Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Slime's Journey

by VDZ - Compo Entry

(Updated on August 27th, 2015. For judging, use the original version (first link). For just playing for fun, the post-LD version is recommended instead.)


In this game, you play the role of a young slime on a quest to
avenge its parents, who have been killed by a cruel adventurer.



How to play:

The entire game is fully text-based; the controls consist entirely
of pressing the keys indicated as available actions.


A simple explanation of commands:

Wander - The most important command in the game. Once you choose
to wander, two random events from your location are picked and
you can choose one of them. The results can be anything from
sudden combat engagements to experience gain to receiving
damage. (You cannot back out of wandering after the events
to choose from have been picked!)

Rest - You will inevitably receive damage throughout your journey.
Resting up allows you to recover your health. However, there is
a chance you may be attacked in your sleep. Rest success/danger
depends on the location you decide to rest in.

Grow - Spend your experience points to raise your stats or gain new
mutations. Mutations are special characteristics that modify the
game rules or help you out in other ways. Events may play out
differently depending on your mutations.
NOTE: The specific mutations available will vary per location.

Item - Although by default, you cannot carry or use items, mutations
allow you to do so. Some items can be equipped, others are
single-use, and yet others do nothing.

Drop - Allows you to drop items you don't need.

Status - Displays your health, strength, defense, experience and
mutations.

Quit - Quit the game.


You win the game if you manage to enter the city and kill the
adventurer that killed your parents. You lose the game when your
health hits 0.



This game is public domain. Feel free to do whatever you want with it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#25Fun4.05
#39Overall3.95
#126Humor3.53
#145Mood3.57
#171Theme3.86
#435Innovation3.05
#1578Coolness41%

Comments

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:29am

I'm amazed you came up with all this in 48 hours.

SelfTitled says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:20am

I really quite enjoyed this, I wondered around a cave for a bit attempted to enter the city and died :)

TooMuchPete says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:26pm

This reminds me of my BBS / MUD days -- I'm not sure if you planned out the amount of lag between statements showing up on the screen, but if so it worked out really well. Awesome!

VampyVampire says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Beautiful text adventure.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Wow, that snake almost got me. Saving this to play later, I'd like to take my time. Well done, curious to see what those mutations do!

VDZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:53pm

@TooMuchPete
Yes, the 'lag' is entirely intentional. I messed around with several aspects of displaying the text (including timing of the messages, color usage and so on) to make it play better, and I found it makes a world of difference.

inurashii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:11am

This is an impressive amount of content for a compo game. Well done! I do sort of feel like permadeath isn't great for this kind of RPG, as it's frustrating to get pretty far and then die and have to go back to fighting sturdy plants. Still and all, very fun.

Logan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:27am

Heh, I really enjoyed this! I loved all the little details, like how you can equip a flower, or fight a sandcastle. I think the only gripe I have is that there's no way to back out of a new mutation if you select that, and there's no way to see available mutations otherwise. While getting vampirism ended up being a good development, I would have liked the option to refuse.

I ended up spending 111 turns before I faced the fateful adventurer. I almost felt kinda bad, dealing 90 damage a turn...

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Great game!
I played for maybe half an hour, but didn't manage to win. It's frustrating having to build all the way up again after dying. Otherwise, very fun and I could see this becoming a full-length game.

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:38am

I don't usually like text-based game but thought i'd give this a try. I got engrossed for quite a time, enjoying it more than I thought I would have. I like how the story is different each time you play it (not sure if that's normal in text based games as I don't play them). I was a bit disappointed when I died after 1 hit though, I was minding my own business on the beach, went up to say hi to a fellow adventurer and he sought to attack me. XD Overall surprisingly good. The enjoyment in this game is a testament to your writing skills.

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Really cool game. Played it for about one and a half hours (I know that you know that already, we were talking on IRC the whole time :D)

I really like the game, even with the minor flaws in terms of usability it has. It has really a lot of content and text, the writing was awesome ("The adventurer sighs, grabs his sword, and attacks you!").

I thought it must be a really awesome sight, having a three-sworded slime dodging his enemy's strikes and draining his life from him :-)

Good job!

Btw, I needed four tries to finish it, the last one taking 135 turns (but i think I was maybe a bit overly cautious, the final boss was a bit easy to beat with my final powers).

zuurr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:49pm

great entry. much more fun than i had expected it to be.

Tijn says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:05pm

This is a great entry. I had a blast playing this game and eventually (after 3 tries) finished the game in 92 turns. I continued playing after that (that's how much fun it was), but eventually stopped after having acquired every single mutation, 275 hp, 77 strength and 68 defence I decided to call it a night :P

Great job!

By the way, it works great in Mono on Mac OS X. It might be advisable to promote this a little bit more, as I thought this was a Windows-only entry by your description.

VDZ says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:02am

Game updated to version 2.

amras0000 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:51pm

The writing's decent, the mechanics relatively intuitive. My main concern is that it took far too long to get to a level where I could even think about approaching an adventurer, even with a sword, and the combat required to get to that level took a good while thanks to the text delay. Because of this, the game quickly got tedious.
The mutations mechanic was really nice, though, and actually involved the theme in a way other than flavor. So good job overall.

Enrymion says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:01am

For some reason this is my favorite game so far. It reminding me of novels about reincarnating as a slime might have to do with it. I think I played it a bit too carefully since only thing that even did noticeable damage to me was the Murderous Adventurer.

Cave going nowhere interesting, not being able to enter the sea with some mutation, child event not having more possible results, sky having only some weak bird instead of a occasional dragon or access to a new area and town not having a castle are my main "complaints" about it.

Jacktheviper says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:07am

It is impressive the amount of variety one can get out of this style of gameplay if you are just willing to put in the time.

Darkflint says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:15pm

I fucking love this game! More! I want more! I want to win against an adventure xD

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]