Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Corruption

by MapleQuest - Jam Entry

You suddenly find yourself in a strange world with a shadow creature as a companion. Your shadow grows with power with every passing second, determined to corrupt every creature in this forest. Seek purity before it corrupts you completely. The purple orbs heal the corruption and will revive you if it overtakes you.

Control:
WASD or Arrows to move
Space to Jump
Q or Z to Dash Left
E or X to Dash Right
J or C to Dash Attack

Kev Bourque - Programming
Larissa D'Aguiar - Art and Animation
Mat Solomon - Music and Sound Design

August 24th - Fixed some sounds not playing properly
August 25th - Fixed one more sound bug, and added alternate controls.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#396Mood(Jam)3.31
#477Audio(Jam)2.92
#495Graphics(Jam)3.46
#637Theme(Jam)3.30
#677Overall(Jam)3.04
#727Innovation(Jam)2.75
#867Fun(Jam)2.59
#926Humor(Jam)1.81

Comments

Halleflux says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:32am

I liked your interpretation of the theme. I found it cool that the monster kept evolving as you died, though it didn't really go anywhere, from what I could tell.
The controls are a little weird, though. Also, I had no idea where I was supposed to be going, though I did finish the game.
Great graphics, too. =)
Well done!

Razoric says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:57am

I love the artstyle!

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:07am

Actually first classical style platform I played today. Thanks)

neuroaktivo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:26am

i like the mood the monster creates.

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Kinda good, it has something.

KodingNights says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Great sound and music. Cool art style! Gameplay itself was not too original.

khahem says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:03am

I wanted to try it but it didn't load.
I put an error log here if it can help you: https://gist.github.com/kmichel/5d893724f6376dbd2b7e

mmango says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:11pm

I can't get it to load either. I was able to launch it once, and the music started, but then it abruptly cut out. When I refreshed the game I only saw a black screen. From what I heard the music was nice though.

MapleQuest says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:45pm

It's fixed now, sorry about that!

It was late and I was tired when I did the August 25th update with the extra controls, and I must have overlooked something.

khahem says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Great art, music and sound effect.
Jumping up was sometimes a bit finicky but I still reached the end, I found the level design intuitive enough to naturally end there :)

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:18am

A solid game. Fighting flying creatures is really frustrating, though, and half the difficulty comes from the fact that you can't attack and remain in place, and the said attack often carries you forward into falling.

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

MRvanderPants says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:17am

Loved the art and music!

Pusty says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 7:56pm

No clue whats going on but it looked nice :D

jwin says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 6:01am

Very cool, I really liked the hand-drawn graphics!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]