Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Sefydlogiad

by chameco - Compo Entry

A roguelike about obsession.

On Windows: extract the zip, run rogue.exe in the win32 folder. Should work out of the box.

On Linux: same deal, run rogue in the linux folder. You'll need ncurses installed. If you don't know what that is, you probably already have it.

Controls are explained upon starting a new game.

May good luck and hot pockets come to you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#107Humor3.61
#435Innovation3.05
#509Mood2.94
#572Overall3.00
#617Graphics2.80
#758Theme2.84
#768Fun2.55
#1713Coolness37%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:34am

A funny twist on the theme in a rouge-like environment, the gameplay is a bit simple, but luckily the game can be completed relatively quickly so it doesn't wear out it's welcome

Cynapse says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:54am

Simple, yet hilarious dialogue. I love it.

mathias234 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:19pm

I kinda like it, just wish there were an option to use WASD to move as that feels more right.

Artylo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:27pm

I really can't understand the gimmick of this game. Probably not your fault, but due to my lack of knowledge in Japanese culture.
It's a really weird rouge clone in which I'm not really sure if I'm doing combat or just walking around a series of corridors.
I'm sorry, but I feel that I can not give a fair review of your game.

congusbongus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Pretty funny :) Damn normies swarming me! I just made a beeline for 10,10

tomdeal says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Nice and quite funny :-) I like these rougelikes

FloatingGhost says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:48pm

>A new figurine of your waifu.
>Normies will attempt to make conversation with you. Ignore them.
>They merely distract you.

10/10 I like you

rogual says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:06pm

So am I like, a mentally ill person?

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:49pm

This is fun and a good twist on the theme indeed, but those key bindings that are crazy and are seen only at the start of the game - damn! I would play more and have more fun if I had them contextually hinted to me in the game, I guess.

GBGames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:03am

It was fairly easy to get to the chicken tenders. I purposefully lost and laughed at how my disturbance level got to over 9000.

A very bizarre game with very similar controls to a roguelike.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Classic rogue-like - good implementation. Humour and mood were quirky but fun. Not sure that it fitted the theme too well though.

hate-marina says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Really don't like vim-style controls :C

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]