Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Chips

by derugin.s - Jam Entry

We monster adventure in the store, but we need to be afraid of the guards.We need to eat garbage which is thrown out by security guards to reach the second form of our monster. In the second form, we need to frighten security guards. The purpose of game to frighten as much as possible security guards. w,a,s,d - movement, the secret key "T", scroll mouse is zoom.
Creators:
Karabkou Dzianis
Arseni Halvinski
Roman Multan
Matusevich Maxim
Sergey Sinyavsky
"Antanariva" Anna Kuntsevich
George "THE_GEORGEOUS" Shevchenko
Derugin Sergey (aka derugin.s)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#410Graphics(Jam)3.62
#590Audio(Jam)2.58
#628Theme(Jam)3.31
#716Mood(Jam)2.86
#810Humor(Jam)2.22
#977Overall(Jam)2.65
#1055Fun(Jam)2.19

Comments

3CGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Lovely looking game! The environment is cool. Couldn't work out what to do once I transformed though.

teknic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:58pm

run around and get dead by cops? playable, but not much of a game :/

StrideWide says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:59pm

I am not entirely sure of what I am supposed to be doing in this game, but I enjoyed plodding around all the same. A large amount of assets in this game, and they all look pretty good.

kingpirux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:01pm

you did the graphics? The controls are too anoying, just to start the camera should be in the far top view, there is no use to be close, also it will be good to have some power not to kill but to hide, tackle, something to do more than just running around

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:01pm

I got a toy story feel from this game for some reason. Scared the hell out of me when I got to full rage though !

Komradus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Really cool setting. And solid design on the monster. The sounds were somewhat imbalanced though, soft music and loud effects.

Cosine says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Hmmm interesting setting what was that? Also when I ate a lot of chips did I level up or win? After I (leveled up?) I could neither die nor level up again. Very cool overall and somewhat creepy in an odd way.

Deadpan-Gamez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Really cool environment and models, great job!

evandaley says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Wasn't sure what to do

Birke says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:10pm

I could not see most of the game in the Kongregate iFrame so it was difficult to play.

flokitall says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:11pm

The sound effect when at full rage and pressing Space is scary, had to turn down the speakers. If that was on purpose, well done :)

I wasn't too sure what to do, besides using the T button to change and pick up things to increase my rage. I did lose the game once after being spotted by the guards, but I'm not sure what's the objective, if there is one.

As other people have mentioned, the camera has pretty big issues. Fixing it somewhere above the level and disabling the physics interactions for it would have made the experience much smoother.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:13pm

There's a problem with the web page: it's contained in a frame which is too small, giving me scroll bars. "Cinematic mode" button doesn't work without an account. The graphics are nice. The camera is terrible, I can't see what I want to see. I'm not sure what I'm supposed to do or how my actions affect the world.

Pampattitude says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:17pm

I feel so bad it is not really playable (I fell down the platform and couldn't do anything :( ) because your ambiance and character are so great.

Lonely Vertex says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:22pm

The web player is annoying without the ability of fullscreen mode, because while I am moving mouse around to move the camera i move it outside the player and I can"t click.

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Pretty game :)

derugin.s says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:37pm

fix web version

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:23am

That was quite an interesting setting

Paul Sinnett says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:32am

Sorry I couldn't play. I get half the screen and then "plug in failure" on the web version. Playing in Safari on a Mac.

Caspila says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:39am

Game looks really really good, too bad it doesn't play as good :( Couldn't really understand the camera control and it the game that looks really pretty from up above didn't look when zoomed. Good job for a game jam though!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:43am

great concept and great audio and graphics. without reading the description it was hard to know the objective within the game.

Grhyll says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:35am

Nice commercial link when clicking on the web version...
Very cute, too bad I fall of the map chasing some garbage floating in the void :(

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:19am

I like the perspective of the game. Great job :D

Lane says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:30am

Couldn't figure out what to do, I noticed chips everywhere and figured that was an objective but the camera clipping, surreal environment and killer cops made it feel rather drab.

los.pixelados says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:10pm

That scream ... oh man ...
Nice mood you have created here :)
Probably some sounds for the transformation along with the smoke would have been great.

Cheers,
Morco (Los Pixelados team)


P.S.
why did you remove the mood category ?

superpatch says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Objective isn't clear, some items are outside map (and you'll fall down if you try to get them), assets are good and music is perfect for the mood.

Warxen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Practically a level full of assets, but no real gameplay loop to be found. I didn't like how the camera and controls worked. I also fell out of the level after a minute of roaming around.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:18pm

The web version failed to capture my mouse, which was an issue as use two monitors.
L loved the graphics. I was a bit confused about the gameplay, but I managed to scare some guards, which was nice.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Props to the modellers and animators, the models look well done!

