Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Escape From The City

by miwuc - Compo Entry

Godzilla got lost, and now has to escape.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#57Audio3.74
#61Graphics4.15
#80Mood3.75
#99Humor3.64
#149Theme3.89
#167Overall3.58
#167Fun3.50
#515Innovation2.92
#1314Coolness47%

Comments

lessmilk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:05pm

This fit the theme perfectly, and Godzilla looks so cute that I can only love this game. Well done!

ovenchips says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Awww, this is so cute. I love the hand drawn art style! Wonderful. Kinda wish it was longer - I completed it on my second attempt. The fire breathing sound effect was my favourite part! Good job.

t4u says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Audio is ok. Godzilla is really cute (poor misundersttod lizard). Game is simple yet challenging.

To everyone wondering there is an end!

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:16am

How cute! Thank you for this!

Yakka says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:08am

This is the cutest game ever!

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:54pm

love the artwork. not that fun to play, but looks excellent!

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Fantastic graphics! Love them!

Big Cow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Very cute and fun! You did a great job at making me feel sympathy for the monster :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Cute game

euske says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:23am

Emo Godzilla FTW!
ところでモスバーガー食いたくなったよ。

Jani Nykänen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:02pm

That monster sprite is wonderful.

Mothdan says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:20am

Wooo I made it! Just barely. This was great, well done.

rudra says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:45am

Really liked this one, pretty fun, liked the unique art style. Good job!

MrKOHCEPBAHT says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:54am

Really like visual and audio. Nice little game.

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:15am

Ha, not bad. Did you record the audio yourself? The art and sound kind of grew on me over the game, fitting it's style pretty nicely. Could have used more player feedback, though...something to let you know when you're being hit, more indication of hitting other things, etc.

miwuc says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:25am

@wg_phancock Thanks for the feedback! I "made" the audio with abundant-music.com, so it's 99% random number generator, 1% me choosing a random number I like, removing some tracks I don't like, cutting it, and generating an mp3. I would have liked to change some instruments, but the new version of garangeband wasn't agreeing with me >:( And I didn't notice until after submission that it had added its stupid 2 seconds of silence at the end...

slowfrog says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Pretty graphics, different from your usual pixel art.
And the cuuuute "Raaow" when you breathe fire!

panda says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Yay, I made it to the forest! What a great game! I just love the concerned expression on Godzilla, as in "oh no, why aren't these people just letting me return to the forest?" Gameplay's good, we're not too powerful so even though we're this big scary monster, we can't just stay and stomp on tanks all day, we have to flee to the forest! And I love that you got music and sound effects in there, too! Excellent job!

walsh9 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Add me to the list of people who love the rawr sound.

Mykaelos says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Wow, I just loved the hand-drawn graphics, and with the music and sounds, it made it like baby godzilla was just trying to get home. Fantastic animation, and fun game!

MAnimal says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:31am

Simple and funny. Nice artstyle. Why you dont add a score points per vehicle destroy? Nice background music.

chromebookbob says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:53am

Great graphics, but where is the source??

valid4life says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Those graphics were awesome! I loved the very sketch-like look! I wish there was a way to hit the helicopters that just didnt want to fly by me. Perhaps a claw attack?

miwuc says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:26am

@chromebookbob, I didn't put an explicit source link, but it's just a javascript game, so the source is in the source of the page. More specifically, the (ugly) javascript is here: https://5d98f6f08e622c57ee8af7a560433f4c9108a2a2.googledrive.com/host/0B9sSi-B7GNAAa2dNc25KUmFMVjg/jeu.js

cicanci says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:37pm

This game is so awesome! I you a really god job! The sfx is the best!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]