Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

MiniGolf Endless MMO

by jimmypaulin - Jam Entry

An endless golf course for iPhone and iPad that you play against hundreds of other players! Who will top the leaderboard? You have billions of holes to play to find out!

* Endless holes of retro golfing glory
* Drive, chip and putt your way to victory
* Online "mingle player" - compete against the ghosts of dozens of others
* Share your highlights to social networks without leaving the app
* Glorious 8-bit pixel art
* Majestic soundtrack by Mr Shiver

It's golf on a global scale, who will emerge victorious?!

-------

Updates
---

1. The concept was you play as 80's golfing legend Don "The Monster" Monaghan, but there just wasn't time to add the characterisation, so please don't judge for Theme!

2. Ads have been disabled until after the LD judging ends! Enjoy some ad-free golfing all ;)

3. Due to a critical bug with the IAP, the app is having an expedited review so a few more bug fixes will be released along with this. It's impossible to maintain a post-compo/compo separation but I've not made any significant changes!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#191Overall(Jam)3.65
#272Fun(Jam)3.42
#287Audio(Jam)3.33
#288Innovation(Jam)3.32
#327Graphics(Jam)3.79
#599Mood(Jam)3.00
#744Humor(Jam)2.35
#1897Coolness32%

Comments

nic says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 11:17pm

This feels incredibly polished and is very impressive for the timespan. Simple, responsive, fun. Doesn't fit the theme but is great nonetheless.

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 3:10am

@nic thanks so much! I am way behind on playing and rating, the App Review process took half the judging period haha! Amazing comments cheers!

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Very interesting idea - it's like Trackmania Golf! Some of the art is a bit iffy (the signposts after each level and the tiled fairway texture) but the environmental art is mostly lovely. I love the effort you've put into the game's sound design - the soft thud of the ball on the grass and subtle clink of the ball into the hole feel oddly natural. I think I like the soundtrack most of all though. Great work, keep it up!

(Also, avoid developing for iOS if you can. You want to put your games on a platform where most people can play them and where you're not stuck waiting 2 weeks for Apple to approve. You'll get way more ratings early on in the LD voting period, so it's always crucial to get out there sooner!)

Dejvo says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 2:17pm

really nice and fun entry. good job!

Flaid says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Having messed around with iOS stuff a bit, I am very impressed that you got this done in a weekend! The music and sound effects were by far my favorite part, but the graphics fit nicely.

It took me a little bit to realize that all the other transparent squares were the "ghosts" of other players (not sure what they were at first), but once I realized it, I thought it was a really cool idea.

Otherwise, the blur effect on the top and bottom kinda messed with my eyes after awhile, and I didn't really like Kate Upton ruining my winning streak to tell me about Game of War (I was at the top of the leaderboard for a brief moment)... but, such is the life of a free-to-play iOS game :)

PokeyOne says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 5:52pm

great game, love that it is on ipad/iphone! I played the ipad edition and it was great. I was just wondering if you are going to post the source code at all because I have been developing iPhone apps but want to get into making games?

PokeyOne says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 5:53pm

I am also not sure how this fits the theme.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Clean execution and pretty polished! I'm assuming ad integration came after the 72hr deadline? lol

radmars says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Very lovely art style and sound design! One thing to fix is ending the "turn" sooner after the ball is basically done moving. It got stuck a few times and I had to wait before playing again.

spotco says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:58am

iphone only was an interesting platform choice, I imagine it makes a lot of people unable to play.
interesting game though, wish there were more mechanics (either in the super-over-the-top golf or realistic golf side) but lots of polish. you feel guilty at all about putting ads and IAP in a ludum dare game? :P

ps hooray sports games

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 4:12am

Wow thank you all for the fantastic comments! To answer a couple of specific points:

@Mach60KAS @spotco re direct to iPhone - yes I knew this would limit the LD audience which is a shame. In all previous LD I've done Web then ported to iOS so this time I thought I'd cut out the intermediate step! I also relished the challenge of seeing if I could get something past Apple approval process in a single weekend :D

@Flaid @spotco The game has server side components to rent so I have to monetise somehow- I hate ads too so I'm sorry but many people host their LD games on newgrpunds or gamejolt or kongregate so I've often encountered ads in LD?!

@Flaid @radmars @PokeyOne heh yes there are a couple of technical issues for sure, thanks for pointing those out. Doing my own custom physics engine is the cause of the "sticks to trees" bug gah! I removed the lower blur for the next version which I have submitted for review and will release as soon as LD judging period ends :D I'm not planning to release all the code but if there's a particular aspect you're interested in I'd happily give more details / snippets?

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:11am

@radmars I shortened this by 20% for the next update, to be released after judging ends ;) Also removed some blur and various other tweaks :D

Keehan12 says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:54pm

looks really interesting. will give it a try once I fix my iphone's wifi :)

Keehan12 says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:55pm

absolutely love the retro and indie style

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Hey all! Thanks again for the fantastic comments. Had to share this - the game just got reviewed on TouchArcade :D http://toucharcade.com/2015/09/11/minigolf-endless-mmo-review/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]