I would prefer eating the security guards than just scaring them once you got bigger. Why do you made your monster have the ability to eat but not eat the security guard after, right?

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:30pm

I like concept to evolve. Graphics are nice guys!

Windows version don't have escape menu

peterthehe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:23pm

I must commend you on the game's environment - the sheer number of models and textures you have used is unreal.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Played the web version. It was tough to figure out what to do and when you did there was no real gameplay. Graphics were decent but I think the scaling of the objects was a bit odd. Audio was good loop was a bit short, mood was very good.

Coruja says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:40pm

The controls are a little annoying.

mzmiric5 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Interesting level design, and concept. I like the idea of transforming, but it isn't really clear what to do once you do. Once I figured it out, the sound effects were a bit too loud, and unexpected. There are some problems with the camera clipping when near a wall and the mouse not being captured, so clicking a mouse button often resulted in game losing focus.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:05pm

I was confused, but I really enjoyed the concept and the art style. Well done.

jrhee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Had fun running around, wasn't sure what to do after I transformed though!

jordinuco says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Great room and great timing, but I found the controls a little hard at the beginning, particularly the zoom of the camera, but finally I solved it

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:16pm

The webplayer opened up an ad/spam with the game; otherwise, nice job

Gigaraptor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:12pm

beautiful game, although it would be nice if the controls were explain a little better.

MADREX says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Pretty awesome you created such a game in such a short period of time. And it's really fun.

Too bad there's no music. It would've made it better.

derugin.s says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:40pm

The game has music

glerikud says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:02pm

It looks great, and plays pretty well.
The camera gets stuck too often, and that f-ing scream is too loud! It's unique and fun though.

Kakureta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:26pm

The game doesn't seem to have a goal or purpose, but I enjoyed running around in a cool environment.

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Whoo. Creepy. Like the art

9.ar7k says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:49pm

great mood and graphics. didn't really figure out how to frighten the guards tho.

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Didn't get how to scare the guards thou. overall solid impression.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Nice concept, lovely looking game. But I'm not sure what I have to do after take the full rage.

thinkFirst says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:22pm

For some reason the alert and Rage bar didnt show for me on the WEB version. Really liked the Environment but didnt see a real objective probably due to the bug.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:55pm

I wasn’t sure what to do then I fell through the map.
I like the music and the lighting + visuals look great.

Newan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Very nice job, i love the ambiance.

folex70 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:14pm

very cool

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Great game :D Graphics are awesome.

derugin.s says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:30pm

UPD : The camera and other bugs is repaired

derugin.s says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Thanks for your responses

Mikhail says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:13am

Good game

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:42am

My computer is a little too slow to enjoy the scaring parts, but the graphics were dead on, and concept was nice! Enjoyed what I could play :D

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:42am

Thank you for your game´╝üReally like the art!Good job!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:16am

You can fall off the game world :O

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:34am

I lol'd at this! I never knew eating chips makes you rage!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:56am

Graphics looked really polished, wasn't totally sure how to scare people in phase 2. Good effort.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:09am

Nice concept and style, but you need to work with optimization (too low fps on my medium device).

foxboard says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:23am

really nice! and fun! fell out of world...

spotco says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:55am

Very nice graphics and attention to detail. Not sure what the overall goal of the game is, but I enjoyed scaring the guards

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:15am

I fall from ground and can't back into game. This game seems still not complete. But i like the art though.

Pantoufle says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:00am

I think more explanations would be useful. I didn't understand what to do in my second form. I kept wandering around...
I would like to zoom/unzoom with the camera, and to look a little further as well. But third person cameras are difficult to implement. Maybe the game would be great as well with a first person camera?
Otherwise the art and music are good!
Overall I think there's something. A little more work and polish could make a nice game. Great job!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:45am

Looks lovely, took a while to figure out what to do though but none of the less it was a cool game. (Did managed to fall off the edge though!) Great stuff!

ChrisFagan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Really nice environment! Wasn't much going on though and I kept thinking I should be able to run under tables

applejam says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Very nice 3d graphics. And very nice music too. I liked playing this game, but I didn't understand how to end it. And screams of guards really scared me.

LazyPenguin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Tried playing the web version on Firefox on my Mac and it froze up real good. Could be my computer or that I was streaming at the time.

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Stunning visuals. The controls were decent, although I think placing the camera slightly closer to the monster to give you a better view of what's directly in front of you would be nice. Overall, very well done.

Artsuom says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:25pm

I liked the setting and mechanic for changing form, the table-turning idea, suited the theme well. No clear ending though, which was not so cool. That kind of made the second form feel less useful.

Dizzly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Nice models, nice settings. I did not undestood how to win though.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:32pm

l

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Sorry about the l post, i meant to say looks good, i however managed to run out of the world through an open wall

kmiitz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Cool idea and graphics. Too bad for the lack of structure in the gameplay, I didn't know what to do after I leveled up.

