Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

You are the star

by SoloDuoTeam - Jam Entry

******************************
********** PATCH *************
******************************

FINALLY I MADE UP TO RELEASE A PATCH! THINGS IMPROVED:
-General gameplay (there will still a couple of bugs that arises and make the actors impossible to move)
-Added a tutorial-> finally player will have a sense of what it will happen during gameplay. Hope this helps!!!

And of course hope you have fun and enjoy this! YOU ARE THE STAR!


******************************
********** CONCEPT ***********
******************************

As an aspiring actor, you are young monster striving to be in the film industry. Now you have found your chance, after ... having get rid of the previous fake monster its your opportunity to shine!

Scare the roaming actors following the Director order before running out of film!

The Director requires them to be in different states of terror and in front of different cameras!
Its a good thing you remember a few tricks from monster university.

******************************
********** CONTROLS **********
******************************
Q : drop a chilling field that actors wont want to tread on.
W : leaves a clone of you that will scare the next person to go near it.
E : loose a scream scaring all actors away from you.

******************************
*********** CREDITS **********
******************************
Made in Unity, with the disclaimer that the assets were bought off the Unity store and are credited. For good or worse all the voices are ours. A 2 programmer project: me and Lenakeiz.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#109Innovation(Jam)3.69
#216Audio(Jam)3.49
#218Theme(Jam)3.83
#244Humor(Jam)3.36
#250Graphics(Jam)3.95
#313Overall(Jam)3.47
#436Mood(Jam)3.26
#544Fun(Jam)3.03

Comments

Lenakeiz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:08pm

You are truly a SSTAAAR! ;)

Yamzho says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:35am

That's a pretty goof game there !

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:16pm

First I just got to say that I really love that main menu music!

Great graphics too, and quite an interesting puzzle game with a fun take on the theme.

sydream says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Solid game, took a while to realize what I was supposed to do, controls are bit gimmicky but otherwise a fun game.

Dizzly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:24pm

@sydream : yes we definitely need a tutorial for this, but in the end we got too much tired XD

Multiplexor says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Very good! Like a lot the graphics! The mechanics were nice but after a while it feels a bit repetitive! Nice game overall :)

adsilcott says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Really liked the game. It was funny concept and fun puzzle gameplay.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:02pm

The game is very original and the graphics are cute, but the game is quite confusing.

mungoman1 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Pretty cool! Not sure about being locked to a grid, the controls ended up being fairly tedious due to that. A little confusing but once I got the hang of it, it was fun.

careless says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:05pm

The graphics are really great, nice level layout and colour scheme, love this type of low poly model.

Music was really good, created the right mood for the game.

Controls were fine and the camera worked well, the security cameras were a nice idea so you had to figure out which was which in order to complete the task list.

I was a little unsure of the best tactic to complete the tasks and not quite sure what leaving the clone did.

With some more work and maybe a tutorial room this would have been even better but in the time available you did excellent!

Dizzly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:00pm

@careless : yes as said in previous post a tutorial was really needed... anyway the clone you can put into the grid so when actors hit hit tip they will go toward the direction the arrow is pointing... I added a TIPS section where I say that, maybe it could help

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:08pm

It was pretty fun although I had some issues with certain actors getting stuck in place which meant I couldn't get them to certain cameras. Other than that it was pretty fun and creative!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Loved it, a simple and straight forward puzzler. Had some trouble with the mechanics initially but I managed to figure it out :)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:07pm

A bit hard to control at times, but it's a really fun and clever concept. Could see this be expanded on easily.

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Very nice, amazing graphics, awesome sound, puts me in a happy mood. Nice entry

Leuthil says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Nice game concept! Even reading how everything works it was still pretty hard to get the actors to go where I wanted and there were a couple of glitches (one actor went outside the map lol). But it was fun and the I like the use of the theme :) Well done.

Dizzly says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:59pm

@Leuthil yes I know that glitch (Lol). The problem is that I don t have time to fix it now, maybe next week.

Taldius says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:07pm

One of the best game I've seen so far!
I love the idea of being the monster in a movie set.
Also the art style is really good.
Nice job!

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:46pm

This is fun. I lost when I accidentally glitched Sport Spice and she wouldn't move

Erkberg says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:55pm

This is fun little game. I really like the visual style, together with the very well fitting music and sounds it creates a nice comedic feeling. How to play the game was a little tricky to figure out, a tutorial would've been very helpful. Once I got how play to play, it was really fun to try to position the actors in front of the cameras. I mainly used the scream, because the other two disappeared a little too quick and the chilling field seemed to not be working properly sometimes. Overall, this is really nice game, good job!

Sypanite says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:22pm

I love the concept, rather unique! The game was great.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:47pm

interesting ideas!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Nice Game, good graphics. I stuck in 1 Lvl and scared people to walk over the hole.

hdong says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Loved the graphics and music
Controls were confusing and I wasn't sure how to use some of the moves
Overall seems like a promising game! Great work!

valid4life says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Had trouble with the controls at first like others here.
Audio and visuals were definitely the highlights
Good game :)

Dizzly says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone. I will try to patch it next week.

reheated says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:29am

Really clever gameplay and great presentation - enjoyed the voices.

Omiya Games says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:33am

I personally found the game to be frustrating, as the character AI doesn't often act in ways I would expect. As an example, the freeze attack does not sometimes encapsulate an AI to a range (may have to do with higher spook level, but that would make the game unnecessarily hard). Providing more consistent controls and less bugs (characters sometimes get stuck on a wall, or even go through it) would have helped my experience. As it currently stands, I feel like I'm helpless in my situation.

dregamr says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Beautiful game!! Graphics, music and sounds are very well done!!
Only one thing, "null reference exception". Take a look to the referenced objects in there.
Congratulations for the game!!

freaknarf says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:43am

Nice cute game ! it became interesting once i understood how to combine all technics. It took some minutes but i had fun then... Very cute visuals, musics fits well and mouth-made sfx creates a good mood and atmosphere :)

Grahhhhh says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:39am

Oh snap! I watched Tech Valley Game Space play this! I tried it tonight myself... I feel a lot of designers took a similiar approach to this theme, and I think you stood out with your take on it. Nice entry!

Kizler says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:31am

I loved the entire concept. I got lost on how to make people go where I wanted to, so I ended up winning levels with no idea how I did it.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:59am

Great little 3D game, audio made me chuckle! :D Very innovative, first time I've played this sort of game this LD. Seemed to play well, great work piecing it all together - I am truly a star!

PS Didn't quite understand your question on our submission - if you want to get in touch to clarify we'll happily answer any questions :)

Xanjos says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Absolutely brilliant concept and really cool take on the theme (pretty sure I've also played/rated a similar entry that made use of the movie monster concept as well). Only gripe is that aiming the W skill is pretty difficult since you have to press both the button and the direction at the same time.

bombjack says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 7:43pm

original gameplay and cute graphics

Chris M says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:40am

Such a polished, unique experience! The learning curve was a little steep, I wonder if some of the mechanics could have been stripped back a little without losing too much depth.

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:51pm

solid entery!
very interesting!!~
Extremely rich content
artdesign audio mainmenu....
everything complement each other
so genius~~☆゚

Oct 8, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Really nice graphics and concept! I included it in part 31 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/smH_qgd8pMY

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]