Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Dictator Simulator

by Simonaiso - Jam Entry

You are the Dictator of the Great Nation of Gorgonzolia and you must hold a speech to convince your people of your greatness! But the people have a certain preference of leadership... What should you say to your people? Adapt your speech to the reactions of the audience, and win!


FYI: Google Drive has tiny download button on top, centered. I couldn't find it at first. So here's your tip.

NB.: For audio, the voice is own work. The menu music and the audience sounds are from other geniusses on the internet.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#38Audio(Jam)4.09
#53Humor(Jam)4.00
#218Mood(Jam)3.55
#245Innovation(Jam)3.39
#350Theme(Jam)3.67
#388Fun(Jam)3.24
#500Overall(Jam)3.24
#528Graphics(Jam)3.39

Comments

Arnage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:26am

Great concept and I love all the voice work.

Also thanks for the credit, I barely helped out, so I didn't think I deserved that :P

ALobker says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:32am

This game showed me that I would be a terrible dictator. There goes my plan for world domination....

Reccy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:39am

Awesome game, the dialogue is very funny :)

WizzardMaker says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:40am

Really funny Game, Good work! The file is a bit huge I must admit...

WASDMagician says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:50am

Not quite sure how that matches the theme ;)

Good idea though, fun to play.

I'm not entirely sure what the crowd actually wants, they don't want a strong economy but they go nuts for all out war, wtf people!

gcrsaldanha says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Wow!
Full-stars for innovation, definetly! :)

Raspadsistema says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:36pm

To be honest I rarely download LD games and prefer the ones which are playable in browser, but had to see this one. It had great atmosphere at start, lines are quite funny, but was a bit disappointed in that its hard to find logic behind what crowd wants, at times it seems there is none but I may be wrong. Well done overall, one of better entries.

Simonaiso says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Thanks all for comments and rating!

@Reccy: Yes the game is big, probably due to the uncompressed voice files ;) Hope its not a big problem for people.

@WASDMagiciand and @ Raspadsistema: You are right, it is difficult to find out the logic, but I did not want it to be too easy. The writing of the sentences might use some improvement I admit.

Simonaiso says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:44pm

I meant @Wizzardmaker, not @Reccy ;)

Louspirit says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:58pm

It wasnt very fun, and we dont really know what choices have impacts on the end.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:25pm

I love the dialogues. Hang them by their testicles! :D
Too bad that we don't have a more visual feedback on sentences. I have a hard time to decide if the crowd reacted "positively" to my sentences or not.

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Great concept!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:16pm

I was horrible at being a dictator... So now you know absolute power wouldn't corrupt me! Gimme, gimme!

Found a little bug. Spamming a speech button gives and error of sorts and ends the game abruptly.

Otherwise a solid effort, leans on trial and error too much though. Big points on presentation.

Jod says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:59am

One man, one vote.

Ryusui says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:18am

Hilarious. Though I can't quite seem to figure out the logic behind what will and won't get my audience to applaud.

Also, holy CRIPES this game is over 700MB unzipped. That's a lot of hard drive space for a tiny little game like this. I do think the voice samples are a huge part of the game's humor, but was there any real REASON to use uncompressed audio, especially when the dictator's speech is almost gibberish?

BeardyBard says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:35am

I was a magnificent dictator in this game.
Is it also funny to be a dictator IRL?
Shoulda try it.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:47am

Neat idea! It didn't feel particularly game-ish, but the story and voice acting was funny. I appreciated it! It didn't resize to a non-widescreen aspect ratio, so I lost some of the dialogue, which was a bummer. Also, it seems you could keep clicking buttons after making a decision, which threw up some errors.

derr says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:40am

The music at the beginning really sets the mood and I love the barely-understandable speech. Also the evolving dialogue added some nice replay value to the game.

Sep 6, 2015 @ 5:55am

It was funny enough, basically a pick-the-right-answer game. Do they ever start booing? That would have been good to have to break up all the cricket cheering I was getting.

Rovinion says ...
Mar 28, 2016 @ 4:22am

This is fun to play...try and guess what will please the people...or see how badly you can fail

Although, might I ask who did the menu theme?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]