Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

10up: Blupp the Gruesome

by 10UpCrew - Jam Entry

This game is a turn-based real-time detective-thriller for two players.

One player is Blupp the Gruesome, victim of a gruesome experiment. Being a normal worker at day, he searches for parts of an dimensional cannon at night in order to return to his home planet (see 10Up: Interdimensional Liquids).

[Tip: As Blupp the Gruesome, investigate bookshelves and computers in order to find clues on how to reach that goal.]

The other player plays as Mr. S. In his youth he was a vicitm of these experiments himself (see 10Up: Mountain Brew), but nevertheless became a valueable member of the 10up special unit (see 10Up). After hearing from the newest experiments (see 10Up: Unity) he is determined to put the newest victim to rest.

[Tip: As Mr. S observe all workers and their surroundings in order to identify the victim.]

[IMPORTANT: For the best experience play the game with another player, but do not look at the monitor during his / her turn.]

Controls: Arrow keys or WASD for movement, e to use.

Made by Augusto Garcia, Ingo Jakobs, Martin Konrad, Robert Konrad and Christian Reuter.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#318Innovation(Jam)3.29
#457Graphics(Jam)3.54
#506Humor(Jam)2.82
#674Theme(Jam)3.25
#694Overall(Jam)3.03
#725Mood(Jam)2.85
#836Fun(Jam)2.64

Comments

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Retro style graphic! I Like it!
It's a little hard to get into the controls.
Btw nice entry!

Kubees says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Woooow! That was pretty cool game! Well, the only thing, when I played as a monster, my friend didn´t manage to find me out, even on the third try, than we fliped. Playing as a monster is much easier in our opinion, but we enjoyed it! Nice!

terop2 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:19pm

works ok.

teknic says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:20pm

very slow play...

Saf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Some funny dialogues :D ..great artwork
Now excuse me while I have some Mountain Brew!

Tortoise says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:30pm

I liked the art, controls took a bit to get use to though.

OadT says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:35pm

I think the game concept is quite hard to understand (even if you provide an German version which is quite nice for me ^^) Also the realistic elevator simulation makes me crazy (but I saw later there is an ladder on the right side, nice)
Apart from that nice entry

afisicos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:08pm

A nice game but quite hard to understand

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:16pm

The idea is too crazy, but the game is fun. The gameplay needs some polish but the graphics are great, good job ;-)

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Great dialogue and I like the retro graphics.

Ramiel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Blupp.
Cool idea. Great graphics. The turns however seemed a bit short to play.

Taldius says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:33pm

The game seems good but I was a little lost with what I had to do.
Anyway, good job!

vbt says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:38pm

great game, nice gfx but a bit difficult :)

Goodzilla says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Innovative game, first coop I encountered in this jam!

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

cjke.7777 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:56am

Great graphics!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]