Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Saturday Morning Destruction

by roaringcatgames - Jam Entry

As a monster, destruction doesn't always come naturally. So in the 80s, it became popular for young monsters to learn the proper destruction techniques through the power of dance. Many a morning were spent by young monsters watching the proper techniques to destroy. You must make sure you provide a great show to teach the next generation how to become the best monster they can be.

You can play solo, or vs another player.

Controls:
Player 1 - WASD
Player 2 - ←↑↓→

THE DESKTOP VERSION REQUIRES JAVA TO RUN.

This game was built with libGDX, and the Ashley ECS. We learned the Ashley ECS with this game, so it did slow us down a little. This means we didn't get time to fully design the song timings, so the notes don't always matchup with the beat :(.

Programming: Barry Rowe @barryrowe
Art: Loi LeMix @loilemix

Music was found on OpenGameArt.org:
Intro: Yubatake
http://opengameart.org/content/80s-tv-theme

Song 1: BossLevelVGM
http://bosslevelvgm.com/
http://opengameart.org/content/hoverwhip

Song 2: FoxySynergy
http://opengameart.org/content/cluster-block

We participated in an in-person jam hosted by @GameDevLouKY

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#94Humor(Jam)3.77
#339Graphics(Jam)3.77
#344Fun(Jam)3.31
#401Mood(Jam)3.30
#407Theme(Jam)3.60
#489Overall(Jam)3.25
#661Innovation(Jam)2.83

Comments

vivavolt says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:54am

Loved it! The monster's animations were great.

team_ftlol says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:20pm

YES! hahahahaha

ok, so I can't stop laughing as I play it. it's literally making me tired (guess that makes it a simulator).

basically, this is stupid fun and I absolutely LOVE the music. how much music is there? I stopped during the second round but it felt like it could go forever.

this wasn't the kind of WASD controls I was expecting. totally took me by surprise and had me rolling.

thank you for making this. (:

— Drew Van Camp

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Loved the art and idea! Your use of the theme was great and so was the music.

ripter says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:02am

It was fun! The graphics brought be back to the 80s. Great job!

glerikud says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:07am

Interesting thinking for applying a game mechanics like this for this theme. The music was good, but you should change the controls from WASD to 4 keys that are in the same row on the keyboard.

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:09am

Add me to the camp that didn't expect this kind of WASD! Simple, but endearing, and rather funny. Good work!

MagentaGames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:23am

WOW guys, beatiful animations! Congrats from Brazil

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:29am

Very funny premise and really cute graphics to go with it. If don't know if you intended it to or not, but the beat of the music didn't match the moves in the game; this confused me a little as I had a tendency to try and hit on beat like in other rhythm games, and the beats were incredibly pronounced in the music. Other than that, worked find. Had some trouble with W vs S, but I'm guessing that's just something you'd get muscle memory for after repeated plays.

RoundFork says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:45pm

hehe. That was a lot of fun :) good job.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:16am

Glad everyone is having fun with it!

glerikud - We considered a single row layout, we ended up going with the WASD and arrows to make two player easier. This may very well have been a mistake.

dalbinblue - You are correct, it doesn't match up. We ran out of time toward the end to properly time-out and design the levels. We wanted more than just quarter-notes, and we wanted to match with the beat and drops of the songs. We just didn't get there :/

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:27am

Not bad, but it would've been cool if the keys were in time with the music :P

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:53am

So much win!! stars!! Starss!!! Good job!

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:08pm

This is awesome! Best monster workout simulator ever =)
Great job working on this!

SamH says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:10pm

I agree that WASD is a weird choice and I keep confusing W and S. But it’s part of the game, after all. Otherwise, nice theme and graphics, it’s great that you managed to finish a complete game.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:39am

funny animations and music. controls were all that confused me but it was a fun game anyway :)

yajiv says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:51pm

The animations are great! Nice game :)

GraciCebola says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Hahaha that's fun, great art ;D

Flaid says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:26pm

I like this game a lot. Maybe its because I also did a rhythm game with arrows, but I thought it was very well done! I managed to play both monsters simultaneously.

fABULOUS says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:28pm

It was fun and very polished. I wish the theme didn't feel like something you just draped over the top of the gameplay. The game was distracting from the graphics.

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:40pm

I played it with my kids, they had a lot of fun!! Congrats for your entry.

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:44pm

The animations/art was amazing. I also liked the plot alot. There didnt seem to be any way to lose though?

Coac says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Haha cute graphics, good job :)

TackoramaLtd says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:09pm

This is very stupid and I love it.

Antokolos says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Funny game!

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Great game! : )

DrZanuff says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Funny art! Loved the music!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Only complaint is the same as a few others have noted, where the beat doesn't really seem to match with the button presses. Really cute and well done otherwise.

Lady Beardo says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:14am

<3 Fantastic animations!

mubox says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Good graphics. ^^

Is it impossible to loose?

Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Great entry - loved the music and graphics.

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Monster Rock Jam? Dance Dance Destructolution? Awesome. You did such a great job on this.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:38pm

The animations don't seem to go off every time, and no penalty (or notice) on doing the wrong thing. Would have been nice if the background got destroyed while pressing certain keys, instead of just a bit here and there. Anyway, good entry.

Nurbs says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Cute graphics but the gameplay was a bit bland. There doesn't seem to be any repercussion to mashing the buttons to get more score.

Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:51pm

- looks awesome, i was really excited to play this one
- great concept
- nice to see game that supports 2 players
- key prompts didn't seem to match up with music very well, this is really crucial for this type of game.
- i had the same problem as others with the awsd keys, I kept pressing the wrong button, would be better if they were keys on the same row
- it was hard to tell how well i was doing

Jelinib says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:36am

Hilarious concept, and faaaabulous art!

I can't always get the "next level" to work. Usually I just get thrown back to the main menu. I got to the 2nd level once, but never again. I was on the web build and using Chrome, if that makes a difference.

I also found that I'm able to hit a button repeatedly while the move prompt passes through the "do it now" line, and points register for every time I press it. I felt I was cheating doing this, because I'm pretty sure it was intended to be like DDR, where you only get one chance to hit each key at the right time, and if you miss, you miss.

This may also just be me, but I perform better when I'm in two player mode (by myself), and looking at player 2's up/down/left/right prompts instead of player 1's w/a/s/d prompts. I tended to mess up with WASD prompts because to me, "D" registers as a middle finger key (because that's how I type in the ASDF position), but when my fingers are in a WASD position, middle finger lies W or S, and I press the wrong key. Derp!

I think this would go better for me if player 1's prompts were shown as ←↑↓→ as well, even if still triggered by WASD. This is more about tricking me into directional thinking, where "forward, back, left, and right" are more familiar concepts to my fingers from movement in FPS games.

Overall very nicely done, love the style, and that music really gets that monstrous work-out going!

superfreak says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Adore the art on this :D control system took me by surprise to start with but once I was used to it it was a great deal of fun. Seriously good fun with a great aesthetic!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:41am

I love the way you are using the theme! Really cute and polished, good job! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]