Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Caring Creature

by stupidmindlessf - Jam Entry

‚ÄčThis is our entry to the Ludum Dare 33 Game jam following the "You are the monster" theme.

You are the monster for some - for others you are the world. Take care of your babies, catch munchy ships and feed them. Watch out for the spears, once you die your babies are helpless.

Controls: Mouse to pick a direction, left mouse button to swim into that direction.

Jump out of the water to eat the ships - once eaten, swim to the nest and you will feed babies automatically. Repeat until they grow up.

Code and design by Stupid Mindless F. - We are two Berlin based Ex-AAA devs. Follow us on twitter @stupidmindlessf are @freejsf & @DarthCoder

Art by @bernddiemer

Soundfx and music by @almutschwacke

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links




Jargo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:13am

All the fish are supercute!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:30am

I love puking on my babies!

Electron says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Fish designing is good

orange08 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:08pm

i really enjoyed the graphics and movement but i cannot for the life of me figure out how to save the creatures at the bottom from dying

sprawl says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Solid game. I really love the artstyle and the simplicity of the controls.

Two things bugged me since everything next to it was so good looking : The puking particle system and the hit harpoons sometimes not touching the player model.

But these are just small things, did not hinder the experience a lot. Great job !

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:07am

@orange08 yeah we now figured it's not quite as self explaing as we thought. Here is a gameplay video that shows what to do:

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:09am

@sprawl: you are right, polishing the puke particles was something planned since Saturday but never made it due to more fundamental stuff.
The harpoons not hitting the creature was a last minute "fix" when we learned the game was too hard for most people, we changed it so harpoons can't hit the tentacles.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Really nicely done! Loved the Catfish!

FiSilva says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:42pm

These may be my favourite graphics so far. The fishes all look very cute
Also nice idea and funny, eating and puking is fun

Lucho9 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:12pm

i love the design and sounds. it wasn't easy to know what to do at the start, unfortunality, i let the children die. XD but it was cool

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:31am

I love the style of the game. You could try to increase the spawning rate of the ships. I had problems finding ships to feed my babies. Good work!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:02am

Catfish rules! You made a really good style game. And I like your simple gameplay, because it easy to learn and no annoying.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:01pm

I really Love this art style and the design of the creatures!
I had some issues with controls, I was difficult to sometimes go down or change the angle, it didn't seem to always follow my mouse correctly. Still there is something very endearing about this game :)

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:00pm

The sounds are relaxing. We love the catfish at the studio and plankton!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Awesome graphics! You really made the art unique! Was a bit hard to eat, most of the time the ship only sank to the bottom. The music was a really nice addition as well! Great game!

Rocketship says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:23pm

I love the serene atmosphere and the children's book-esque graphics. It's such a calming experience even with the harpoons. The gameplay did get a bit repetitive in the end but I enjoyed the game a lot still.

kaitokidi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:34pm

cute design ^^

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:04pm

thanks everyone for playing and all the warm words. Since everybody seems to like the art so much. Check out @bernddiemer on twitter. He is posting stories drawn on post-its using in this style.
You can also by his books on amazon:

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:48pm

link seems to be broken. please fix it.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:17pm

@voidstar: just tried it and it worked...?

killersnoofie says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:11am

very nice graphics

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:57am

Ack, they keep dying, ahaha. I loved the art style nonetheless. :D

Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:20am

Haha, it's super awesome! Congrats!

vikpek says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Since I'm a Duchesse Ariadne fan already my opinion is no objective at all. But who cares. Game is fun and art style is killer!

vikpek says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Since I'm a Duchesse Ariadne fan already my opinion is not objective at all. But who cares. Game is fun and art style is killer.

Biruts says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Sparrow says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Excellent, bit confusing at first but I like it. Graphics and Sound are awesome and match eachother.

Pomb says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:50am

The fish are really funny, and I love that you made mouse noises for sound effects :D The collision was acting a bit strange sometimes.

6DownStudios says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:24am

Great entry! Love the art and sound style, juxtaposes hilariously with the immersive ambient music and makes for a unique mood.

Ship-catching is tricky at first, but quite fun once you get the hang of the physics-just the way I like it. Munching that triple-threat ship was especially satisfying; to dodge all those harpoons and stick the landing is no easy feat!

scorched says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Neat style! Don't get though what direction I must jump for ship to be eaten for sure and not destroyed

tomhunt says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 4:24am

i liked the graphical style and the music

ohsqueezy says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 5:03am

rad drawings and sound, nice subtlety of bizarreness

Oct 8, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Lovely graphics! I included it in part 31 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :)

You must sign in to comment.

Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

[cache: storing page]