Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monstre de Coiffure

by Patacorow - Jam Entry

Show the world monsters can be pretty too.

M - Mute/Unmute
F - Toggle Fullscreen (executable only)

Code: Yotam Frid
Art: Mati & Itamar Ernst
SFX: Jason Lord and findsounds
Music: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s6BuZOYboZM

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#4Fun(Jam)4.33
#4Overall(Jam)4.41
#6Humor(Jam)4.66
#12Innovation(Jam)4.26
#22Audio(Jam)4.24
#30Theme(Jam)4.25
#36Mood(Jam)4.17
#45Graphics(Jam)4.51

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:55pm

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH so good!

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:56pm

You win.

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Superb game, everything is great about it.

gingerBill says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:02pm

This is best game I've played in a long while. Such a fun game to play and absolutely hilarious.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Amazing game.

Tuism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:05pm

So good! You guys have this :D

The only thing I want for this is to exist on a touch device, playing with mouse is just meh.

When the two heads came out... Ah! So cool! Great variations!

PoV says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Oh yes!

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Awesome :D

suppi says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:16pm

fantastic! really love the bounciness!

thristhart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Awesomely creative and well executed! What a fantastic job.

My only nitpick is a lack of good feedback -- I thought I was doing horribly until I got to the end and had 84% accuracy.

folex70 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:29pm

awesome!

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Got 330 and 82.29 accuracy on first try

Azlen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Phenomenal game, very polished, fun gameplay.

This would be a dream come true if you make it work on touchscreen devices.

lkpridgeon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:37pm

A great quick game to play with some catchy music and good looking art style.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Usual morning :o)

oxysoft says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:02pm

gg

gingerBill says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:06pm

I just keep playing this game!!!

goodolvic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Nailed it.

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Great attention to detail. Your game feels far more polished than most dress-up games.

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Clever concept, I loved the amount of variety in the game. Brilliant graphics too, with really creative monster designs.

GFM says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:05pm

OMG! The monsters became so... fabulous!

This is amazingly polished! And so funny!

Amazing job, guys!

mustaine says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Love this.

Polith Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:48am

Fabulous!

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:08am

Amazing game, congratulations.

GOTY

Bsevers18 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:26am

delightful :)

Ellian says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:53am

W-woah.
Woah.

Woah.
Shit.
Whoah.

This is SO FUCKING GREAT. SO MUCH DUMB FUN.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:01am

It was really confusing to me in the beginning, I had no idea the scissors makes the hair grow. I was looking for a wig or something

Other than that, the game is very cute! And great sound choice

JustinJ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:17am

Perfect. Amazing idea and execution.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:49am

Absolutely fantastic :D

walaber says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:20am

absolutely fantastic! each element is really fun, lots of cool interactions, and the overall charm is through the roof :)

mklee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:23am

Oh my goodness this is amazing. The little details with the eye curls and the different hair on the two-headed monster really sells the game. Great job!

Polyganz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:58am

So good but way to stress full with the time limit :D

iossif says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:17pm

exellent work!

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Music, gameplay, Wilhelm scream it's all here, it's all beautiful. Excellent job.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:55pm

aargh i wanna have babys with zis

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:56pm

I don't know what to say :D It's a great idea and execution is flawless. Just not my type of game but still :)

Tortoise says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Wow. Excellent in every way.

JaytleBee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:36pm

You won the internet

AtkinsSJ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:24pm

I knew it was going to be good from the gifs you'd shared, but the audio is absolutely perfect! I can see this winning already. :D

Dreauw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:20pm

This game is amazing !

I had a lot of fun playing it.
And the mood was perfect (I'm french btw :D)

Really, awesome entry :)

Kakureta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:43pm

This game is hilarious! I loved the graphics and it was fun to play!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:30pm

This game is absolutely fabulous! There were a few times when I wasn't entirely sure what was going on, but otherwise the originality and creativity is just great! :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:55pm

That was amazing. Really good idea and great graphics.

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Really funny game :) I love art and mood. My best score 508 :) Congrats!

Sparrow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Pure awesome. Had a blast!

Fiveathome says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Hihi ! I saw your game yesterday and I was pretty excited to try it ! Very funny ! congratulation xD

khahem says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:46am

Wow, really excellent game !

I was really surprised when the two heads arrived, great idea :)

Got 100% accuracy, I know what is my next job now.