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Cool game, camera got stick behind walls quite a bit though. But overall nice look and feel!

kgabis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Gameplay is not very obvious, I ended up falling from the map...

fermenter says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:17am

Looks really good, but idk what I was meant to be doing. Ran around and away from the cops, made Lays chip bags disappear, um!

Slapunas says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Didn't really understand what I was meant to do apart from roaring at random people. Needed some sort of objective :D Nice graphics, music and setting though.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:34pm

I love the look of this game! It is fun to just walk around. The aesthetic is quite nice, though the camera is occasionally frustrating. If there's a win state, a lose state, or a way to actually scare the guards, I couldn't find it.

Heissayen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Controls were too annoying, wasn't able to do much...
I also disliked getting sent to an ad site through the web link.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Funny game, I liked both the art and the audio on this one. Good work!

Patomkin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Camera is too restrictive for my taste :(

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Quite plain and empty..
Nice graphic btw and idea, but a little too slow and boring..

derugin.s says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:00pm

For all you guys who liked the graphics here's an online 3d monster model (left mouse click to orbit, middle button scroll to zoom):

https://sketchfab.com/models/0768ce31cf3e45fbb4d605f1220b9ebc

And thank you all for the appreciation!
We sure have some bugs but we hope to fix it over time. Unfortunately we were limited it time to make all the ideas work, sorry. Consider it as an alpha version for a bigger project)))

bradur says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:47pm

A little confusing, but nice looking graphics!

aaronsnoswell says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:38am

Great work guys. I love your idea but I also couldn't figure out what to do once I transformed. Did you really make all the assets in the 48hrs? That's awesome.

Pomb says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:12am

weird as hell but I laughed so hard when you transform!

noom says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:30am

I herded a bunch of guards into one spot and the scream blew my ears off.
10/WHAT!?! would go deaf again.

psydack says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:54am

Can't play on web > Account suspended

Darkflint says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Played the windows version because the web-version isn´t avaible anymore.
Game does look nice (only a tad to dark), but camera is hard to control. I screamed a lot after transformation, but at one place i had 10-20 guards at once, who didnt leave their place? Screeming doesnt help either.

Mossy Frog says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:33pm

I quite liked the game, the graphics were cool.

Tough the camera was a little to high and I didn't see the need to collect the trash as I could transform straight away.

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Your web link says that your account has been suspended. :(

AlexSet says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:00am

Very good graphics! Would have liked to be able to see monsters front.

SiMouth says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:01pm

The web link redirected me to some sort of phishing page.
-> rate 0

Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:42am

The game mechanics aren't very obvious, I had to play 3 games to get the graps of them. Otherwise, pretty nice graphics and mood.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Really cool game! Loved the character models! :D

Big Cow says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Wow amazing work on the graphics. And good music change when in trouble. Atmospheric music and lighting overall mood is great.

block97 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Easiest lays farm of my life.

AlexFili says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:21am

While the game is far from finished, it does have some nice features to it. The animation isn't a full cycle so it does jump from one keyframe to the start of the animation which isn't smooth. The lightning effects are decent enough and with some effort this could be great. Didn't notice any of the garbage or other characters.

Dunric says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Gj on the game.

janiq says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:40pm

The graphics is very nice but I quite don't get what to do in this game. I ate the chips and run from cops than I transformed and run around scaring the cops.

jofra says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 3:25pm

The game could have some more objectives instead of just scarting the guards because that can be a little bit repetitive :s (but this is LD! all the games could have more to it)

The graphics and the mood are very well done! i and loved the second monster form and his walking cycle!
Gj :)

radmars says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 4:36pm

mouse kept poping out of window, maybe locking it to the screen would help. gfx looked nice

superfreak says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Love the graphics, got super confused quickly but laughed at the transformation and forgot why I was confused. Great job. Enjoyable little game!

Druid says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Well.. Graphics are nice. Models are pretty and fitting! Controls were little floaty and gameplay curve unbalanced. But still, i really enjoyed this game!

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Crazy game %)

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 4:54pm

The game has a good atmosphere. It is another revision of pacman mechanics, but with a lot of care. Nice entry :-)

deepnight says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 9:38pm

The 3rd person cam is a bit too low, and it's facing too much to the ground, making it very complicated to avoid guards. You just cannot see them approach.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:01pm

The graphics were nice, i liked the ambiance, the stealth part of the game too :)
The camera was a bit off and also i felt that the monster was really rigid sometime. Anyway well done! :)

Lianne Booton says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:04am

Bit confusing, stylistically cool though, good work :)

wademcgillis says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:41am

After I transformed I didn't know what to do, but the game was pretty.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]