Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Delusion

by Meme Teme - Jam Entry

This is our first ever Ludum Dare Game Jam submission, unfortunately I (as the programmer) didn't get to finish it as I am very pushed for time with University Exams approaching and my slightly awkward time zone as a Kiwi (New Zealand).

An HTML 5 export was meant to be included, however it is still buggy so I won't be able to get it up in time for the Game Jam.

Either way I hope any one who gives it ago gets a bit of enjoyment out of it and please feel free to give criticism.

Credits can be found in the Windows download zip.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#42Innovation(Jam)4.00
#117Theme(Jam)4.00
#137Mood(Jam)3.74
#172Fun(Jam)3.58
#276Overall(Jam)3.52
#281Graphics(Jam)3.88
#396Audio(Jam)3.09
#652Humor(Jam)2.57
#1226Coolness49%

Comments

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:51am

Your art is impressive!! I love purple, I love the smooth visual style, I love pixel art! I loved to see it!

yuigoto says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:44am

Nice take on the theme! From the screenshots you can't just understand the game. You've got to play the game to enjoy it. :)

This thing about switching between the "cruel reality" and imagination is really nice and could be worked upon more.

Maybe not dying, but difficulty to escape increases, for example.

Anyway, really nice for a first entry! Congrats! :)

Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:12am

Nice! A really original take on theme. Great graphics. Getting those SFX in would have been nice but the music (especially as the monster) is spot on.

mathijs750 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:26am

Fuck those wardrobes. Very dark and creative concept. The controls are a bit awkward, but the fun of smashing buildings makes up for it.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Fun concept but there needs to be more tanks or have the helicopters dip lower more often so I don't get stuck at one point for too long.

NAL says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Really neat idea behind this one! The controls seemed a tad janky at times (eg I couldn't divekick a building as the monster if I was right next to it), but overall fun and it was nice that the game was balanced so I had to keep switching between reality and fantasy!

peecestudios says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:03am

quite nice. that pixel art is orgasmic. Fantastic job

MicroMacro says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:19am

The game was alright. I loved the animations. There were a few collision issues that made the game a little more frustrating to play, and my download had some weird bugs with it. After I lost the first time, mice would jitter and bounce backwards, and the doctors didn't spawn the second time round. Still, a nice entry with great graphics.

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Art is rad, very interesting idea! It's a shame you couldn't do more with it.

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:39am

I love this game!, very original and funny. I get surprised when I pushed shift button. Congrats!

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:46am

Awesome concept! SFX sure would be nice, but oh well. Art is great, music is cool. Mechanics are interesting but a bit... weird? I mean, you get the tank, which was a mouse, and then it's a syringe...? And in the imagination world the nurse doesn't exist...? Still, very creative xp
Some more gameplay would be nice, like more stages or level progression. Collision needs some polishment too
I also find very amusing the rat trembling like in fear xp

Anyway, great work!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:48am

Cool idea, but the controls are a little bit uncomfortable. Maybe making the gameplay more smooth as a monster would help a lot. Overall, cool entry =)

Ethan Allwood says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:33am

Love It! Cool Idea.

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:22am

Loved being able to switch to your delusion as a monster and back to the patient. Couldnt get throwing to work though. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]