

Erkberg says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 2:26pm

It's just great! Beautiful visuals and amazing music, I love it!

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:41pm

The soundtrack was fabulous! I loved it! The graphics were basic pixel art but it felt fitting for the sound track. The concept was awesome for Ludum Dare, and I loved that it had only one mechanic that was deep enough to last the entire game without getting stale. Overall, great work! The timing sometimes did feel a bit off, though even with around 50ms adjustments in both ways ^^'

Ivan Volkov says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Great Entry! Really addictive game with simple mechanics

Pusty says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 6:12pm

omg! nice! 5/5

Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Simple yet addicting. And very polished.
And the music is 6 over 5 stars

shawn42 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:14am

wow. So. much. content. I had a hard time with the timing, but for the most part was amazing! Great work.

Stexe says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:20am

Really fun. Not very innovative and it stretches the theme a bit, but definitely a well polished and interesting game. The music is great too and very impressively put together in such a short time. Great work!

Managore says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:32am

Absolutely fantastic music, and a lot of fun!

Oct 20, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Really amazing game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/wEgI5I5KLKY

Dec 1, 2015 @ 4:26am

I also included your game in an article of my favorites from this jam and added a trophy to your Ludum Dare profile!! :) http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-33-part-2-jbncejqm

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]