Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

When the Stars are Right

by LTyrosine - Jam Entry

In the depths it awaits... when the stars are right.

[How to play]

Drag the mouse with left button over the monster parts to move.
Click on the mouth to use it (uses energy)
Destroy things with your claws and fangs, eat humans to gain levels and return to the stars

[FAQ and hints]

Q: I am a giant monster and can barely hold a small boat. Why?
A: Yes. You've been sleeping for thousands of years. You need energy.

Q: How can I replenish my energy?
A: You need to eat divers. Sometimes they come alone but most of them are inside vehicles, just break it and they will go out. Catch as many as you can with your enclosing arms in direction of the fatal bite. You can also eat containers from cargo ships.

Q: What is energy for?
A: Each bite cost 2 points of energy. Beside that, when you fill your energy bar you gain a level.

Q: How to destroy vehicles?
A: With bites and punches. Punches damage is tied to punch speed.

Q: What are the changes on each level?
A: +resistance +agility +strength +bite power +stars. Punches do more damage because you move faster. On later levels you will be pulling battleships with a single claw.

Q: Is this game have an end / What are those black stars in sky?
A: They are not stars and they are not black, but this is all that your human eye will see =). You win the game reaching level 11 (filling sky with stars)

Q: Is this game was made entirely in 72 hours?
A: Of course. We are in a ludumdare.

Q: Has the monster another power beside the bite?
A: It should have short range laser and telekinesis. Actually, they are implemented in code with a few more lines to work in full... but not in time.

Q: Are there any plans for a post compo version? / I would like to see these powers
A: It depends on community feedback.


Thank you and see you in LD34 =)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#46Theme(Jam)4.19
#109Innovation(Jam)3.69
#207Fun(Jam)3.52
#222Graphics(Jam)4.00
#223Overall(Jam)3.60
#302Mood(Jam)3.42
#413Audio(Jam)3.05
#542Humor(Jam)2.75

Comments

ekajjake says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:26am

Omnomnomnom.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Nice concept!

carlmartus says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Cool. Played on my laptop but does it work with multitouch?

FistBumpGames says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:32pm

I like the idea and how the movement works. The eye is also really great (:

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Spent quite a while on this, good fun, but never managed to finish :( got to 40%! Nice concept and the art looks cooool!

dregamr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Unexpected and well made, but difficult to play.

garvon says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:04pm

great idea, great execution. I had a lot of fun. Controls felt great

r8berto says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Oh man, I love sea monsters

Hippomancer says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:23pm

I loved everything about this game.

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:28pm

I found the controls to be a little hard to use, but God is this beautiful. One of prettiest games I've seen yet.

flokitall says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Fun concept and surprisingly difficult, well done!

I liked the detail put into the eye movement, as well as the ripples on the ocean's surface. What surprised me most though was the variety in enemies, I wanted to play more just to see what else was in the game.

Because the game is completely mouse controlled, quite often I ended up using the jaws instead of dragging the body. Perhaps binding the jaws to Space and using the mouse for movement only would have worked slightly better.

I made it to 30%, yay :)

Infernal says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:59pm

great game! mechanics were solid, but a little slow. there has to be a better way to destroy the black subs than smacking them but I wasn't having much luck. Tried having them hit mines and barrels but they are hard to mannouver and keep pelting me with weapons from all sides

Chadivision says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Great game! This is one of my favorites.

The movement was visually interesting and just made intuitive sense. The graphics also look very good. Nice job all around.

peecestudios says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:22am

So much polish, mmmmmmm. Polished good looking ludum dare games make me so happy

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:18am

The physics are amazing, even though it's just unity physics I loved how you put it together. Wish the monster had more power to be destructive, whole game I could only eat the divers which was kind of annoying.
Really well made but the potential was a bit misplaced, wish the monster was more powerful.

shawn42 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:54am

very fun. maybe speed up movement just a touch. nice work!

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:41am

Great concept, but the movement is too slow in the beginning. It's a real struggle to get past that point, but the game is otherwise outstanding. The graphics especially are really nice, lots of subtle detail that make them really stand out.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:42am

Crazy scary monster. Nice touch to have the eye follow the cursor. The 3D is beautiful and it's fun to control the monster. Great sounds too. Fun to play for a long time. Wow, really great! One of the best-looking, with innovative controls.

spindizzyMR says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Spent a lot of time playing this one, but it's hard.

Annoyed that I can't smite the puny human divers and destroying subs and ships feels like punching in your dreams.

I want to get to the later levels :(

Guess I try again.

spindizzyMR says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Yep tried again, I found in particular trying to get containers off cargoships incredibly frustrating, I failed over and over. So I stopped before I punched my monitor.

Very polished beautiful game, just draws me in drives me mad.

fullmontis says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:40pm

This is very fun even thouhg it is very simple. i like it. The sound effects add quite a lot of atmosphere too.

chuckeles says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Awesome game! I also like the silence (=sound design :P). It's a lot of fun.

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Clearly quite a bit of work went into the models, animations and presentation and it shows. I like the mechanic of grabbing and eating but it does get a bit tiresome after a couple of minutes (esp. when my gains are removed by depth charges again, nullifying my effort) The movements feel good, the slowness in the water, just if I hit a tiny sub with one of my claws it should still get quite a bit of momentum. Intriguing and nice.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:15pm

So satisfying.

AdayMC says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Really good work, nice mechanics and final result.

Nice done!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Quite challenging. Super fun eating those divers though :)
This could be super fun on a tablet with touch controls.

GFM says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:29pm

I really dig those graphics! It reminds me of DKC, when it used pre-rendered graphics on the SNES.

The game felt... too slow. Perhaps it would be better on a touch device, and if everything move a little bit faster...
The idea is pretty cool, though!

Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:37pm

- looks fantastic
- good use of theme
- movement was a bit slow, but pretty fun to control
- a bit difficult but i managed to bring some stars closer

Drauthius says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Very nice game. Moving the arms/body was a bit annoying at times, but quite fun nonetheless.

wallmasterr says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 9:41pm

looks nice and has realy funny physics

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 2:14am

Had a lot of fun with the game. I liked that as I progressed, it became easier to control the monster. At the same time, a lot of new elements are introduced to make the game more fast-paced. Had a very good difficulty curve, too. Thought I wouldn't make it.

Music would have been nice. Could have started with slightly more mobility. Still thought it was a spectacular game!

Oct 19, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Fun game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/sWM7EbBXpJg

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]