AlexPGilbert says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:45am

I really liked this game! so much fun, brought me so much joy. Thank you. Good job

Wefiends says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:46am

Great game even though you weren't really "the" monster. Had a surprising amount of fun primping up some ugly dudes.

shelleyl says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:47am

Hahaha this is amazing! Love it. Great expressions on those monsters.

ponk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:50am

It's just perfect !

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:27pm

amazing game

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Hilarious little game, nicely done! 5/5 all around!

camlang says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Absolutely love this type of games. Great entry, nice visual style and simple mechanic. Good job!

Taldius says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Really nice idea, it was really funny and easy to play.
Good job!

Demy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Awesome idea and style. I wanted to play it since first design you posted in process.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Brilliant in all areas, it feels like a complete game!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Hilarious, awesome graphics and extremely tightly executed. Well done!

ehtd says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:59am

That was impressive. Excellent job. Have all my stars.

01010111 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:01am

I kept getting stuck after applying the mascara and lipstick on the second monster, dunno if I missed something or if it was a bug :< no one else seemed to have a problem with it!

Anyway, I watched Larry the Chupacabra's video and HOT DANG what an amazing entry! I saw your tweet earlier in the weekend and immediately knew this game was special. Awesome work! I'll check back later to see if I can play further :)

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:20am

Excellent idea and excellent execution! Also it is hilarious.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:43am

This game makes me smile, give me pleasure, thank you very much, btw I really really liked this art!

aeveis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:39am

This was pretty fun! The only problems I had with it was the hit boxes for selecting things felt a bit too precise, and scissors was a bit confusing for creating hair. I really love how different monsters made things more complicated (like 4 eyes or two heads).

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:22am

So good! Pretty hilarious

LeafThief says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:23am

It's just perfect. Well done guys!

sydream says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:43pm

This is a superb entry. Well executed, challenging enough, super humourous. I loved it, 5 star!

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Very well made with lots of nice detail.

Resonious says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:32pm

The best

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:43pm

588 points! This is really really good, in the 9 ludum dares I have participated in I have rarely seen something so original and well executed.
Best theme adaption if you ask me.

SUNFURY says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Soooooo Proooooo!!!!

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Really fun! Would love to see a post-compo version, although this version seems really polished by itself. Maybe a mobile version would be fun?

Zampi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:13pm

5\5 IT HILLARIOUS MAN

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Hilarious! Would be a great mobile game. Wish the time started over with each round - but I'm just knit-picking

BNeutral says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:23am

Simply amazing

Teesquared says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:07am

Beauty is in the eyelashes of the beholder ...

cbstegeman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Wow... I hope this one wins. Most fun ever.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:24pm

That was so funny and good!

jofra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:31pm

ahah awesome game! very funny entry

jrhee says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:40pm

insanely good, 5s all around

uvwar says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Really nice music, but everything else is superb as well!

MaesK says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Awesome game, reeeeally funny. Nice touch in difficulty in monsters with multiple heads :D

If there´s only one thing to improve... The main screenshot might not be the best to draw attention. Let these monsters show they are *fabulous* in a nice image :D

Headmade says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Everything about this games is just wonderful.

Patacorow says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Cheers everyone! We are currently in the stages of deciding where to take this little monstrosity next. Expect a mobile version soon :)

OnionBlaze says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:03am

Nice! Very well executed, love the concept and the graphics especially. :D

Zemmi says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:39am

I have to contribute to the barrage of "OMG it's so good" cuz' it's soooo good. Fucking trounced the competition.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:22pm

That was very satisfying. What a great entry. The art, the gameplay, the music. You guys did an awesome job!

-Loi LeMix.

PS don't lie, you're french.

KeyboardCat says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Really good, really fun !

Great work !

sprawl says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:07pm

That was amazing. I'm a little surprised by the diversity of the monsters !

Good job, it's a really fun game !

Slothmachine says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Fantastic! Sounds, Music and Theme make it so Hilarious!. Great addition to the make up game genre. And the small mouse actions make the gameplay really come alive. Well done!

treeman says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Amazing, hilarious, awesome. I had some trouble matching correctly. But hilariously fun.

Pusty says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Haha nice one! :D

Literal Games says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Great game, brilliant idea and fantastically well executed! 5 stars!

Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Really beautiful, fun game. I included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/qmrKCmuKBqk

chuckeles says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:35pm

This is the best game. Period.

CtrlAltTea says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Loooved it! The art, the music, it's all perfect - fantastic job!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Haha, that was hilarious. It became a bit confusing when monsters started to show up with multiple eyes and mouths. :D

dancingmad says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Ahahah great concept and very fun experience.

