Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster is Life

by hdong - Jam Entry

In this simple text game, you play as the monster of your choice. While you carry out your insignificant and imaginative story, you choose pathways that may either lead you to heartbreaking, bizarre, and hilarious endings. Explore the wilderness and cheat death.

Requires Python 2.7. Get it here: https://www.python.org/downloads/

The post comp version fixes bugs. Thanks nihilaleph!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#38Humor(Jam)4.10
#212Theme(Jam)3.84
#597Fun(Jam)2.97
#634Mood(Jam)2.97
#748Overall(Jam)2.97

Comments

valid4life says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:58am

Great game for a new programmer!
Good job HDong!

wdias921 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:24am

Hdong creates a visceral, yet quirky take upon the theme and does so with grace. Looking forward to seeing more work from this guy!

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:07am

I really like it

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:55am

When I try to load this, I get a confusing message. Not a web game, then? What is needed to play? Python? If so, what version?

Zenkerdus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:07am

You get a full rating on humor

hdong says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:57pm

@Crowbeak
Yes, this game requires python 2.7. Sorry we didn't make this clear; it's been added to the description. Thanks for the feedback everyone!

Quadnozzle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:49pm

I've been meaning to get python on this computer :P This was fun, I always loved choose-your-own-adventure books, and this fits the theme nicely. Some great writing (although not always grammatically correct, ie, "What if the human was not kill."), and it seemed like there was a lot of content!

I enjoyed it!

bw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:10am

You should compile this to an exe, so more people can play it.

Actually, you probably could have done this entirely with html.

aucguy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:24am

My favorite line is 529; the one with the bus. Not sure where that even came from.

Reyn says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:37am

Welcome :) Looking at your code the next thing you want to learn is data structures. If you like interactive fiction have a look at http://twinery.org/

Dizzly says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Great, it reminds me of the first thing I started coding :)

FloatingGhost says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:03pm

But what if ludum dare was not kill

nihilaleph says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:47am

Great game! Keep learning and make more awesome things!
I crashed when I choose line 707, also I couldn't choose the line 650. It should be easy to detect what's wrong ;)

Grahhhhh says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:02am

That got crazy quick! Which means I loved it! First play through, I threw a school bus at a meteor, brilliant!

hdong says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:53pm

@nihilaleph
We've fixed the bugs and updated the link. Thanks for pointing it out!
Again, thank you to everyone for your kind words and support!

ajayajayaj says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:22am

Great! But there is a glitch where you cannot choose choice 3 in the german thing. it says "You can't choose '1' or '2' you idiot" when there is a 3rd choice.

hdong says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:07am

@ajayajayaj
Did you download the post-comp version? It should already be fixed there.

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:22am

Nice job!

euske says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:07am

Had a good laugh. Nice game.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Somehow I became a Twitter famous Yeti :P This was a pretty fun entry and some of the dialogue was quite humorous.

Cosmologicon says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 12:00am

Nice, I'd never seen an interactive fiction game with a tutorial before. Tons of different paths, though the style got a bit inconsistent because of it. I recommend Ren'Py if you want to keep making IF in Python. It's pretty popular and I hear it's easy to use.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]