Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Pusher

by mikelovesrobots3 - Compo Entry

Have you ever felt the urge to just give another pedestrian a surprise shove into traffic? Well this is the game for you!

Controls: mouse.

Have fun!


About the game:

Pusher was made in Unity 5. I created the models using the wonderful open-source Magicavoxel app, and rigged the walker characters in Cinema4d. Sounds were recorded without a mic on my iphone using the default note recorder app then trimmed with Audacity.

I've been threatening to make a game about pushing people into traffic for some time and it's awesome to have finally done it.


Learnings:

* Don't ever use cinema4d for animations because when imported into Unity the axis directions for animations are completely screwed. When animating my walk cycle, I blew 6 hours trying to figure out why my knees were bending the wrong way. So frustrating.

* Programming a state machine for cars is super fun. Another car in front? Brake! No car? Accelerate to max speed! Drifting left of lane? Steer right 1 degree. Hit a pedestrian? Accelerate wildly!

* This simple game ended up being way harder than I expected to make. Ragdolls are no joke.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#9Humor4.43
#20Fun4.10
#23Theme4.28
#42Mood3.95
#45Overall3.93
#75Innovation3.79
#109Graphics3.98
#194Audio3.32

Comments

namrog84 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:17am

freeway pileup!

handkor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:17am

This is a wonderful entry and application of the theme. Excellent job

psyduckfreak says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:17am

this is great yo laught so hard OOOh no!

Freebios says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:20am

Funny :)

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:21am

I couldn't make it 0 feet without pushing someone. Hilarious. also sorry for the mac version of my game not working, I uploaded a new one, but I don't have mac to test it, if you wanna go for another try feel free :)

Mimus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:36am

Good, I did not understand the purpose ... but I had a good laugh :)

camthestar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:38am

Pretty hilarious and lots of fun! Great job

Devon Ulrich says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:44am

Hahaha this game is hilarious! The way the people and cars go insane after colliding is very satisfying. It reminds me of Turbo Dismount.

NathanFlurry says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:47am

I have to say, best game I've played yet -- I haven't stopped laughing.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:48am

Fantastic job.

ferdbold says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:49am

I laughed, I laughed, then I shared the link.

keyle says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:57am

hahah that was awesome :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:57am

Excellent!

Chronodrax says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:10am

But, but... there no road behind us! Those cars are running towards a certain death involving free-falling into infinity !
Can we still be considered a monster if we push someone to cause a major road accident, in order to prevent mindless drivers (probably writing SMS on their phones) from driving to their death ?
Hmmm...
Ok ok I'm guilty, I did it only to hear him say "oh no" again.

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:14am

You got some great physics happening here.

Artefale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:19am

Awesome, i like push mouahahaha!!

Cynapse says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:25am

Hilarious, and I love the art :)

QuexD says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:31am

This speaks to me.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:17am

is it sadistic i found that fun?

cgmorton says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:39am

What are those sounds they're making? These people sound more like insectoid aliens in people costumes, so I'm glad I murdered them.

Suese says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:52am

You monster... It looks nice, nice colour, very complete and polished. Is there any win scenario?

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:00am

This was a blast. I had traffic going for days

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:06am

Hilarious!!! when a guys feet got stuck in the railing i busted out laughing. its so hard win.

walaber says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:07am

wonderful :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:31am

@suese The win scenario is kind of cheap. Just don't push anybody until you make it to the finish line.

jk5000 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:37am

Hilarious. Great job.

uthamon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:22am

Great game, never thought I would have to hold the urge to push someone under the car. :]

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:27am

This would make a great "idle" mobile game. I loved the art and OTT physics!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:39am

You don't need to do anything to win right?.. But that's too f**kin hard :D Nice game!

TwixtorTitan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:02am

Best hand icon I have seen in any game :p

jorgemoag says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:08am

Hahahaha this game is hilarious!

Miltage says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:27am

If there's one thing I love it's rag doll physics and massive car pile ups, and you sir did it very well.
This is why it's taking me so long to finish GTA V.

"I blew 6 hours trying to figure out why my knees were bending the wrong way." Your characters don't even have knees! Lmao.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Really cool graphics. Great game, and it was really hilarious. Had a fun time with this. HOw did you make the ragdolls? I never new how >_<

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:27pm

@miltage Ha. They did have knees at one point. My early walk cycle was awesome! But after the cinema4d fiasco I just animated it in unity.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:28pm

@Flygamer101 I made the ragdolls using unity3d's ragdoll wizard: http://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/wizard-RagdollWizard.html

If you've got the bones setup right, it's not too bad.

OadT says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:32am

Hahaha, really funny idea. I also love the audio!

randomhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:47pm

5/5, would push innocents into traffic again.

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:25am

Very nice entry bro!!
1 - It is pure fun.
2 - This kind of entry makes Ludumdare worth.
3 - you are a shame.
4 - you are nuts.
5 - I will play it again.

jwin says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Apparently I'm a huge jerk just because I pushed a couple people under speeding cars.

Simple idea, well executed, and pretty fun. I love the "woah" sound effect when you push the people.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]