Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Sunset Monster

by dregamr - Jam Entry

***********************************
Important note
***********************************
If the web page scrolls up or down while pressing the arrow keys, press the fullscreen button.
This issue is present by using chrome or safari web browsers. With firefox seems to work properly.
Anyway, in fullscreen mode works properly with any browser.
Sorry for the inconvenience.
***********************************
End of note
***********************************

A classic space shooter style game...but with a new point of view.

The game is available at Game Jolt to play in browsers and download.
http://gamejolt.com/games/sunset-monster/88418

****************
Controls:
****************
-Arrows to move.
-"p" to pause and resume game.
-Spacebar to anything else.

Two game modes, easy and hard.

Only one level, but it is THE LEVEL. ;)

Read all texts to get the ultimate experience playing the game, and complete the level to understand why "YOU ARE THE MONSTER". Sorry for the inconvenience and thanks for playing!

ONE LAST THING!!
-If you see the credits after the battle, it is because you've won!!

CHANGES***V1.1.0
-Due to the feedback, baby mode has been modified, so now it's easier to complete the level in this "easy" mode. Those who want a more challenging mode can play on "monster mode".
-I hope those people who couldn't complete the game before to retry and complete it now. The best part is at the end. Sorry for the inconvenience, and have a nice time playing my game. Thank you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#226Audio(Jam)3.47
#279Fun(Jam)3.41
#344Overall(Jam)3.43
#395Graphics(Jam)3.65
#447Mood(Jam)3.24
#675Humor(Jam)2.53
#711Theme(Jam)3.20
#727Innovation(Jam)2.75

Comments

Demy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:39pm

I have no idea how to kill the monster a baby. Graphics are minimalistic and cool.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:53am

I like the minimalism of it but I can't defeat the ship even in babymode :(

dregamr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:22pm

If you see the credits after the battle, it is because you've won!! ;)
The final objective is not to destroy the "monster ship"!! That's the surprise...

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Holy shit, this is HARD! :D

dregamr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:45pm

I'm really sorry guys, the problem is that for me is very easy in baby mode (I complete it without being hurt), so I may have made it more difficult to others than expected, and I'm sorry for that little issue.
Use the corners to evade... The trick is to study the sequence, you know, evade and shoot. The first part and the second are more difficult, but after the second it becomes more interesting.

darklightteam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Wow, a shmup fan out there! nice job, I love it :)

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Cool, fun game!

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:42am

Like the simplicity of the graphics and as a shmup this is pretty good. However I think the ship should be a bit quicker because at times it's practically impossible to avoid getting hit.

Dizzly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:31am

Baby monster it s too hard I guess. I like the minimalistic style and I am already seeing this game in the store Good job!

Reisen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:41am

Good shmup, bullet patterns are straightforward.

Most of this game's issue comes from the laser.
-. It has no cue
-. It obstructs bullets.

cyrixd says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:26pm

I enjoyed a lot of the bullet patterns, but as others have said, the near instant firing of the laser feels very unfair and makes it frustrating to progress. Other than that the game is quite solid, I wish I could get further!

squarepug says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:41pm

I really like this, the intro dialogue is cool and adds depth to it, I found the gameplay quite tough too. Nice use of the theme.

derr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:23pm

This is super hard. I couldn't beat it but the graphics were very nice.

r8berto says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Cool story, and nice graphics but... why is the background orange??

dregamr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:13pm

The background is orange cause of the sunset and cause of the "Sunset Games Corporation" logo, but yes, I know that the color may have more contrast than expected, sorry about that.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:16pm

It was pretty tough but I finished.
I couldn't understand the ending because once it did the "thing", the credits queued.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:17pm

The game play is decent, nothing groundbreaking. Pretty simple idea. It is a bit unclear how things are supposed to work and what is going on. The hard mode is definitely hard and the enemy attacks are innovative. It was decent.

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Oh God, everyone in here that says they can't beat this are really missing out. Gotta find your bullet hell instincts, avoid the middle and take it slow, because Damn, this is the funniest game I've seen yet! Spectacular work, keep it up!

yuigoto says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:04am

Oh, nice twist there! :)

The minimalistic style is really charming, I'd love to see a full game using this style of graphics! Reminded me of those old mini-games, Game & Watch style. :P

Nice work on the audio there too, really, it really completes the mood, both sound FX and soundtrack.

Controls also work great, I've played the web version and it plays really nice! :D

Great work overall, really! :D

P.s.: Try to increase the side on the Ludum Dare frame to 460 by 660, this way the game frame won't scroll! :P

andreiichim says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:15am

Lovely game.

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Pretty good game, a bit hard for me, but the twist is cool.

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Ah, I'm bad at this ahaha. I like that thing in the ending. Good job! :D

Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Love a bullet hell shooter, the ending was brilliant, the graphics minimalist and engaging. Even did it on monster mode!

Gaga says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Glad you added baby mode :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Cool bullet patterns - nice project. maybe a little bit hard for those who aren't experimented. Neat aesthetic ++

Literal Games says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Graphics were great, and the build up of your attacks is really cool! Kind of wanted to play the bit with smaller enemies first, maybe have a whole level building to the boss?

SojaBird says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Cool and simplistic design!
Good music even though it's a bit too loud.

It's pretty hard but that's cool for a game like this.
After first transformation I died :c

Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:45pm

a functional side-scrolling shooter, but nothing terribly unique or out of the ordinary here. You could definitely expand on this and introduce your own new mechanics, but in its current state I don't really find this game to be terribly worthwhile.

Resonious says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:36pm

It has been pointed out before - the laser is impossible to see coming unless you've already been hit by it and know when in the pattern it happens.

