Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

FTLOL

by team_ftlol - Jam Entry

DEAR PLAYER
=========
Thanks so much for coming by! Please, make yourself at home. If you like, leave us a rating. Definitely leave some feedback; every bit of it is helpful, praise or criticism. <3

CONTROLS
=======
M to mute, ESC or Self Destruct to quit. Mouse for all else. Drag inside list boxes to scroll them.

Best played in fullscreen mode. On web, click the blue box at bottom right.

HOW TO PLAY
=========
When a problem arises, select items from your cargo monitor (top left) and add them to the repair staging monitor using the '>>>' button. Check the projected outcome display at bottom right. If your selection fills any one of the meters, "OK" will appear, and you can safely press "ACCEPT".

You may press "ACCEPT" with a partial solution, but it will decrease the life of your ship. You may not make it.

ABOUT THE GAME
===========
FTLOL is a journey through space. You are the artificially-intelligent steward of a colony ship set for the Ryan system, whose primary cargo is some 20,000 meatbags in cryo-sleep. This is going to take a couple hundred years.

As problems arise, you need to improvise solutions using the ship's limited stores. ALL CARGO IS FAIR GAME.

NOTES
====
We had a lot more in mind for this game, but hit a number of serious issues on the coding side that slowed things down. The content producers were top-notch, building a library of art and sound at breakneck pace. Mildmojo deeply regrets getting so wedged on things that should've been much easier. Number of serious Unity bugs encountered: 2.

Thanks to Kentucky gamedev group RunJumpDev.org and developer SuperSoul.co for hosting the jam and connecting us.

...

Made in 72 hours by the FTLOL team:

GAME DESIGN:
=========
... Bill Adams
... Drew Van Camp
... Jason Mize
... Lucien Mize
... @mildmojo
... MOONBASETOM

CODE:
====
... @mildmojo

VISUAL ART:
========
... Bill Adams
... Lucien Mize

MUSIC & SOUND:
===========
... Drew Van Camp

TEAM MALCONTENT:
==============
... MOONBASETOM

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#211Humor(Jam)3.45
#245Innovation(Jam)3.39
#310Audio(Jam)3.28
#622Fun(Jam)2.93
#634Mood(Jam)2.97
#770Graphics(Jam)2.84
#830Overall(Jam)2.87
#1055Theme(Jam)2.27

Comments

9.ar7k says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:26pm

hmm. not sure what this had to do with the them. good start on an interesting concept tho.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Put enough people and everything's solved ;)
Congrats on the entry! It's too bad you guys ran out of time to fine-tune the gameplay.

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:05pm

I threw kittens at asteroid to stop it from hitting me :D

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:07pm

interesting idea...also not sure what it has to do with the theme...also I think furniture should be able to plug up a hole in the ship ;)

blurryroots says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Interesting spin on the theme. I can see why I would be considered a monster, after having stuffed a hole in the ships hull with 21 humans ;)

bombjack says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:12pm

for some time, I thought I had to solve everything with cookies, fuel and furniture... then I realized that there was a scroll bar O_o felt stupid. Game is fun anyway :)

team_ftlol says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Thanks for giving it a try, folks!

@ZzCalvinzZ, @9.ar7k: The theme might be a little subtle. The encounters are designed so that you're *really likely* to sacrifice people and kittens in terrible ways to achieve your goal of making it to the destination. You probably don't see yourself as a monster, but surviving colonists probably would (if there are any).

Unept says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Note to self: don't fix the frayed wiring with the ship's fuel. Nicely done! I'm not very good at it though.

Aaranos says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Fun game, I like that it's replayable and allows options.

Crosstales says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Funny entry! But where's the monster? Anyway, keep it up!

glimaleite says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:57pm

I kinda see the theme in the game, I mean, you can throw kittens at asteroids, thats something. I think the concept is pretty interesting. Good job guys!

HThomson says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:21pm

I like the audio and retro monitor displays and liked how you could use slightly off the wall solutions to problems. It would have been nice to have been given some sort of feedback about each solution, such as: "The 20 kittens conduct electricity surprisingly well" or something along those lines.

Another nice touch would have been to have received a play style at the end such as "Hero", "Techie", "Tyrant", etc, that reflects how you handled the problems.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:38am

I really liked the sounds and writing. The game was pretty hard to read and manipulate at first, but was WAY better once I full-screened it. It took me a while to figure that out. Also, I was pretty confused by "PROBLEM SOLVED: F!". Did I fail or not?

team_ftlol says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Thanks for playing & posting, @Unept, @Aaranos, @Crosstales, @Glimaleite!

@HThomson: Great advice. We had plans to describe player solutions like that, but it didn't make it in. Player classification based on play style sounds awesome. <3

@TwoScoop: Thanks! Yeah, it was designed to be played fullscreen, the UI didn't account for small windows/devices. =/ "SOLUTION GRADE" would be clearer language than "PROBLEM SOLVED".

-mildmojo

SamH says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:33am

Nice entry despite the initial boring looks. I found myself replaying more than I should, until I understood all puzzles :)

To anyone wondering where is the monster: you are the monster.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:20pm

I did not make it :(

Interesting mechanic, though somewhat of a departure from the theme (Unless you throw kittens at the asteroid). Punishingly difficult in that mind scratchingly satisfying way.

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Mase says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:05pm

whoa whoa whoa, I make it to the destination with 47 years to spare and suddenly I'm "the monster" ? I should've jettisoned more of these ingrates!

Um, anyway. Very amusing concept for a game. I wish it was more dynamic or challenging though...; it's not very interesting to just keep a meter filled.

OnlySlightly says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:07am

Loved the humor that arises when you realize that using humans is necessary to plug holes in the hull etc. The audio was oddly satisfying. I loved hearing the 'Problem Solved!' noise. Great overall look and feel as well. Great job!

Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Really interesting game, I enjoyed it. I included it in part 26 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/3UFkqjoD81E

Wertle says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 10:27pm

I really enjoyed this because I'm terrible at management games so only having to make one decision at a time with no time pressure was great for me ;) I enjoyed the potential for silly options (like stuffing towels in a hull breach). The fun in this game came from seeing the results of attempting silly things, however i never shot people at the aliens or anything like that because I'm too much of a goody two shoes. I guess if you want using people up to be inevitable, you could extend it to use all resources but that might get too long so the joke doesn't hit. I still liked that you had lots of options, though, because it made me feel like I had the ability to experiment with stuff. Nice work!

Gaius Baltar says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Fun game. It seemed that every problem was solved by throwing humans at it though.. oh well

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]