Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Jeff's choice

by nyxkn - Jam Entry

Jeff's choice

Jeff finds himself in the middle of a conflict, on a remote planet.
He thinks he knows what he's doing, but things might not be quite what they seem.
And so! What will Jeff do?

Dev note: I am aware of a few bugs with the collision system, please bear with it :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#455Audio(Jam)2.96
#456Humor(Jam)2.92
#823Graphics(Jam)2.74
#909Mood(Jam)2.54
#916Overall(Jam)2.74
#962Fun(Jam)2.44
#1045Innovation(Jam)1.89
#1056Theme(Jam)2.26

Comments

Jani Nykänen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:51am

Not bad. I like those monster sprites!

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Funny! It's really easy to get stuck in the ground though.

Sep 6, 2015 @ 12:15am

This game features one of the most nuanced morality systems I have ever seen in a video game. I am simply blown away.

Jawesome says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 12:30am

Not fun, not themey, funny, bad.

Blobo says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 12:58am

Very lacking visually. a background would've been nice.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:46am

That jumping sound was rather amusing. Those death animations were very well done though.

kidando says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 3:44am

some cheerful music while destroying aliens. Pretty slick. The death animations were neat.

Josh Riley says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 3:49am

I really like how finished out this is. All of the sounds/animations/etc. you would expect out of a full game are here, which is saying something in a three day jam.

A couple of thoughts on the gameplay:
-Maybe there should be a reason to not always be shooting? Ammo or Recoil Maybe?
-The way enemies are spawned is a little frustrating. Each time I died it was due to an enemy spawing directly in front of me. Maybe they could either fall a bit slower, or spawn further in front of the player?

philomory says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:19am

I really liked the environment art! I didn't hear any audio, though other commentators mentioned music.

Daukan says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 9:14am

There is some issues with the physics in this game. When moving verticly you clip through walls and end up inside the tiles.

undefinist says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 9:36am

Very fucking weird.

Graphics don't match at all. Audio doesn't match. Nothing is consistent, and there's no motivation for me to keep moving right: I don't get it.

Sep 6, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Not very original nor well balanced, yet i liked the energy there ! :)

Sep 13, 2015 @ 2:13pm

A fun little game, arrows and space bar seems simple enough for controls (and it's how the good old 2D PC games used to be!) but the up-arrow-to-jump got a bit confusing at times.

Also, what's the motive of the game? There's no indicator for score, and you die from one touch.

Overall, a nice little game with a well written web player engine and funky music. Well done! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]