Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Kaiju Down Under

by Hippomancer - Jam Entry

New Zealand is pissed. They've unleashed a colossal kiwi in downtown Sydney. Humanity is doomed.

KEYBOARD CONTROLS:
W - Jump/Poo
A - Left
S - Egg
D - Right
Left Mouse - Fire
Right Mouse - Run

GAMEPAD CONTROLS:
Left Stick - Movement
Right Stick - Aim Head
A - Jump/Poo
B - Egg
Right Trigger - Fire
Left Trigger - Run

The downloadable build is more stable than the HTML5 build.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#54Fun(Jam)3.93
#80Humor(Jam)3.88
#197Overall(Jam)3.64
#218Theme(Jam)3.83
#310Audio(Jam)3.28
#311Mood(Jam)3.40
#468Innovation(Jam)3.07
#542Graphics(Jam)3.37

Comments

trashmob says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:32am

Very cool :D

RiverAndRun says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:38am

Nothing out of the ordinary but still was fun playing. I liked the comedy aspect. Well Done and I hope you will do this again. :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:40am

Wow, this was certainly something.

I really liked the doodle-ish art style and sheer ridiculousness of the situation the game puts you in. But what I REALLY liked was the music.

Unfortunately, the musician's name in the credits is the only one that doesn't link :(

Overall good job. As with most rampage-ish games, it gets pretty hard to see things when things get hectic, but I never died (got close) and it wasn't all that bad.

I also really liked the little Kiwi egg thing, it really set it apart from what other Kiwi-based and Kaiju-sized games tend to do. That being said, the only other game I know in the genre is Kiwi 64, and that one was shooting for a bit of a different spin.

Good job!

q2k2k says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:02am

It's an ok concept, but I did enjoy running over everything hah! Who doesn't like pooping on things?

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:25am

I wish NZ's defence force was this good

tweedle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:15am

Best game I've played so far. I feel like you guys had a lot of fun making this, and it shows. Great work all around.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:30am

Nice!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:04pm

I think i've mastered the art of the "Australian Tank-Throwing Reverse Poop Shot".

Taking what the internet says about the land down under, such specimen might be roaming the outbacks somewhere.

Really fun! It takes a while to get challenging and sometimes it's really hard to differentiate foreground from background, but I really like it!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:06pm

I knew australian are driving on the ride side.Didn't know they're also driving on roofs! :p Nice job

mattthehoopy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Heh. I like the logic behind taking the least monstrous creature possible, and sending it on a rampage xD

corupta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Very good game and cool idea. Sounds and graphics are pretty fancy. Loved the controls, and shooting all those tanks around.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Great feel with the controls. I feel I would've liked the wall jump to go a bit higher though.

hammerfrenzy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:57am

That run cycle is hilarious

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:22am

I am a New Zealander. I laughed, I cried and I had an amazing time. Funniest and the most fun game I have played so far. Beautiful, just beautiful! :D

Cloudeyes says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:37pm

good game but too much happening on the screen

DarkwindMedia says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Funny! Played pretty smoothly. Graphics could use some work. Audio was decent.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:19pm

I have played almost 100 games so far and this got the most stars so far. The 3 of you did a really great job!

TiByte says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:35pm

I really enjoyed this game. Nothing to say here just: This game is awesome and now I want to have a Kiwi ;)

Galan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:27pm

I enjoy this one more than I should have. The controls were a bit weird, but once I got used to them they were stupid fun.

Meta-link says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:10pm

GOTY. Nice concept, good gameplay, funny arts and music, good job !

duskpn says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:27pm

That was awesome! Great idea, smooth controls, great attention to detail! This is my favorite game so far!

Aun says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Very nice game, with a lot a rhythm.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Luckily I live far from New Zealand, I wouldn't like to experience the attack of a massive kiwi :D

Really cool game, I digged the humour and the graphics. Congrats!

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:03am

The background are nice. Play as a kiwi is so original.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:55am

Really nice art. Incredibly fun!

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Very nice with great graphics too.

adsilcott says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:54pm

The game was incredibly fun and funny. A destructive Kiwi is pure genius.

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Pretty good! The skill needed to win the final boss battle wasn't necessary to learn until then, but besides that, good difficulty curve.

JoeProgram says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:33am

Really fun - lots of cool powerups and options. Having building climbing be so easy felt great. I didn't understand right away that having baby kiwi meant I could sent them to jump attack.

ToloaGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:23pm

out of the 70 or so games if have played and rated this is the most fun! I also really like the humor!

Ryusui says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:42pm

I've never had this much fun stomping through a major metropolis as a flightless bird before. XD

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:53am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Sorry, I poo'ed all over the place. heh.

Fun and very destructive.

-Loi LeMix

dawik says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Loved it

Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:52am

A lot of fun, great graphics and an interesting take on the theme.

OnlySlightly says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:58am

Everything felt right. It was so satisfying causing so much damage to the MS paint style city. The aesthetic was beautiful and consistent. As the game went on I kept on discovering new mechanics that filled me with glee. Discovering you can great mini kiwis was great, and then I realized you can launch them at helicopters. Being able to pierce the helicopters and shoot them at other helicopters was awesome. Great game!

ghostlyguru says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Fun & interesting game. I enjoyed the art and the gameplay. pooping is always fun

Brightstar says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:55am

Great graphics and sound. Silly fun.

bombjack says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 10:42am

ahahah... fun!

superfreak says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 11:27am

As a NZlander I appreciated this game oh so very, very much. 5 stars.

Sep 11, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Found this game funny and awesome. I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/fxtKngYPsCg

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]