The ending was good though.

panda says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Great graphics and sound effects, awesome shooter! I don't know how to see the "big beam" coming, though, and that kills me. Then I have to start all over again? Perhaps include checkpoints in the game?

jofra says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Very cool simple mechanic with a pretty cool story!
GJ!

ViKing Games says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Cool bullet patterns, but I would've liked if the lase didn't kill you in one hit. As has been said before, you have to have been hit by it to know when it's coming (at least in the second form).

Benjamin says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Nice idea ! The only problem was the fact than the black ray hide bullets trajectories so you cant anticipate your moves.

dregamr says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:34pm

First of all, thanks for all your comments.

-Before the big laser, the camera shakes vertically, so you can know that it's comming and scape from there. The shake is about 0.5 seconds, because in other case is very easy to scape. Sorry if that's frustrating for some of you.
-The other thing is that the laser doesn't kill you in one hit, unless you play in "monster" mode. "Monster" mode is the hard mode. In "baby" mode(easy), the big laser doesn't kill you in one hit at all!!!!

:)

Insality says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:49pm

wow! i looove this so much
I love this type of games and you created this one perfectly
completed both difc ;) so easy
my games like your by difficulty, u can try)
Audio and graphic style are amazing! great job.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Ended up playing the game on Baby mode so I could progress through the story faster but it was worth it for the little twist in the end plus I like the rather clean and simple art style.

valid4life says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:04am

The audio was good and the graphics looked nice!

Razoric says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Cool game! Tough!

glimaleite says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Fun game. I couldn't complete it though, so I didnt get to see how you set up the theme. Babymode is still too hard for people not used to play shmups so much. I liked the aesthetics of the game, good job! You should probably make the cues a little bit more evident (I had no idea when the laser would go off). Great job!!

Goutye says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Nice shoot'em up. The problem with this kind of game when you are developing one is to add an easy mode which is really easy mode. In fact, I suppose that you are the best at your game because of the number of try. However, even the baby mode stays a bit too complicated for a first run. Maybe fewer bubbles would have been better than a longer life.
In spite of that, I really enjoyed this game because I am a fan of this kind of game (shoot'em up), especially the retro arcade one! Really nice work, the monster difficulty is actually really monstrous! Nice ending with the side change!

Larzan says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Great idea, well implemented, like the music, very polished! (Don't know how to win, impossible ;) )

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:45pm

THe idea is cool but I would to control the shots. The music is suitable but It's too loud.

TicZo says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Just amazing that's it.

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Love the minimalist style and the bullet hell spin. :) Story was good too. Ship could be a tad faster for avoiding stuff, though. Overall, good job!

Ivan Volkov says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:54pm

WHY IS IT SO HARD? Am I supposed to attack him for a 5 minutes to win? That was really long, even on the easy mode.
But looks pretty and music is cool!

dregamr says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Wow!! Thanks a lot for all your comments!!
I'm sad for those who couldn't complete the game!
It's very difficult to design an easy mode for all players, and a very very easy mode is boring... I think you all can beat the monster if you make another try. Just shoot to the cabin, and before the big laser is comming the camera shakes vertically, so run when that happens!!

And seriously, I'm very grateful for all of your comments, I hope to have the time to play all of your games as well. :)

HappyHour says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:52am

I'm getting a very dreamcast-y vibe from the visuals and I really dig it. Fun little shmup entry. :)

bodsey says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:42pm

This is actually a great entry. Really interesting take on the Shmup, minimalist but effective art. I was a bit disappointed by the ending I must say. I think it could have been stronger than that (I don't know how of course ^^ )

mubox says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Very hard, but very interesting. :D
Have a very nice audio. ^^

Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Awesome experience. Great style both art and audio - challenging but good gameplay

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Super minimalistic art. The background music and sound effects are also very cool. Could be the start or the end off an arcade shooter. :-) Very cool game you have made!

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Wow. I was catched by this game. It's like horror arcade. You have to make a full game like this !

GreaseMonkey says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Didn't quite crack the end.

Main complaint is that the first wave is a bit too long and tends to drag. Other than that, pretty solid effort.

Graphics while minimalistic work *really* well.

Music's actually pretty good even if it's not really my style. Suggestion to improve would be to make it longer before it loops.

bigbuggames says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:51am

Very nice! Loved the final! Graphics are simple, but it doesn't need more than that, very fun, fits perfectly the theme in my opinion and very high innovation too. All thanks to the twist at the end! GJ!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:32pm

waow a bullet-hell with good patterns, good graphics and good sounds. I liked it!
p.s: your hardmode rock ;)

jackrugile says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:21am

I'm a sucker for space shooters, great game!

wavegunner232 says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:00pm

lots of fun old school feel epic music. 4.9/5 just not the most innovative game

WizzardMaker says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:24pm

The game is hard, but fun.

Infernal says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:19pm

solid shmup, very nice indeed. I am just not clear about the ending story bit.

Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:42am

The art style is very cool.

Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:07am

I didnt really understood the game.
First time i was pretty close to kill the monster, and everything has changed when i died.
So for a second try i suicide myself at the first step and i got a GameOver.

I dont know, it's weird.

dcolgan says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:00am

Okay, I had to come back to this game. It was the first I played and I did not think much of it. After playing some others though and seeing what they accomplished, this looks way better to me now. Overall, it is the best I have seen yet.

dregamr says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Thanks, @dcolgan, and thanks a lot to all of you who played Sunset Monster. I don't know enough english words to thank you all the comments.
Anyway, I hope you enjoyed the game. Thanks again!.

hcosta says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:18pm

It remembers me old Touhou classics. Good work :)

Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:47pm

That was great, great graphic and music!

CodeNMore says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Amazing minimalism that just makes this feel new!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]