Druid says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 11:47am

... LOl :D Amazing game XD I am really speechless. All 5 for this!

bombjack says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 6:35pm

so much fun!

Togimaro says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Fantastic!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Well done! :)
loved the disclaimer as well haha!

that was really pleasant to play! really well done on your take! :)

Stending says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Hilarious! And beautiful!

Shaun LeBron says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 8:29pm

insanely great. so funny

OldPeculier says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Maybe the best game from LD33. Pat yourselves on your green, disgusting, pimply backs.

Sedsibi says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 12:22am

Fantastic game, great visual style with lots of humor. I enjoyed it. The only thing I was really bothered by, and it really detracted from the experience, was some significant input lag. If that was corrected this would have gotten 5 stars across the board.

Dianouille says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 9:00am

So funny ! Really fine and polish, good job !

nassi says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 11:28am

Really polished and the mood is just spot on. Made me felt like a true beautician. The rounds lasted for a sufficient amount of time and there was a good bit of difficulty in there too. Good job!

Lythom says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Almost perfect : Juicy, fun, surprising, consistent (theme, atmosphere, graphics, audio).
What imo could be improved :
- better feedback on the time left (it maked at least one round to understand that the hand is pointing the time and when it'll stop. Maybe a simple red gradient would indicate the end mor eclearly).
- better feedback on the missed elements (what was wrong).
Excellent work =)

Sep 10, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Haha, I had fun playing this. ^^ Nice graphics, and well polished. Well done!

Patacorow says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Thanks everyone, we will take all your suggestions into consideration :)

@Sedsibi: I'm not sure what you're talking about - the game is not optimized for mobile devices, so you're gonna have a hard time clicking stuff without a stylus. If that was your problem, switch to playing on a computer. If it persists, try downloading the Windows version. If you've tried everything and it still doesn't work, I'd appreciate if you could send me more details about what's causing this (OS, browser, etc). Thanks!

Obvious_San says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Greeat game :D I wrote a review (on german) about this game: http://www.dernerdpol.de/wordpress/?p=316#more-316

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 2:29pm

10/10
So cool game!

ohsqueezy says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 4:38pm

The monsters are so relatable, so the real monster must be our ideal of beauty. Isn't this what we all do?? Disguise ourselves to look like something we hope passes for human? Maybe it's just me. Anyway, this is a great game!

Sep 11, 2015 @ 5:56am

Awesome!!!!! Super hilarious. Pretty fun too. The graphics are spot on, and the variety is great.

Pierrec says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 6:59am

Excellent! You should have submitted to http://itch.io/jam/femicom-game-jam-2 too!

Ibai Aizpurua says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 10:57am

One of the best games, really unique! Congratulations!!

Patomkin says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 1:58pm

An amazing game, perfect in every way :D

DuzDuz says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:55pm

So fun!!!

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 6:58pm

The graphics were lovely, the idea was nice and the execusion was quite good. Perhaps a way to extend time depending on how good you are would have been nice, however.

deepnight says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Woah, that's a really good entry!
The idea is great and the art is top notch, well done!
The controls can sometime become a little messy because of the mouse cursor that changes to various shape really frequently, but that's not a major problem.

Good job guys!

Sep 12, 2015 @ 12:42am

Very polished, nice one!

disperse says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:57am

Great, really funny. Amazing job!

dcolgan says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 2:06am

Great super great. Everyone has already said everything.

Insality says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 4:00pm

oh, played a long time ago. Forget to comment ;)
It's amazing, the greates entry i have seen on ld, rly. This graphicss is so sweet and enjoyable! Everything is perfect (you are already know it :))

Sep 12, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Amazing game!
I've been seing it in some favourite lists and I couldn't play untill now. The wait was worth it!
It would be nice that it reminds that you did the tutorial so each start there is a different challenge!

Vladirien says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:12am

Cute game and graphics are really nice!

pixzleone says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:49pm

That was really cool, but even more funny!
Liked the graphics music and gameplay. Well done-1

WizzardMaker says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Great game, loved the music!

walsh9 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:52am

I love this game. Just everything.

AndreSilvs says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:33am

Super awesome use of the theme. Very fun to play!

Jimjam says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Mother of god, that was terrifying. 5/5!

tweedle says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:51pm

This game is hilarious! Great job on randomization as well!

Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:22am

i love this!

amazing job

Nov 14, 2015 @ 4:56pm

I included your game in an article of my favorites and added a trophy to your profile! http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-33-part-1-uzbzpjci

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]