Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Release Day

by Atridas - Jam Entry

A new MMO has been released and you know what it means!

Several hour queues! Full servers and lag! But that's not everything there is to it. Starter zones are so crowded that a single enemy gets hunted by hundreds of thirsty low levels.

On RELEASE DAY you'll be able to play as that single mob that spawns on a starter zone. Tie your shoes tight, because it's time to run from the thirsty low level players. Lucky for you, the map has some spike traps for you to use, and the GMs have left the friendly fire on ;)

Team members:
Ada Ferran @ada_ferran - Art & Music
Héctor 'HAC' @hac_pal - Jack of all trades, but art
Isaac 'Atridas' @atridas87 - Programming & design

Save the NPCs!

- Game should support game controlers or standard wsad / arrow input.
- Any resemblance to the digital world is pure coincidence.
- No NPCs were harmed during the production of the game. PCs got what they deserved.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#142Innovation(Jam)3.59
#409Fun(Jam)3.22
#420Overall(Jam)3.34
#528Graphics(Jam)3.39
#546Audio(Jam)2.70
#582Humor(Jam)2.68
#674Theme(Jam)3.25
#677Mood(Jam)2.93

Comments

bwafflecone says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Very original idea, I like having to use the traps to kill the players.

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Really nice idea, really cool game! :D

pnkthrepwood says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:09am

Cool game and very original idea! :_D

AngryRebel says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:30am

Great game, love the traps!

PIN34PPLE says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:52am

I liked the graphics a lot and I liked the original method on killing the enemies. I'm not really sure that online is the best idea for Ludum Dare as I think it makes a large portion of the game that people will never see. Good entry though!

Atridas says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:57am

Well, PIN32PPLE, the game really is not online, it only simulates to be.

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:57am

Unique concept. I love the gameplay with traps

Benjamin says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:59am

fun concept. The music is a bit too calm for the action. I like the death animation it makes ennemies looking like pawns.

Jeasonfire says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:05am

Very cool graphics and a good concept.

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

cjke.7777 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Very nice. Can't believe you did multiplayer in a jam, so impressive!

Denis347 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Cool idea, fun game!

Lady Beardo says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:08am

Very clever!

Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:33pm

This game is actually really fun, but not much like an MMO. It definitely makes me think of pac-man.

Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:03am

Hilarious premise. The traps and enemy spawns were setup in a way that made the game easy to learn without being frustrating

reiknight says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Remembered me the expansion release of a known game, one monster for hundred of players :P.

Great work, I like the camera and the graphics a lot. Maybe it needs to be a little more harder

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]