Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Blood, The Monster is You

by mikethingsbetter - Jam Entry

This is short horror/thriller story created in twine. One of my first experiences working with twine. The story is not appropriate for ages under 18. With high warning, this story contains dark content and maybe unsettling to some readers. It has no affiliation with any events or real people. The entire story is fiction and should not be taken seriously.
This was created as part of the 'You are the Monster Jam' to highlight some of the narrative techniques for approaching delicate content.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#381Mood(Jam)3.32
#383Theme(Jam)3.63
#947Innovation(Jam)2.37
#961Overall(Jam)2.68
#1842Coolness33%

Comments

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:05pm

I enjoyed reading though this, it would have been good to have a few more choices to help engage the player, but I appreciate you were trying to tell a story to fit with the theme. Well done on your first LD!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:02am

Thanks a lot! Was really trying to expand the choices but its just doubled and tripled the workload at each choice. Some firm planning needs doing next time.

eddynardo says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:37am

The story was interesting and had really dark content.Nice one!Enjoyed this!

nassi says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 11:12am

Played trough it a few times to see most of the content. Somewhat disappointing that my choices didn't seem to matter all that much, but I guess it's no wonder since the setting only allows for a few rooms to be explored. The story, while short, was pretty interesting and in my opinion well written.

Paul Sinnett says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 11:04pm

This was a good use of the theme.

Chaosmore says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 12:24am

Second twine entry I played with the protagonist starts off with an amnesia for no reason.

Flaid says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 1:54am

It was a pretty decent story, but I was a little bummed that the different choices didn't lead to different outcomes.

Sep 11, 2015 @ 5:21am

- interesting story, I was riveted
- good take on the theme
- extremely linear, needs more branching to be called a proper game. even just one off things a player could examine for extra detail.
- multiple endings would help, at least a good and bad ending
- art was a good idea to help grab the player but doesn't match the story. maybe I missed it but I don't remember anything about a rose and it doesn't seem to make sense in the context

BlackQuiltro says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 2:45pm

I liked how well written it is and the use of the theme.
Needed more branching to really make it interactive (if it is too linear it is not really a game!)

athaclena says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Very descriptive story, I have a lot of clear visual images while reading through it. It feels like it wants to be bigger than it is, but it's a really good start.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]