Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

You Are The Münster

by piromline - Jam Entry

You are the münster, but not a monster. Not yet, at least...

Left/right arrow keys to move. SPACE to jump.

Runs fine with Chrome (v44 and up). Seems to work with Firefox as well, but display is slightly garbled.

Everything from scratch, except the physics library (Matter.js).

Tools:
- Aseprite for graphics
- Sunvox for background music
- Sfxr for sound effects
- Tiled for editing the levels

Enjoy!

-- A game by Les fromages qui puent (merwaaan & myself)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#82Humor(Jam)3.87
#235Theme(Jam)3.81
#261Overall(Jam)3.53
#364Mood(Jam)3.33
#478Fun(Jam)3.12
#564Audio(Jam)2.63
#568Graphics(Jam)3.31
#576Innovation(Jam)2.94
#1897Coolness32%

Comments

BeardyBard says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:24am

Excellent game. The subject of the monster is opened very well. Sometimes when you play that on the ground sprites have a graps.

NikB says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:51am

Nice little game. The engine has some problems with collisions and the level seems a little bit too repetitive, but overall it's definitely a solid entry.

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Fun take on the genre and theme, but the difficulty setup was too oldschool for me. If nearly every jump is rather precise and, when missed, leads to death or falling down (both meaning have to do a section again and again) combined with the floaty way you move on platforms and the occasional bug where it doesn't jump, it gets frustrating.

Don't get me wrong, I like this thing which is all the more why I was annoyed by the way it wanted to impede progress with early NES like exact jumps with fatal consequences. Collision with spikes is also rather biased towards death. Still good, but just too fickle. (I got to the part after the cave)

fullmontis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:26pm

The controls are too slippery for the amount of control required for the platforming! It was very difficult. But the short checkpoints mitigate some of the frustration. The idea behind it is fun, I like it!

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:49pm

I enjoy the name of this a lot. The game itself is fun too although the platforming can be quite finicky, especially when caterpillars are involved.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:03pm

"How do you call a Londonian cheese?"
"Why, it's Westmünster!"

The yay:
- the punomenal premise of the game!
- mockers that'd later taste the revenge
- neat graphics

The nay:
- gameplay feels too slippery and collisions seem unfair
- bugs - when they strike you, you are invisible and then might random-ishly die for whatever reason
- the mockers' speech bubbles covered one another
- I don't really know if the spark things have any purpose aside from bragging rights

Pretty solid, but gameplay needs some refining. ^^"

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:01pm

The controls are clunky. Too slippery to make accurate jumps. The art need to be fixed too, lines from irrelevant sprite frame is showing.

hate-marina says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Damn slugs! Hard as hell :)

Darkflint says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 5:34pm

How would the child of pac man and mario look? Like You are the Münster! :D Really nice, but then against i realizied i am not an jump and run player xD But very well made, good points for you :)

radmars says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 4:47pm

probably need to do some integer conversions for tiles, looks like theres some wiggle to the rendering.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]