Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Madboss

by HappyHour - Jam Entry

Meet the Boss. He's a bit of a psychopath and is rather lacking in the empathy department. Put yourself in the shoes of a corporate madman and kick around, threaten, and eject employees out of the building with the power of his designer brand super punt!

HOW TO PLAY:
*Game is Flash-based, so please allow/unblock Flash!*

ESDF/Arrow Keys = Movement
Z or J = Kick
X or K = Jump
C or L = Megaphone "You're Fired!"

***** Special Move! *****
Down, Forward (Hadoken Input!) + Kick = Super Punt

1. Harass office workers as desired. When you're done with that..
2. Yell into the megaphone to threaten unemployment. Kick them around while they are on the floor begging for mercy!
3. Kicking employees while they're still down will keep them there longer.
4. Use the [ Designer Brand Super Punt ] while they're crying to literally kick them out of the building.
5. Super Punting crying workers into other crying workers will make them explode!

<< Creator's Disclaimer >>
This is my first solo jam and unfortunately I ran out of time to do everything I was intending to include. That being said, there's no real objective in this version. :) Consider it an incomplete, buggy proof of concept and have fun!

Also, don't kick around your co-workers in real life!



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#78Humor(Jam)3.89
#171Audio(Jam)3.58
#192Graphics(Jam)4.07
#436Mood(Jam)3.26
#481Overall(Jam)3.26
#500Theme(Jam)3.49
#516Fun(Jam)3.07

Comments

JoJoX says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:50am

Didn't manage to test the super kick. The animation are so smooth. Well done.

Reyn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:57am

Aaah, the boss monster, didnt even think of that one :) The art and animation is excellent. Just a shame there is no objectives there (I'm sure my boss would disagree). Maybe use the company $ revenue as score :P

MonkeyToast says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Really nice artstyle, gotta love those retro graphics! Also, the idea made chuckle!

anotak says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:28am

i'm fired

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:42am

I got the concept and I liked it but I cannot play it, the link only have the instructions and a picture and nothing more.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:59am

Awesome graphics, I love that art style. Great mood too!

Frump says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:59am

Very stylish. The controls and everything feel good. I would have liked to have seen a more complete version. Nice work

Lady Beardo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:42am

Good proof of concept! I really like the art style.

nka says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:53am

Typical day in my office lol. Cool concept!

grywhttl says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:04am

Loved the super punt!

walaber says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:07am

really fun (and funny)! i like combo-ing workers into each other :)

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Really lovely colour palette and I love the drums on the soundtrack

P.T.A says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Good Graphics and animations, also nice sounds!

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:07pm

We love this game. We laughed a lot. Congrats

congusbongus says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Shame you didn't finish but what you have here is great! Very funny and the mechanics feel great. The player looks like such a smug asshole! I really hope you use these assets in a future game.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:16pm

I'm fired. Where are the sindicates? I think that some enemies would be awesome to the game. The mechanics and gameplay are perfect, and the graphics are great but I need some goal to consider this an awesome game. But nice concept and try to improving it ;-)

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:01am

I love this. A great REAL LIFE SIMULATOR! Great graphic and funny gameplay, well done!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:46am

Liked the music and graphics, the super punt only seemed to work sporadically though. Also didn't feel like I was working (see what I did there) toward anything in particular. A goal or lose condition helps, but the mechanics here are solid, so a good start!

dpisarcik says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:46am

Couldn't test! I was unable to play using Windows 10 with Firefox (which works with every Unity LD game I've played)

NoahbroCZ says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:07am

Beautiful graphics and awesome animations. Please check my game too: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=45415

HappyHour says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:31am

Thanks for all the comments and feedback!
If time & chance allows, I'd love to expand on this with a post-jam version. :)

Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:52am

Nice animation :)

Shame you didn't get chance to implement a goal - I think it could be really fun! Good use of the theme too!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:55pm

You can see on his face how he's having so much fun kicking and firing all these employees, ahahah. Love the pixel art and music on this. You're fired! :D

Sparrow says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Fun game, graphics are awesome and music was good even though it was kinda opposite the situation. :P

You should definitely expand on this. :D

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Pretty funny game, beating down your employees is kind of fun. Then you start feeling bad.

ilikescifi says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:17pm

oh wow nice art!

Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:03pm

The art and animation is lovely, but it really lacks an objective; something to aim for, or even some way to lose. Good work!

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:52pm

it reminds me my boss :) very nice graphics

Dianouille says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:34pm

So funny x) ! Sometimes I get stuck in the air when I jump (it's over when you try to move). Anyway it's great even if I feel kinda bad for the employees hahaha!

Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:17am

Hahaha super punt the shat out of all the workers. Regional management is going to hear about this...

Great job!

-Loi LeMix

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:33am

Nice and smooth art, good music and sfx. Shame there isn't an actual goal. Cute idea. Liked the super punt :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]