Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

RGBlob

by 966623 - Jam Entry

In this puzzle platformer, you play as a blob monster who can split up and recombine. This little blob also seems to absorb color very well. Guide the blob through 10 different levels.



Music credit:
Mark Sparling
http://marksparling.com/
Creative Commons

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#13Innovation(Jam)4.25
#92Overall(Jam)3.86
#106Fun(Jam)3.72
#320Mood(Jam)3.39
#418Graphics(Jam)3.60
#721Theme(Jam)3.18

Comments

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:48am

Superb stuff. Neat mechanic, nice art, good music... this is excellent!

Saphyre says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:54am

So awesome, dude ! I had a blast playing your game ! Good job on this one !!

Ybalrid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:00am

nice graphics, level desing and mechanics/gameplay! This is a solid entry :D

shiroookami says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:28am

The game mechanic is really interesting and has a lot of potential. Great stuff.

SecularBaron says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:32am

Very well made. Good puzzle game. Graphics are awesome and sounds are good.

Loutrattitude says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:45am

Nice game! I like also the music but there is no rating for it in your entry.

torcado194 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:50am

Man i spent way longer playing this than i thought! Very very nice, fun and creative!
The only issue is it's REALLY easy to break. just split and tab to a new blob at the same time, and things get verry weird. its not super advantageous though. There's an insane ammount of levels for a jam like this, many props!

TsN_RaMPaGE says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:55am

Great Game! Puzzles are always fun :)

BaseCase says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:56am

Great mechanic! Really enjoyed the gameplay and level design.

VideoDog says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:34am

If you press space on the main menu you can't load into the game D:

Pusty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:47am

Awesome! :D

saucygames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:51am

gr8 game

Lolninjacatz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:06am

I think it was a really great game with a really great concept. I love the playful feel the characters had, and the overall industrial/sci-fi feel that the environments had. The music (though you didn't choose to be rated on it) was pretty satisfying and the color mechanics and splitting mechanics were pretty unique and innovative. However, there were a couple issues that made the game a little difficult to play. The first was the need to tab to switch characters. With more than 2 characters it got pretty difficult and frustrating to have to cycle through them like that. Perhaps also setting them as number options would 1-4 with a little icon of the slime's current state at the bottom of the screen would help make that a little easier. Secondly, it felt like some of the levels had great puzzles, but some got to the point where you were stuck and had to restart. If there were some way to make it possible for the player to recover from their mistakes (sorry I can't think of a solution of the top of my head), I think this would be great. I think you did a great job overall and I really enjoy the concept (probably why I have so much to say about it). Keep up the great work!

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:42pm

mechanic is great, art aswell. Love the music. Great submission.

iossif says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:44pm

i don't really see the theme in this entry but i enjoyed playing it. well done.

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:47pm

great game and sweet idea...it was a bit buggy for me, I got stuck in the walls a couple times and had to restart

GFM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:36pm

I liked the idea, but the execution, on the other hand...

The control scheme was one of the problem. I dislike WASD for platformer. It wouldn't be so bad, since I can also use the arrow keys... except the all the action keys were mapped thinking about WASD, so it gets really weird to try to use the left hand only for the actions.... But that's the minor problem.

My main problem was how slippery the controls are. On the level after the one you have to divide into four and each follow a separated path, I had a lot of trouble trying to hit the magenta(?) switch on the ceiling. I would either not make the jump *and* hit the purple stream down people, or I would make the jump but hit the yellow stream up above...

There were some minor problems with how the physics work, like you having to move a few pixel to be able to make a full jump, otherwise some platforms are unreachable...

Still, I really liked the idea! The graphics are cute and the song is good.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:59am

Woah, very clever puzzle platformer! I love it!

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:57am

Really clever game mechanic and polish overall! You should really develop this further!
Excellent job! =)

danialias says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:18am

Wow, clever game! Nice puzzles and good art (and good music selection, why not!). One of the bests I tried so far. I got several breakdowns (blobs getting stuck in the floor, plug-in failure), but it's something understandable on a jam game. Good job!

cjke.7777 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:48am

Amazing! My fav so far. Make this into a full length game please :)
Will you upload the source?

adsilcott says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:06pm

One of the most interesting mechanics I have played so far and one of the best games I played so far. Great job.

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:09pm

- i liked that it had music, but i found it to be slightly irritating
- got stuck a few times inside physics
- didn't seem to fit the theme
- interesting color mixing puzzles
- platforming mechanics are kind of rough
- i was confused about the rules for how to join together, sometimes it seemed like it didn't work

ajayajayaj says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:48am

Fun! very hard...

Paul Sinnett says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Great game! Lots of fun!

SoloDuoTeam says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Just in the tutorial I pressed space many times and I gut stucked (the blobs entered the box basically). Apart from that this is awesome! Cogratulation!

jofra says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Awesome mechanic! very unique concept and very well done.
Wish the graphics had a bit more dept to it to create a stronger mood but, i know how hard that is.
gj :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 4:34am

Nice puzzle game which has an original gameplay. Aesthetic is a little bit too simple, but I think that with more time it could be very interesting as a big project. I liked it. Thank you ++

Tselmek says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:06am

Really nice mechanics, the puzzles are really good. The platforming feels a bit clunky but overall it feel very nice, good job!

JoshDBB says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Great puzzle mechanic. I ended up getting my box stuck and couldn't find a reset button.

theshadowteam says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Neat gameplay, love the concept and puzzle in it.. good job!

Literal Games says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Cool entry, and nice color mixing mechanic. With some extra work and more polish I could see this selling!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 11:36am

I liked the depth you put in the game.
There is some challenging thought and puzzle into this.
It is well executed and you guys must have put a lot of thought into this :)

i would have liked a retry button somewhere, i was stuck in a level and couldn't do anything that just rebooting it sadly.
A good entry I must say :)

dancingmad says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Controls doesn't always work well, keys are not intuitive, cameras are somtimes hard, but this grame is excellent !
Morphing mecanic and colors blendings are really great and of course the level design really do the job.
Good job, I'd like to see this game with more levels and fixed engine & controls !

966623 says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 5:43am

Thanks everyone for the comments!
I appreciate all the feedback I've received.
I would certainly like to expand and polish this game in the future.

namrog84 says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 3:32am

loved it! great fun splitting and joining!

NuDawg says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 6:56am

Like many others, I really like the mechanic here. Like the music too.

DuzDuz says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Very good concept!! Great job

dcolgan says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 11:58pm

I don't want to repeat all the great things people are already saying I am sure I agree with all of it. I get confused though beacause only some of the blobs can absorb other ones it seems. Also, the level with where you carry the block on your head was confusing, a demonstration or diagram for that ability would have been nice and some way to indicate when leaving a switch will return the blockade and when it won't would be helpful. Everything else, amazing.

Patomkin says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 8:42am

Very good idea!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]