Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

BLACKFESK

by LeClaw - Jam Entry

Take control over the legendary giant sea-monster, the BLACKFESK, and wreck ships, planes, dinosaurs, mechs and vikings!

Can be played with Xbox 360 controller or keyboard. Use the controler sticks to move BLACKFESK's arms about. Use L + R to launch yourself into the air and L or R for rotation. Also, you can double jump by pressing L + R in mid-air.

Keyboard:
A: Rotate left
D: Rotate right
A + D: HYPE!!!
A + D (in mid-air): Double Jump
Arrow keys: Move tentacles

Now... Wreck some SHIPS!

Contact: contact@konradventure.com

Soundtrack: https://soundcloud.com/konrad-petersson/sets/blackfesk-ludum-dare-33

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#21Fun(Jam)4.08
#31Audio(Jam)4.14
#79Overall(Jam)3.90
#83Humor(Jam)3.86
#88Graphics(Jam)4.37
#110Theme(Jam)4.02
#137Mood(Jam)3.74
#167Innovation(Jam)3.52

Comments

LeClaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Check out: http://bckman.itch.io/blackfesk for post-ludum updates :)!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Loved it! At first I had no idea how to move or do anything but after a bit of trial and error I was leaping in the air with my arms waving about killing things with my awesome moustache. The conversations were a great touch too, overall it was super cool!

pereubu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Really nice game, the concept is great.
I definitely think the controls can be improved but there's a nice Vlambeer vibe in it :>

Lee1121 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:41pm

The controls aren't the best and there isn't really any challenge, but I loved it regardless. :D
(Great soundtrack by the way)

radmars says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:43pm

wowzers! This game is hella fun, and feels great to play! Really slick atmosphere and the art is beyond adorable. The camera work is also excellent. I played with keyboard which was a little hard to get used to, but it works well. I do wish there were some enemies that presented a real scary threat that you might have to avoid or take out specifically. It also seems like my HP never went below 75%. That being said, really awesome game! Take all my stars you magnificent bastard!

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:00pm

There few similar ideas. Bud this one is most fun

UrbanHelsing says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Nice everything

pixzleone says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Awesome! I really digged it, tho a score counter would have been nice, and it was very hard to die ;)

Headmade says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Oh my the music blew me out of the water! The best song I've heard this Ludum dare.
The graphics were awesome as well and the game was fun overall.
However I had trouble with the controls. Using an Xbox controller the movement of the tentacles seemed inverted. and flapped around but didn't have the feeling of really knowing what I was doing.
There also seemed to be no goal, so I lost motivation to continue. Dying turned out to be a challenge as the game seems to be a bit to easy.

But these are all minor points really I really think BLACKFESK is a great game. Good job!

5k0d says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:58pm

HAHAHAHA, great game, although the controls are a bit crazy and the tentacles make no sense. it's all about WRECKING. Oh yeah and there is no challenge at all. But still hilarious. I enjoyed it a lot.

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:43pm

i love the graphics and aninmations nice game enoyjed playing

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:31pm

This was super-fun! Liked the infinite number of submarines hiding in the deep.

sergicollado says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Great music and graphics!

uheartbeast says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Awesome!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:55pm

OMG Great idea! One of the funniest and most entertaining LD games I've played. On top of that, the art and audio were fantastic!

Bravekat says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Hello if played your game it's amazing so I made a youtube vid for it hopefully you like it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pXCAsYGquOA

Maramasa says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Super awesome game! High level of polish in all aspects, great job :D

LeClaw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:31am

Thank you all so much for the positive feedback and constructive criticism :D! We appreciate it a lot, and it really warms our hearts to get such praise!

CrownCity says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Everything looks good: Art, audio, gameplay. Really good job.
Only after a while I didn;t really know what to do anymore other than jumping around and hitting several boats. Missed something like an achievement.
But overall great job

DarkwindMedia says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Nice moustache. The flavor text was great. Unfortunately I was so focused on playing that I didn't get to read the conversations. I also enjoyed the variety of vehicles thrown at you!

I felt that snapping the camera to an explosion was a bit too jarring, especially when it was off-screen (ex. when something you hit goes flying and hits another thing in the distance). The controls (keyboard) seem a bit difficult, but I got a bit better at them as I kept trying.

Overall very nice, lots of polish in the Jam Version!

paracatgames says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:34am

Neat game! Clever idea going with a sea monster. I also loved all the different enemies. Controls were a little weird, along with how the camera snapping to exploded enemies. And it needs some real challenge too! (I only played the jam version so I don't know if these aspects were changed.)

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:16pm

This is ridiculously awesome! The physics, animations and even the looping main music is really fun and silly. My only grip is the controls, I don't think having the trigger buttons control the super jump and the rotation, especially since for me whenever I charge I also rotate at the same time.

guoboism says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:15am

Nice graphics! The atmosphere is decent!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:46pm

this was fuN!!

Vem says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:58am

Skövde represeeeeeent ;)

FireTwin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:03am

Best music I've heard in a Ludum Dare game. So catchy. Not to mention, those graphics are stunning, something about the colours/effects you used really make the game pop out from the screen! Loved the satisfying crunch you get when destroying ships and other vehicles. Just needs work on the controls a bit. Great basis for a game though.

DrZanuff says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Solid entry. Art and music pretty good. Fun gameplay and innovative controls!

wallmasterr says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 9:45pm

realy nice pixel style , a lot of humor and grate sounds, top marks all round

Sep 11, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Where to begin - AMAZING music, fun and playful game, made me smile... well done! I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/fxtKngYPsCg

Aiursrage2k says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 2:58am

Great game watched jupi play it.

Dec 1, 2015 @ 4:36am

I also included your game in an article of my favorites from this jam and added a trophy to your Ludum Dare profile! :) Sadly, I am unable to put a trophy on your profile as it is private because you have not posted anything! If you do post something in the future, please email me with the subject line Ludum Dare 33 Trophy so that I can give you the trophy!! [Jupi@JupiterHadley.com] http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-33-part-2-jbncejqm

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]