Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Bite In Tandem: Euphoria

by Vem - Jam Entry

A musical shoot 'em up with sinister tones. Not recommended if you suffer from photosensitive epilepsy.

The game is controlled by WASD and the mouse. Aim your attacks with the mouse; click to bite, release to fire the shots you bit.

The game is made by:
Simon "Kohake" Götborg
Linus "Vem?" Pernyer

Music by:
Christopher "MonkeyToast" Tåqvist

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#35Audio(Jam)4.11
#101Innovation(Jam)3.72
#166Fun(Jam)3.59
#311Mood(Jam)3.40
#378Overall(Jam)3.38
#630Humor(Jam)2.61
#692Graphics(Jam)3.03
#795Theme(Jam)3.07

Comments

Maramasa says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:37am

Really great audio! Interesting bullet hell variation, good job!

AzureAspect says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:44am

Nom nom nom, give me all your limbs :>
I liked the way you could grow up by eating the boss, didnt notice if the wings gave any bonus though.

HappyHour says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:47am

Pretty challenging but I love the concept. Sick beats.

congusbongus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:48am

Cool idea, although the controls were quite overwhelming as you had to aim, get close enough (but not too close) to the bullets, *and* time your attacks to the rhythm. Still it was pretty fun.

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:03am

Overall I liked this game, I found the concept very very innovative, but when it came to actual gameplay I found it a little difficult and struggled to understand at first what I had to do to "win" so to speak, as for suiting the theme I didn't find it suited it greatly but that's okay too, I really liked the visuals and the audio was amazing and it set a really good mood. Could do with some improvements theme and gameplay wise but otherwise good entry, well done.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:05am

Wow, really hard game! It was easier once I figured out that I can hold the mouse button and that the bulltets go where my mouse is :)

Took ~15 times to beat it ;)

KodingNights says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Link is not a web version it's a download

blurryroots says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Crazy cool soundtrack! Really loved it ;)

crucknuk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Playing with tempo is a nice idea, because you have to put yourself in danger if you want to kill the boss. Nice concept!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Stellar audio. I was very confused once I brought the boss's health to zero-- but you're the monster, not the boss, so what you do is fittingly brutish. It's an interesting fusion of two of my favorite game genres, so I approve.

hammerfrenzy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:22am

Wow. That was pretty crazy. Was a bit difficult knowing how close you needed to be to grab bullets, but overall pretty interesting take.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:32pm

wow, that was metal as hell. The shooting mechanics were exceptionally innovative, and presented in a fairly simple to understand way. The best part of this game by far, however, is the moment where you bite off the bosses limbs and get to wear them like trophies. It was a really satisfying surprise!

My only major complaint is that I feel the difficulty begins a bit high. You have a core mechanic which is completely novel, which really should be taught early in a short, easy to avoid bullet pattern.
Second,

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:34pm

(oops, I was going to mention that the boss health was a little difficult to read in the middle of a heated battle, making it hard to know how far along you are, but it's not really *that* big of a problem.)

superfreak says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:49am

Enjoyed the sountrack and tempo of the game - was a lot of fuN!

CreamyBacon1 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:29pm

I like the game, took me three tries to beat it. The mechanic were you send the bullets bat was also very cool!

Flaid says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:51am

I really liked the idea of biting to the beat, especially because it caused me to lose focus on dodging all of the bullets.

When the creature screams and has one of its appendeges flash red, do I win? Nothing else seems to happen... so it's not exactly clear... but I think I won :)

dopplerdefekt says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:15am

Quite innovative concept! Altough i found i had too much stuff to pay attention too. Music is 10/10.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:16am

Nice soundtrack, didn't get how the game worked at first but I had fun

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Great music, wasn't expecting the difficulty ramp at the end! I really liked this entry, you've put a lot of work into this and it's crazy fun too. Great job!

goodbadokay says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Ah dat was pain for eyes! But I did it! Just went closely and ate the wings. Awesome game!

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:40am

It would have helped from the beginning of the game if it was clarified that holding down the mouse would temporarily open the character's mouth. It was really frustrating to play the game using only taps :P.

Anyway, once I did figure that out, I did find the game to be a lot more fun and fair. I'm not a fan of the sudden respawn every time you die. It would have been nice if the death sequence was more dramatic to indicate why you've died.

Also, sound effects are totally missing!

Oct 19, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Super neat game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/HYvDqXC_RQg

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]