Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Bakamon

by trashmob - Jam Entry

In Bakamon you play as a little orange Monster that has to collect a feathers to learn to fly.

This Game was created over the weekend for the Fukushima Game Jam 15, by accident we also fit in the theme of LD33, so here we are. :D

Thank you for trying it out! :)

With love from Switzerland

trashmob.ch

All Assets were made by us over the Jam Time, except for the trashmob.ch logo.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#243Fun(Jam)3.46
#295Audio(Jam)3.31
#339Graphics(Jam)3.77
#435Theme(Jam)3.57
#438Overall(Jam)3.31
#443Humor(Jam)2.94
#477Innovation(Jam)3.06
#518Mood(Jam)3.13
#1268Coolness48%

Comments

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:41am

great idea niec graphics good job

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:50am

I could not run this on my Linux machine. The Linux download has .exe files.

QuexD says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:50am

Fun game camera can be a bit dodgy though.

djfariel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:51am

I really like the style and the concept with this game. That being said, I did find it a little bit frustrating to be unable to see what is around me and I ended up sliding into my death multiple times. Overall, I enjoyed it.

SeaMonster131 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:02am

Nice idea, very fun game!

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:05am

Kind of neat, fun game!

JamesTanm says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:09am

The game is a little too unforgiving for the controls

Cynapse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:10am

Very cute, and I love the progression. The screen it a little too narrow though (killed me off a few times)

All in all I had quite a bit of fun collecting the jumps!

dacharya64 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:10am

Loved the cute art style and interpretation of the theme! The platforms were a bit too slippery for me, though, and it would have been nice to have a bit wider view in the window.

madcapacity says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:11am

The size of the window was too small or the speed of the character was too high. I would run into things that I couldn't anticipate because there was such a small amount of time to react.

Fun little game :)

saucygames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:11am

cool game, wish i could jump on enemies head.
emotionally attached to the main character gg

Saphyre says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:13am

Nice animations ! You did a very nice game. Grats !

Warxen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:13am

I feel like I missed out on the good parts of this game.
Mainly because the camera makes it very hard to anticipate enemies. A fix for this could be to make the camera look at what is in front of your character depending on which direction you walk. For example X+3 if you walk right. Also the enemies could use pointy shapes on top to indicate they are not kill able by jumping on them, because it has a big drill, which intuitively makes me think touching the other side is harmless.

Leuthil says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:15am

Cool game! I like the fact that the game progresses as you collect instead of just having collectibles for fun. One thing that bothered me was that the character moves so fast and the game view is not zoomed out enough (or not widescreen enough) to see certain obstacles in time and it can be a bit frustrating since death is instant.

trashmob says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:27am

Thank you all for your comments and your critics. I will adjust the camera, sadly can't make it anymore for the jam. Really bad that we missed this, probably because we played it to often and knew the obstacles. ^^'

@ Marekk There should be .x86 and .x64 files in the linux zip. Did you give them executable permissions? Try running them in terminal, to see if any libraries are missing. (Since it is a short game, I would urge you to just try the web version, but would be great if you can give me feedback on the linux version.) Unity says it works on Ubuntu 14.04 (so I expect it also runs on other debian distribution and with a bit stretching Arch Linux)

kcaze says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:32am

Nice platformer. I actually liked the acceleration / deceleration on the player because it forces me to think more before I move!

What annoyed me though was that on you couldn't walk up the slopes of the rock platforms.

Wevel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:35am

Very difficult to avoid getting killed but gradually being able to fly as you collect more feathers was cool. Also, nice music

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:59am

I also chose to make a monster with one eye(for LD33). This is a fun game if a little hard to play. I enjoy the little details in the pixel art/animations. The character is cute and I would like a plush toy of it to put on my shelf. One thing I noticed is that the aspect ratio is fixed in the build and it causes the game window to be cut off on the bottom on my computer. I can see enough to play. Its no big deal. Good luck out there.

nihilaleph says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:29am

Sooo cuuuute!!! *-* I really enjoyed the game. Interesting progression and really nice graphics! A bit hard to control though because of the movement being so abrupt, but still very nice!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:30pm

nice little game but it seems to be a bit hard

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Cute graphics! I found the initial momentum hard to control, but I did eventually make it to the end. Great work!

disperse says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:52pm

I love the pixel art and character designs!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Great idea collecting feathers to reach the higher areas, and nice graphics. Sometimes frustrated by the controls (slippery, and delay in shooting).

peecestudios says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:34am

Wonderful graphics had real fun time playing it!

Eldan_Knight says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:57pm

So cute! Beatiful graphics, nice music and good gameplay. That's all you need to play a good platformer!

bombjack says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 11:35am

Typical the type of game that I like: hard but fair with great controls. Good Job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]