Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Be:ComeMonster

by duduuzera - Jam Entry

Prepare to face waves of monsters while trying to mount a disguise and perhaps survive.
How to play:
The game is turn-based combat. To win you must defeat the monsters that come and conquer parts of armor to put together an outfit. There are 3 sets of clothes with 3 parts: helmet, chest and pants. Each monster has its own set, when you complete a set, you win the game!
Each round you get 10 action points. You can use these points to attack or defend. Both options have three sub-categories: high, medium and low.
A high or low attack will spend all your points to cause damage on the enemy, but the monster can defend with a high defense or low. If you and the enemy use the same option, points are subtracted and whoever loses is who will take damage.
Example:
You perform a high attack with 50 points, the enemy makes a high defense with 30 points, the enemy will receive 20 points of damage. Both players lose all their points of action.
In another situation, the enemy makes a low attack with 40 points and you choose high defense with 70 points, you missed the defense, getting 40 points of damage, but keeps the 70 action points. The monster loses all its points.
Medium attack or defense medium spend half points, but always hit causing half damage, or block half of the enemy damage.
In addition, by defeating an enemy, there is a chance it drop potions that will help you during the game. There are 3 types of potions:
-Life: Recovers part of your hit points;
-Attack: Increases your damage in the next round;
-Defense: blocks half the damage you receive this round.
But beware! If you use a potion, you can’t attack or defend that turn.
If you lose all your life, it's game over and you have to start all over again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#428Graphics(Jam)3.58
#604Audio(Jam)2.53
#748Mood(Jam)2.81
#763Innovation(Jam)2.71
#774Theme(Jam)3.11
#823Humor(Jam)2.19
#850Overall(Jam)2.84
#920Fun(Jam)2.50

Comments

r8berto says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Cool (BTW You should check the web version link).

peecestudios says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:07am

fun game, more polished than most. Noice job

Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:17am

It wasn't always clear what was going on. There's some text that flashes but it's too quick to read? And when I click a button it doesn't seem to do anything, but stuff happens a few seconds later?

Graphics were good though (to nitpick, some of the UI assets seemed a bit blurry, but that would be about my only complaint). SFX were nice, music wasn't bad but didn't really seem to fit in.

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:13am

This kind of gameplay kind of worked in online browser games, but in single player it's not very fun. Even if each monster has an unique strategy, it's still feels like a guessing game, which isn't fun at all.

Another problem is UI. End of round is done badly: after I clicked both defense and attack buttons, nothing seem to happen for a short while, then some text is show VERY briefly and I'm left wondering what just happened. This should have been really easy to fix even with deadlines...

Also, I suddenly won after defeating two opponents and seeing the third one for a few seconds?

All in all, this is simply not fun in its present state, thought graphics are nice.

Also please note that web version does not work (prompts a download of weblayer.html).

iossif says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:17am

i think that you did not move the project into the public dropbox folder. i can only download the html instead of the game starting.

duduuzera says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:34am

Thanks for feedbacks, webplayer has been fixed

Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:10am

- didn't run in chrome, worked find in firefox
- good intro, graphics look really good
- kind of hard to figure out how to play, you need to help players know what to do. so when player needs to be clicking high/med/low attack, higlight those buttons
- im just randomly clicking stuff, beat the first monster i think but im not sure
- feedback after clicking buttons seems too delayed
- music is a bit repetitive short loop
- im trying to lose on purpose now to stop playing but i can't even seem to do that
- ok... i guess i beat it? cool end music

tGiant says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:33am

Very good game. Well polished and fun.

LewisChaplin says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Like the game. was fun to play! Good Job.

LewisChaplin says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:29pm

very confusing, was good when I kind of worked out what was happening, same kind of comments as @Slashee the cow

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:51pm

I like the games with turn-combat. This is game is very solid for a jam, and maybe some more animations would make the game a must. I like the variety and the progression, good job!

Xanjos says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:37am

Interesting concept but the UI feels pretty cluttered and there's no clear indication of whether it's the player's or enemy's turn.

Brightstar says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:52am

I had a hard time understanding how to play. Graphics look great. Sound FX are good. Main music is repetitive.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]