Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Bomber Goblin

by Sichuan - Jam Entry

Bomber Goblin

You are a minion of the Goblin empire sent to the remote reaches of the world to bring your message of destruction. Battle your way past the traps and defences of a mountain-top Monastery to deliver your payload. Sadly you've only got 60 seconds before it explodes anyway.

Controls:
WASD - Movement
Space - Jump
F - Explode

Team:
Sichuan - Programming
Cory Bamford - Art

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2134Coolness20%

Comments

Aevek says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:45am

Was the right amount of difficulty, but too often frustrating for the wrong reasons. I often got stuck on level geometry early in the level (on the stairs and at the broken wall section) for short peroids of time and the missing the deadline at the end of the game for 10 seconds. It should be said, though, that the short 60 second structure and quick restarts kept me trying again despite this.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:29am

I liked the music and visuals but everything was dark and hard to see where to go at times.

BOBANY says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:38am

Fun and floaty, the death noise of the goblin has a place in my heart!

hcosta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Really nice ambientation and epic music, lighting and textures look great. However I had some troubles to do the first big jump :P

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:13pm

The death sound is hilarious. Awesome graphics! Unfortunately, I gave up because I kept dying. XD

congusbongus says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:43pm

The game is pretty good except the controls are too floaty and I got stuck on too many random edges to finish.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:19am

Curse you flaming cannon balls!!! This is pretty fun, but the push wall at the top of the stairs is a little wonky. Nice lighting, and great music.

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:17am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]